Blood Bond Blood Bath-My Theory on TB Blood Bonds

Lately, there has been a lot of confusion over the mythology behind the concept of the “blood bond” on True Blood. Allow me to attempt to clarify this confusion (somewhat) with a good theory of my own.

In my opinion, a Blood Bond (BB) is formed in much the same way that the bond between a maker/child is formed, of course to a lesser extent. Therefore, just because you drink a vampire’s blood, you will not necessarily form a BB with that vampire.

Amy had Eddie's blood but a BB did not form

Of course all Blood Bonds (BBs) start with the consumption of the vampire’s blood (larger quantities of the vampire’s blood might make a BB more likely) BUT what is the “magical” element that actually creates the BB? Let us go back to the maker/child relationship. A BB creates a mutual awareness/co-existence much like a maker/child relationship so I believe this theory makes sense for that reason.

A maker must share his “essence” to create his child so I came to the conclusion that a vampire must share his “essence” with the human in a way. I am saying some type of relationship (romantic or otherwise) must already exist for a BB to come into being.

Bill shared his "essence" with Jessica when he "made" her

Therefore, in my opinion, a BB DOES NOT CREATE a relationship (a way of interacting) where none previously existed (except an underlying sexual undertone in dreams). A BB merely intensifies the relationship that is developing or already existed. Let us look at a few examples:

Bill & Sam: Although the sexual aspect is present (like in all of the dreams), there is nothing all that surprising or different about their interaction in the dream. First of all, Bill only goes to Sam because he needs help (like they did in real life). Second of all, Bill is very dominant and Sam has his usual submissive and selfless (often to a fault) attitude. Nothing surprising or new forms at all. There is nothing the least bit romantic about this dream.

"...you can have the shirt off my back."

Eric/Lafayette: Though we never see a dream, Lafayette describes the dreams as enjoyable but “nasty” at the same time (no tenderness to the sexual dreams), just like their real/developing relationship. There seems to be no relationship in the dreams other than Eric’s curiosity about Lafayette’s place when it comes to their buisness dealings and Sookie and Lafayette’s natural fear and loathing for Eric. The dreams might be “nasty”(kinky) because of the strange relationship that already exists between them. Again, nothing real surprising or unusual here.

"what Sookie finds meaningful, I find curious."

Bill & Sookie: In this flashback from season one (when Sookie dreams of almost-sex with Bill after consuming his blood for the first time), we see that not much is/was different about their relationship in that dream. Sookie is the one to initiate the sex (as usual) and Bill is the quiet, stoic vampire willing to accept that “fate.” There is a raw sexuality and understanding, but the playfulness of Eric/Sookie dreams is notably absent. Again, nothing surprising or unusual here.

Sookie approuches Bill in her dream

Finally:

Sookie & Eric: Wait, there is something surprising here. In these dreams, sex actually takes a back burner?! What?! Yes, there was kissing and intimacy in the first dream, but friendship, humor and smiles, playfulness and love were all at the forefront of this dream.Weird, right?

"there is love in you." "only for sookie."

In the second dream, the sexual tension and intimacy are there once again. However, the main emotion is not lust. The main emotions are sympathy and grief.  The hinted bite at the end certainly is sexual but also hints at a desire to replace the what he has lost, Godric. Weird, right?

"I'm so sorry."

No, actually it isn’t weird at all. I do not think the other dreams would be so close to the actual existing and/or developing relationships and then go the opposite way with these two all of the sudden. It isn’t a coincidence and each scene was very deliberate.
It must mean that E/S actually already have feelings for each other and/or were developing those feelings (even if they were hiding them) already if the other dreams were as true to life as they seem. I know Eric’s blood is old but remember, Sookie only had a few drops of his blood. Lafayette must have had a lot of Eric’s blood. It is known that both Sam and Sookie had A LOT of Bill’s blood, liters and liters and possibly gallons. Yet, Sookie gets a BB with Eric just as powerful (if not more so) than her BB with Bill or Sam’s BB with Bill.

Therefore, this proves that a BB does not create those feelings, it merely intensifies feelings that were already there.

I think this theory not only explains the difference between a BB and average “V” use, it shows that E/S must have a powerful and special bond forming that goes beyond a supposedly new found sexual desire on Sookie’s part. It also shows that the dreams were more than mere fantasies or predictions of the future between them. They are reality.

eric smiles with sookie. does he do that for anyone other than Pam or Sookie? Look back at the picture from the first dream.

BTW, if you read the books Charlaine Harris herself has stated that she thinks too much emphasis was placed on the BB when it came to the emotional connection in the books. My guess is Alan Ball corrected this mistake by taking the stance in my theory.

Also, as a shout out to my friend Sunnynala @ sunnynala.wordpress.com, I will admit that parts of these dreams might have had an unreliable narrator at work and/or some parts happened and others did not. If your interested in these theories or aspects check out her blog.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by just an opinionated hack on July 7, 2010 - 7:22 pm

    I think this is a very interesting analysis of the differences between blood bonds and normal v use. however, Sookie feels a lot of disgust toward Eric when she first drinks his blood, after the suicide bombing by Rev. Newlin’s minion. The relationship between the two seems very flirty, and not unlike two adolescents at the beginning of a relationship, whereas with Bill, she is more dominant and seemingly more mature. Overall, great post. Keep it up, I enjoy reading your insights.

    • #2 by talktrueblood on July 7, 2010 - 7:31 pm

      First of all, I think a lot of that disgust comes from the sexual tension that was already there… although who wouldn’t be disgusted or pissed off about being tricked? Yes, I am not saying what Eric did was right by getting her to drink his blood…all I am saying is I think that feelings were already there beforehand and Eric exchanged his essence to Sookie during their previous interaction and as he fed her his blood. All of those elements created their powerful blood bond already even though she had a minimal amount of blood.

  2. #3 by Renée on July 7, 2010 - 7:26 pm

    Nice work, TTB! I really like how you compare the blood bond with the maker-child bond. It’s not just the blood that’s needed; it’s also the vampire’s essence. (And man would I like to take a shower in Eric’s essence. ;~P)

    You’re theory explains what none of the others does. When Amy and Jason consumed fresh Eddie, they had a shared experience, but he was notably absent from it because he did not share his essence with them.

    • #4 by talktrueblood on July 7, 2010 - 7:44 pm

      Thank you. I am so glad you like it. I hope I can share this theory with others. I think this theory is great because it not only legitimately explains the blood bond concept, it also confirms to eric/sookie fans that their dreams were special and really meant something.

  3. #5 by Evian on July 7, 2010 - 8:23 pm

    Hi fellow E/S fan 🙂
    You’ve obviously read the books, so I’m not going to give away anything by writing 😉
    I must admit, I haven’t really given the BB so much thought, and this is very interesting.
    But this is actually a theory for people who have not read the books, just watched the show.
    I think in the books, the Eric-Sookie very special relationship has many other significant moments, aside from the BB. Eric himself says “No, not because of the blood bond” several times in the books (you can probably think of at least one of these sentences yourself).
    I have just gotten the link to your blog, so I’ll read the rest of it and keep commenting.

    Please take no offense in my comment, it’s just that I am a big fan of the books (and the show), and in the books, the special relationship they have is pretty clear, slowly built up and made to last. Compared to that, Bill is just a fling! 😉

    • #6 by talktrueblood on July 7, 2010 - 9:50 pm

      @ Evian-

      First of all, Thank you for reading the post and coming to the blog.
      I hope you will in the future.

      Although I have read the books and am a fan of the books as well, I am going to try to keep this blog purely true blood…if I ever want to write something book related I will clearly mark it or post it elsewhere. I do not mind if people post book related things since I have read them.

      I agree that the books make the special relationship very clear from the get-go but ironically I think things will ultimately be even better for the E/S relationship because of the kinks Alan Ball is working out…..such as the over emphasis on the blood bond and pulling the rug out from under Bill fans with a shock and no real hints beforehand.

      Thank you for the encouragement. I just started the blog.

      “just an opinionated hack” is a Bill fan but he is respectful about it and he knows I am pro eric…lol

  4. #7 by Hime on July 7, 2010 - 9:05 pm

    Hi ttb! Very good post and I totally agree with you.
    When I first saw the E/S dreams, I immediately noticed how much they were different from the ones Sookie had about Bill.
    In S/B dreams, Sookie is always concerned by having sex with Bill, sex is the main issue, along with a feeling of danger. They’re weird and dark dreams.
    When Sookie dreams of Eric, she’s not dreaming of having sex with him, she’s dreaming of having a relationship with him. A deep, intense one in which they communicate on a high level, they joke, they laugh, they kiss. She also dreams about Eric CRYING, and herself comforting him and offering him her blood.

    So, we can say that the dreams – even though blood inflicted – reflect how the human unconsciously “see” the vampire whose blood he/she has ingested:

    Sam sees Bill essentially as an “intruder” in his life, among his own things. He waltzes in, takes control of Sam and embezzles everything Sam owns, taking Sam’s shirt just as he took Sookie away.
    Lafayette is scared to death by Eric, but he also finds Eric’s fierceness and power terribly fascinating.
    Sookie was attracted by Bill essentially because he is a vampire – the first one she ever saw – a creature whose mind she couldn’t read. She was also attracted by the danger he represented, and was eager to get rid of her virginity and finally experience sex. She wanted her world to be rocked. And she had.
    And Sookie is intrigued by Eric. She THINKS she hates him, but unconsciously she is strongly attracted by him – since the very first time she saw him. She’s curious. Deep inside herself, she wants to know what lies behind Eric’s mask – hence the “big faker” line.
    I think she was not that horrified and furious after the bulletsucking trick. If you pay attention, she becomes angry when she sees Bill’s anguished face. It’s almost like she puts an act in behalf of Bill, to reassure him she DIDN’T enjoy sucking Eric’s chest AT ALL. Her anger is fake, nothing compared to the true anger that made her slap Eric in the face when she discovered Laffy in the DOD.

    • #8 by talktrueblood on July 7, 2010 - 10:13 pm

      Thank you for the encouragement. I hope you continue to come by and read.

      Yes, I always found it odd that the B/S dreams always involved Sookie always initiating the sex until I noticed that is the case in most of the Sookie/Bill sex scenes (from the first time to the last time). I don’t deny that Bill and Sookie have sexual chemistry but where is the chemistry elsewhere? When I started to think of the pure emotions (selfless comfort) in the second dream, that is when this theory ultimately came together.

      I have commented that Eric and Sookie have both revealed their best and their worst traits together while Bill always shows his best and conceals his worst until it is forced out of him. I also noted before that both of them have cried in front of each other as well.
      (a sign of trust and comfort together) I think it all started off with curiosity on both ends but has begun to turn the corner to a deep friendship with sexual tension, a true recipe for romance.

      Oh yes, the whole bullet sucking scene reminded me of someone being walked in on while doing something sexual and then trying to ridiculously save face as well.
      I think if Sookie was truly angry, I think Eric would have not found it so humorous (he could sense her emotions then). She would also not be so eager to enjoy the sexual connection by flirting (especially when she made Eric think she is engaged).

    • #9 by talktrueblood on July 8, 2010 - 1:15 am

      thanks for the comments/elaborations…some people like me enjoyed them

  5. #10 by Freyja on July 7, 2010 - 11:17 pm

    Hi TTB 🙂 First time on your blog, have to read your other posts also.
    I like your understanding on the BB. I think you said it all and Hime also in her response 🙂
    I saw the sexual tension between S/E from the beginning, especially from season 2. And there was ALOT of tension because Sookie didn’t like that she actually was attracted to Eric, that’s why she was always angry and defensive. If she wasn’t attracted to him then she wouldn’t spend so much energy and frustration when she was in his presence. But although, when she was alone with Eric, like in the FoTS church, she showed curiosity not anger. She probably didn’t like that she was attracted to a vampire that showed no feelings and only contempt for humans. Sookie is a very compassionate woman. But then she sees the other side of Eric with Godric, and she is starting to understand that there is more than the monster in him.

    • #11 by talktrueblood on July 8, 2010 - 1:14 am

      @Freyja-
      First of all, thank you for coming to my blog!

      Hime did make a lot of good points : )

      Oh yeah, how could anyone miss that sexual tension and overall curiosity? hahah
      Why would Sookie offer herself for such a dangerous mission if she wasn’t
      willing to do “anything” for Eric (like he quoted in the dream)? She still could’ve gotten the money doing a bare minimum. She truly went “above and beyond” like Eric said when he sent the money.

      Sookie was brainwashed by Bill into thinking he was the only “good” vampire.
      Until she saw another side of Eric, she believed this, especially after she
      found out Eric was holding Lafayette.

      the ufe q&a confirmed that this is no longer a “game” for Eric and that Sookie saw another side of Eric during everything that happened with Godric.

  6. #12 by sunnynala on July 8, 2010 - 1:55 pm

    I love this Katya, and I think you are spot on.

    Frankly, I think book readers should do what you are doing if they want to enjoy TB–when analyzing TB just try and leave the books out of it and vice versa. I think it will greatly contribute to everyone’s enjoment and cut down on some of the angst LOL!

    • #13 by talktrueblood on July 8, 2010 - 3:53 pm

      @Sunnynala-
      Thank you so much. It means a lot coming from you too.

      I totally agree. I have read the books but the show is very seperate from them. My theory makes a lot of sense if you ignore the books.

      SVB did not agree with my theory and tried to say I borrowed heavily from the book and I do not think I did that at all. They also said I was ignoring the sexual aspect that it did cause and I don’t think I did that at all. I was simply saying it wouldn’t cause emotions other than sexual ones, like romantic ones.

      Plenty of people who haven’t read the books understood and liked my theory. The only people that seem to have a lot of issues with it are people who read the books.

      Plenty of people were bringing in the book definition of a BB over and over again even as I said I do not think the book BB is at all the same as TB’s idea of a BB. Clearly her and Bill should be almost crippled with the strength of their BB if it’s like the book.

      In fact CH herself said she regretted how she went along with the BB in the books so why wouldn’t AB change that if she herself said she regretted the way it was handled?

  7. #14 by pbartteacher on July 8, 2010 - 2:07 pm

    Thanks for the analysis of the BB. I enjoyed reading your blog and totally agree with you. I have always felt the dreams were at the core of differences between the two vamps.

    Though Sookie denies being attracted to Eric at Fangtasia “Oh you noticed him did you? Oh it’s not like that!” As a viewer, I always felt differently. We know that Eric was attracted immediately when he met Sookie. Even inquiring if Bill was willing to share Sookie. Immediately Sookie says “I’m his!” Which technically was very far from the truth. And Eric could sense that this was a lie.

    Of course, we all know that Gran dies, Sookie loses her vaginity to Bill and now the deal is sealed. I always felt that Bill sped the process along after the Fangtasia visit because he could sense the impending Eric fascination.

    Yes, the dreams are noticeably different and have always enjoyed how light and airy the feeling of those dreams are. The ethereal feeling that Alan Ball has given those dreams for me is almost a foreshadowing of how Season Four might play out between Sookie and Eric. I also feel something Sookie dreams are predictions to her future. I know that Sunny has spoken on her blog how part of the fae powers might be the ability to see or know the future well at least on TB.

    In the same vein, when Sookie dreams of Bill for the very first time in episode. Bill is thought of as being sexy but very very dangerous. “Who said anything about sex?” I think that was true about how Bill felt until he tasted her blood and fell under the Sookie spell also. He was there for a mission but didn’t intend on falling in love with the telepath much less have sex with her.

    Will our Eric Northman fall prey to the same blood spell as Bill Compton? I have a feeling that Alan Ball may be taking this direction. The Viking appears to be spiraling out of control with his emotions over just have a BB with Sookie. Eventhough this BB is one sided, I feel his emotional state is already unsteady because of what he is feeling through Sookie.

    The future episodes this season will continue to explore these BB and I believe dream states. It should be interesting to see where AB will be taking us.

    🙂

    • #15 by talktrueblood on July 8, 2010 - 4:32 pm

      @pbartteacher-

      I started off thinking about the BB mythology only at first but I realized as I went along that this theory pefectly explained the surprising emotional intimacy in the dreams. As “HIME” said in a comment above, Sookie is
      dreaming of having a relationship with Eric. That is bizarre if you go by some other theories.

      Also, since not everyone taking a live vampire’s blood becomes bonded to them, there has to be another element other than the blood itself. That is, unless you want to chalk it all up to bad writing.

      Simply put, I don’t think it has to work both ways for a BB to exist on TB like it does in the books.

      I also think the dreams are prophetic…but I also think they are reality too since I believe these emotions actually already exist. As Lorena said in the first dream…”youve already abandoned him”

  8. #16 by Enjoying on July 18, 2010 - 6:43 am

    I think Sookie dreams may be letting her have knowledge precognition with Lorena .
    Prediction with Eric of the future they are to have with each other .
    I love your blog
    Thank you for letting us come and grown with your knowledge

    • #17 by talktrueblood on July 18, 2010 - 2:13 pm

      Thank you for coming to my blog. I love all my readers, especially those who take the time to leave a comment.

      Your so right about Lorena in the dream.
      This BB theory entry was one of my opportunities to discuss the dreams (that we know we all love even if we resent them sometimes). I think Sookie will possess a certain amount of precognition in general as the season progresses. Lorena channeled that precognition in that particular dream (she is connected to Sookie through Bill’s blood Sookie has consumed), though it could be anybody connected to Sookie somehow (Lorena’s jealousey about Bill helped her show Sookie–look, you will be Eric’s one day anyway).
      Atleast that is how I see.

  9. #18 by Minecraft Guide on March 10, 2011 - 2:47 am

    It’s interesting to see this point of view. I can’t say fore sure if I agree or not, but it is something I will think about now.

  10. #19 by princess251000 on June 28, 2011 - 5:18 pm

    Love your posts.I read this awhile ago but I always had a question.I dont really know if it has to do with blood bonds but it has to do with Eric giving Sookie his blood.I always wondered if Eric’s blood brought out Sookies “microwave fingers”.Because she had Bill’s blood a number of times and nothing happened.As soon as she had a few drops of Eric’s BAM!!Her faerie side comes out.I dont know if this is making any sense at all but I kind of just wanted to hear your opinion on that.

    • #20 by Kat on June 28, 2011 - 5:34 pm

      Thank you and weclome princess.

      I think Eric’s blood is light for Sookie and makes her stronger…..rather than darker and weaker as Bill’s blood does.

      Maybe it’s the way his blood interacts with her’s…like a magical reaction or something.
      Maybe I should try to explain this.

      • #21 by princess251000 on June 28, 2011 - 10:14 pm

        I would love to hear your opinion on it. 🙂

  11. #22 by TruFan on June 28, 2011 - 6:56 pm

    What I don’t understand about Vampire Blood is why the effects are so different for different people. For some people even a small vial seems to produce extraordinary hallucinations or weird side effects. (Can anyone forgot the hilarious Jason episode?)

    Yet Sookie, and presumably many other “fangbangers” drink TONS of vampire blood with no such obvious effects. I’d really like them to clarify the rules of drinking vampire blood a little more on the show. It seems sort of random to me.

    • #23 by Kat on July 3, 2011 - 11:25 pm

      I am working on this right now. 🙂

  1. The Ancient Pythoness » Blog Archive » Doppel Links for Doppel Fun
  2. The Importance of Rituals: Explaining True Blood’s Blood « Talktrueblood's Blog

Leave a Reply

