What does True Love (blood) mean? – Episode 3×04 Recap

An internal battle is brewing:

Sookie is loaded gun after her bad breakup yet she suppresses those emotions into yet another foolish move inside Lou Pines. Where else will her desperation to avoid loneliness lead her? As Janice later says, Will Sookie’s need to feel “alive” lead her to death? Is Bill right? Does he represent death in her life?

"...make me look like I can kick some serious ass!"

Tara has her own theory about love after being ignored by Jason, having a fling with her boss, having a false relationship with Eggs, and now being lured in by a psychopath.

"People just take what they want!"

Eric has his own theory. Evidently he believes a true love would make him smile, bring back the happiness and peace he has not had since the simplicity of his childhood, make him more passionate than ever in the sack (if that was even possible), understand him, and most importantly….SURPRISE HIM!

"I've got skills you can't even dream of."

He thinks Sookie is what “he was looking for” and in return he believes he is what Sookie is truly “looking for.” Yvetta, the representation of mindless routine, brings him  to  reality.***sigh***

Eric later must defend his other… purest type of love… for his child, Pam, who’s death will mean unspeakable pain/ a living hell  for Eric and the  true “death” for Pam.

After dealing with Lorena’s tired theory that Bill will “grow to love her, even if it takes another forty years…since Bill can not help but to love,” Bill not only shows his regard for this theory by using a little more domestic violence, Bill stares into the face of a stripper of his own and hears her own theory as well…

"i know the truth about life. its a hell, no one will ever get out alive."

Surprisingly, Bill is left speechless by that one. Is that Bill’s theory? It certainly connects with his speech about being “death” for Sookie.

Meanwhile, Jason struggles with an ego that only true love can undo, Sam deals with his growing love for a brother whose family brings him problems, false love has brought an unwanted baby upon Arlene (presumably) and Hoyt struggles with the pain of post break-up jealousy.

Does love lead to “death” and pain no matter how alive it makes you feel? Do people just take what they want? Is love a loaded gun ready to cause problems in your life? Or is True Love (blood) truly different?

Whoever is right about love ..one thing is certain…

It will lead to Trouble (episode 3×05) next week.

,

  1. #1 by Freyja on July 12, 2010 - 5:32 pm

    I really liked this episode!!! Even though Eric and Sookie didn’t meet in that one for real. But it showed exactly what is going on with Eric, there is no denying it, there is love in him (only for Sookie 😉 ) He is a bit freaked about it though, it will take some time for him, because he doesn’t like having feelings.
    It was horrifying to listen to the worst brakeup I’ve ever witnessed. Could it be that Bill is really trying to kill everything between them with this horrible speech?

    • #2 by talktrueblood on July 12, 2010 - 5:53 pm

      I agree that he wanted to make Sookie really think things were over but seriously, why be all graphic about having sex with Lorena? that was seriously messed up.
      Then, we get him choosing a poor woman because she a stripper with no family? OOOhk.
      and then she gets simultaneously bitten by three vamps at once (including Bill) till her blood runs out of the limo…that was really extreme.
      And that was the least of Bill’s procuring…to think. This was probably a VERY common thing for him to do.

      I would normally say that it would take a lot more time for Eric to face it but now that he is faced with losing his child after he has just lost his maker, dealing with sookie in constant danger, facing possible punishment himself, and being consumed with revenge…I think it is safe to say Eric will be very emotionally vulnerable all season and will have his emotions on his sleeve whether he wants them there or not!
      I think this was AB’s way of speeding up Eric’s emotional vulnerability.
      I want to go into more detail about the episode but I try to stick to a theme when I do a recaps…..I put detailed theories on their own entries.

    • #3 by Renée on July 12, 2010 - 6:50 pm

      Nice recep TTB! I how you focused in on the different expressions and degrees of love that were highlighted in this episode.

      Freyja, I love how we’re getting to see the real Eric through these shared dreams. They contrast so sharply with Sookie’s dreams of Bill and her reality with Bill.

      As creepy, crazy, and sadistic at Mott is, I’m getting such a kick out of him. Cooter, not so much, but I laughed out loud when Debbie licked him and he thought of licking Bill. ROTFL! Poor Debbie.

      • #4 by talktrueblood on July 12, 2010 - 7:22 pm

        Thank you Renee! I try to find a theme that stuck out most to me throughout the episode. I try to find one that applies to everyone but also applies to our hero (eric) and our heroine (sookie) in the best way.

        I loved this dream too not only because we had evidence of the depth of Eric’s feelings for Sookie, we are seeing how the world around Eric brings these feelings out. This dream was also evidence that his memories about his humanity (good and bad) are also bringing out his feelings for Sookie.

        While I wanted something real, I realize that it would be better if things played out between them a little later on but I hope we get one real kiss atleast by this season’s end and I think we will.

        OH DO NOT WORRY! I am also a Franklin fan in a perverse way.

  2. #5 by Sarah on July 12, 2010 - 8:02 pm

    Yes, me too. My problem with Bill is not mainly that he is bad. my problem is that he is a real hypocrite playing the greenpire in shining armor. Franklin on the other side is openly bad and insane. Yiu can have sex with him but you always will mistrust and analyize him. This makes him less dangerous as Bill who can make women trust him till the point they have to deal with harsh realitiy. Ask Lorena: the jewellery donating Bill is suddenly transformed in “I am suicidial and this is your fault” Bill.

    • #6 by talktrueblood on July 12, 2010 - 8:46 pm

      So true. The main proble with Bill other than the fact that he a total liar is that he wishes to claim the humanity in him even though he still enjoys feeding on unwilling humans, glamouring for personal gain, and doing shady tasks for underground monarchs…all without his human companion knowing.
      Atleast Franklin is actually bringing Tara into his world and is serious about making a commitment to her (as misguided as it may be).

      • #7 by Freyja on July 13, 2010 - 12:28 am

        I just thought about the turning. Franklin wants to turn Tara because she surprises him, and that mirrors Lorena turning Bill because he surprised her. Sookie surprises Eric but he will never turn her against her will because she doesn’t want to and he respects her for that and loves. He himself was turned with his consent and Eric turned Pam with her consent.

  3. #8 by talktrueblood on July 13, 2010 - 2:12 am

    @Freyja- Yes, that was my point exactly and I am trying to get that theory all over the blogs and pages about FM.

    • #9 by Sarah on July 13, 2010 - 4:59 pm

      I also pointed out Bill´s hypocrisy in this discussion (http://www.trueblood-news.com/9-crimes-inside-the-episode#comments) if you are interested in it (There are two Sarahs and millions of mean comments so it is a bit confusing but I am too exhausted today to post this twice)
      When Bill gave Sookie that phone call were you reminded of the scene where Bill left Lorena, too? It was the same scheme: Earlier Bill seemed to be the “perfect gentleman”, making a proposal to Sookie and donating Lorena jewellery. The break up was something completly coming from nowhere to both women. Bill also refused to do it in a decent manner. Both break ups where emotionally extremly exhausting. Lorena was accussed of being the Big Bad of the relationsip, the destroyer of her lover, while Sookie was humilated and her extremly thin (sexual) self confidence further was weakend. I think both was done in order to hinder the women of asking questions and taking actions (“Bill, why did you stay with me and not commit suicide if your life is that mean? Why did you seem to enjoy our little rituals that much? Or: “Why did you want to marry me hours ago?If I can´t satisfy you why did you not chose a vampire instead of me?”)Sunny talked about the Shock Doctrine on her blog and I think this is Bill´s strategy. He used this mean in order to get by with his deeds without punishment.

      • #10 by talktrueblood on July 14, 2010 - 5:46 am

        Thank you! of course I am interested in reading anything you all (ya’ll) think is important or worthy of being pointed ot.

        I totally agree. The last thing Bill wants is questions for obvious reasons.

      • #11 by talktrueblood on July 14, 2010 - 6:02 am

        Wow. that was interesting.
        I wouldn’t expect anything less from the nest…especially the comments by Billsbaby..quite entertaining. haha
        Unfortunately I have to watch the show with Bill lovers so I don’t need to go there to hear their opinions. I get too frustrated already with the people I have to deal with in person.
        Online is the only place where I can meet fellow Eric fans. : /

      • #12 by Sarah on July 14, 2010 - 5:48 pm

        What did your friend say about the stripper scene?I mean even if you assume that Bill does it all for Sookie (which I don´t think) then you still have the question if a person can lose all of his ethic bounderaries and be not responsible for his deeds only because his intentions were pure and good. If you ask me this is bullshit: The aim does not justifiy the means.

      • #13 by talktrueblood on July 15, 2010 - 6:13 am

        They have nothing to say other than the usual “Bill had to do it. He seemed reluctant and it pained him to do it.”
        They will say the aim justifies the means. I am not saying that isn’t sometimes the case but Bill was quite brutal, enjoyed being brutal and justified his actions in his own selfish mind by picking a prostitute with no family or prospects.
        I do not think they would be convinced unless something appears like the infamous “club dead trunk scene.”
        or something even more extreme.
        However they are so extremely pro bill they don’t even want to watch a sookie/eric love scene and/or dream
        even though I have sat through all the bill and sookie scenes and will probably have to sit through atleast one more!

  4. #14 by sunnynala on July 14, 2010 - 4:42 pm

    I love this recap! So thoughtful and I really like the theme of love and what it means to the different characters that you chose to focus on.

    I really admire that you were able to get this up so quickly. I’m really struggling with this ep and what to focus on.

    • #15 by talktrueblood on July 15, 2010 - 6:05 am

      I think i was just so taken with the stripper and everything that represented and I automatically noticed the theme right away from that. It was way too poignant to ignore.

  5. #16 by sunnynala on July 16, 2010 - 1:13 am

    I totally agree that Bill will somehow attack Sookie, which MIGHT lead to the intense moment/healing between E/S. There almost HAS to be an attack by Bill if they want to follow the books. Such an attack would be rich fodder for debate and controversy and I can’t see AB/TB passing up the chance.

  6. #17 by Christine on July 16, 2010 - 4:08 pm

    Forgive this next bit but I too was deceived by Bill and even though I’m all for Eric I can’t seem to shake that Bill is a puppet and he’s partly not to blame for what he’s doing. With that said, I almost can’t even talk about the stripper incident because of how cruel it was. But I keep feeling like I’m missing something in regards to Bill joining in on the meal. I thought that was the last straw for me and it would break the tiniest tie I had to him but it didn’t and in regards to Bill I feel like I have a Question Mark over my head whenever he’s discussed. It probably seems like I’m a billbanger but I’m not and never have been. But I felt the same way reading the books. I was so tied to all of Sookie’s “firsts” (first love, first man, first sexual experience etc) which all equated to Bill, that when I found out he was a jerk it felt like walking off a cliff.

    All that to say, are you all 100% convinced that Bill is pure evil in and of himself? I can’t get there. I was so torn up for him after the Lorena rape scene when he grabbed his hair and screamed. I often have compassion on the underdog.

Leave a Reply

