Welcome to TalkTrueBlood

I would like to share the ramblings of my scattered but detailed brain and also hear the ramblings of anyone else that might be keen to join in. I love a good discussion, especially a True Blood discussion.  I am open-minded so I am happy to read and discuss ANY opinions or theories/speculation and of course I will be discussing my own as well. I will give an episode by episode recap/discussion starting from Episode 3.03. I will also provide links to favorite blog entries other than my own of course.

I have been inspired to start this blog in part due to my obsession with True Blood and in part with my obsession with the blogs of others.

My favorite female characters (excluding 

Sookie of course) are the two ladies to the left < —————

My favorite male characters are numerous but if I had to pick three (as of now) I would say they are Eric, Jason, and Bill (though I am beginning to be throughly entertained by Russell and Franklin). Though I am a big Eric/Sookie fan, I welcome Bill and Alcide fans that wish to challenge me (no Quinn since he isn’t on true blood yet).

  1. #1 by sunnynala on June 26, 2010 - 8:40 pm

    Hi Katya! Caught your link on FB and had to come over and say hi! 😀 Love the header.

    • #2 by talktrueblood on June 28, 2010 - 4:45 am

      thanks Sunny! I have a lot of conflicted emotions about that episode…which I will discuss on your board and this one of course once I take the time to digest it all…

      I cannot wait to hear what you have to say about it
      : )

  2. #3 by Sarah on June 27, 2010 - 5:51 pm

    First 🙂
    I like the idea that everybody “introduces” his favorite TB characters and says why he chose them.
    I also love Pam very much, she is so..well, simply Pam, a personality of her own. But I am highly fascinated by Lorena, too. In my opinion there is more than evilness and sadism in her. She used to be an innocent young girl, who was ready to become a nun. Being turned led her to world behind heaven and hell, sin and redemption. As a vampire she was beyond God´s judgment (and punishment) and to me she never managed to arrange herself with that situation. Bevor she met Bill she lived in a poor life in a battered little house in the woods, her victims all in her proximity as if she had to remind herself constantly what she had done. After Bill´s turning they developed some serial killer dynamic but I have the feeling that Bill always was the superior in their relationship while Lorena needed her “southern gentleman” Bill. I wonder if she will discover his true nature someday? I hope I made clear while I find her character that interesting.
    More likeable (and nevertheless very fascinating) female characters are Isabel and Jessica. I really want to see more of them.
    My male favorite characters: I love Eric (0f course^^) and I admire Lafayette. Both, his character and Ellis´performance are simply outstanding. He is such a ambigious character: Witty and highly loyal to his friends and his family but also opportunistic and concerning some things (e.g selling drugs, faking love to Eddie…) simply immoral.

    • #4 by talktrueblood on June 28, 2010 - 5:25 am

      @sarah-

      First of all, thank you for checking out my page and I love that you responded to the favorite characters intro.

      Ohh yes, I love Lorena as well. Personally, I think Lorena collected the bodies to appease herself of her loneliness
      (in her personal insanity).
      I think her loneliness and the conflicted nature that you mentioned drove her to insanity (hence collecting the men she killed that she presumed wanted only a one-night stand from her). Ironically by choosing the “honorable” man to turn and be her companion she made her loneliness worse by allowing herself to love and “create” a child who not only did not want her but would rather be alone than be with her. Yes, they developed a serial killer dynamic but lorena is insane (which does not make her totally evil). Bill is sane, though tormented and conflicted, so he may be evil if he did those things not being insane. If Bill is not evil, he may very well be insane himself, which would not make him a good “suitor” for Sookie. I do not buy that Lorena “made” him do the things they did together. In fact, I think he may have taken advantage of her insanity and willingness to please him when they played out those “games.” You are correct in that she is so desperate for her ideal “southern gentlemen” that she allowed his dominance.

      I like Isabel and Jessica as well. However, I was afraid that Jessica might be driven to her own insanity by a neglectful maker.

      In fact, I think Jessica is Lorena’s parallel.

      1.Both had an innocent upbringing filled with religious dogma that they actually embraced in their human lives.
      (they both probably, as you said, are conflicted that their religion now means little in their vampire lives)
      2.Both are desperately lonely and conflicted about the role of sex/men in their lives.
      3.Both are tied by blood to Bill Compton and both were taken advantage of or neglected by Bill.
      etc.
      (if Isabel was tied to the catholic during the Spanish inquisition (as has been suggested), she is probably conflicted about the role
      of religion in her human life versus her vampire life as well)

      Lafayette also parallels these women in some ways:
      Lafayette probably struggled with his religious upbringing versus his new life as a gay man. He struggles with loneliness as well and has a “crazy woman”(his mother) in his life.

      therefore, it does not surprise me that all of these “women” are fascinating to you..haha : )

      • #5 by Sarah on June 28, 2010 - 1:17 pm

        Yes, I admit, that I love conflicted and struggeling characters. No Mary Sues for me 🙂
        The paralells you show are very interesting and I agree with you that Jessica might be in real emotional danger. But I think with Pam on her side she will manages to go through this.

    • #6 by Katya on June 28, 2010 - 7:55 pm

      Oh yes, the fact that most of the characters have gray areas is what makes them all so fascinating. Nobody is either good or bad….
      as you point out with Lafayette….good to those he is close to…
      but he is ruthless even when it came to another person’s emotions

    • #7 by talktrueblood on June 29, 2010 - 4:24 pm

      thank you for coming to my blog once again. you should check out the new post…I love any and all opinions 🙂

Leave a Reply

