Eric/Sookie Body Language Flashback!

I posted this on sunnynala’s blog as a comment about Episode 2 before I had my own blog and I decided to resurrect this because of a loyal reader of mine, Freyja, encouraged me to do so. I also decided to add a scene from Episode 3 for this blog. It is a little long-winded but it is very detailed and thoroughly thought out, enjoy!

First Scene at Fangtasia 3×02:

Notice the way they lean into each other, notice the way they can stare into eachother’s eyes (prolonged eye contact : generally hard to do unless it’s someone that you trust, since in the wild it was a sign of aggression by those you are unfamiliar with and is hard-wired into our instincts). Therefore, Sookie does not have to say she trusts Eric, we can clearly see that she does. She just doesn’t want to express her feelings/trust toward Eric because it would add to her guilt trip about Bill (she does think he has been the perfect boyfriend to her).

Though on the surface it might appear that he is trying to hide his feelings for her (for the usual reason, he doesn’t want to appear weak), it is quite the opposite. He is expressing desperation as he leans into her, almost to her face (he is saying, NOTICE ME PLEASE). It is actually quite sad.

Second Scene at Fangtasia 3×02:

A classic study of body language makes it obvious it isn’t a “buisness” encounter at Fangtasia. Did you ever see two buisness associates sitting across from each other with their legs so close, almost intertwined??? This not only expresses attraction, it expresses comfort and ease, TRUST, a true recipe for romance. Though nobody would normally notice that as they look at the dialogue, it is a very revealing thing.

Also, she is willing to cry with Eric, showing her vulnerability, a sign of trust and a sign that she is willing to reveal her true self with him and communicate. They have both allowed themselves to get to their lows around each other (grieving, crying, desperation). Yet, they also reach their highs together (sookie: independence, strength-Eric:compassion, selflessness).

The Porch Scene 3×02:

Notice how they sit side-by-side, once again leaning into each other, once again staring into eachother’s eyes. Even when Eric gets up, they look into eachother’s eyes. Not for more than a moment do they stop locking eyes like two star struck lovers. She even runs to him when it looks like he is leaving. I do not know how much clearer it could be that these two WANT TO BE AROUND each other!

ALSO: Notice the symbolism for the way the ring is positioned on her finger! It is almost pushed  to the side of her finger, like she is unsure whether she should wear it! Also, she is playing with her hair as she shows him the ring! Playing with your hair is classic and obvious flirting.

 Eric/Sookie Body Burial 3×03:

Sookie and Eric continue the staring and general flirting even as they bury the body from the recent fight. Sookie cranes her neck to the side; this body language que is a unconcious way of inviting the flirting partner to come closer and approach you. This move shows your non-threatening and approachable (which was important to show in the wild).

Sookie allows herself to check him out in his presence (she is “sizing him up” so to speak in his presence). This is a clear signal to the other party that says, “I’m interested!”

Sookie cranes her neck for the SECOND time later on in the conversation!

Finally, Eric flirts with the male version of an approachable and non-threatening head/neck  move (his head almost pointed downward in a submissive manner).

Obviously, you DO NOT NEED DIALOGUE to come to this conclusion:

Therefore, no matter how you look at it, both Sookie and Eric are not just attracted to each other sexually, they are attracted to each other romantically (due to TRUST and obvious chemistry beyond sexual attraction alone). The only question should be: Why wouldn’t a romance develop once Sookie is unattached?

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Freyja on July 16, 2010 - 10:59 am

    Yes! This is exactly what I’ve been thinking every scene with them together!!! Even in season 2 when talking together they leaned in on each other and kept eye contact. It doesn’t even matter that she was fighting with him most of the time then because of their body language. Now in season 3 it’s even more obvious when their talking friendly and are relaxed in each other presence.
    I also notice that when they are alone together Eric is more relaxed, compassionate and nice, he jokes around but it’s different kind of humor. All of this is something he would never show others, the mask is off. Sookie has been behaving irrational this season when ever she’s looking for Bill or thinking about him, but when she’s with Eric she’s relaxed, she’s thinking straight, she’s strong and independant.

    Thank you for putting this up ttb. I always love your thoughts about the show 🙂

    • #2 by talktrueblood on July 16, 2010 - 4:18 pm

      First of all, Thank You so much for the encouragement and getting me to do this since it was so well received.

      Season 2 had a lot of clear body language as well. Besides the dialogue, that is why everyone was struck by the “trust me” because of the way he leans into her and the way she allows it.
      I do notice that Eric is a better person/vampire (lol) in general around Sookie and Sookie is also a better person in general when she is around Eric (they reach their highs together but are not afraid to reveal their lows).

      Again, THANK YOU for the encouragement!

      • #3 by Freyja on July 16, 2010 - 4:49 pm

        Your welcome 🙂 I remembered that I had read it on Sunnynala’s blog but needed to see it again and it’s great that you added in ep. 3 too. You should add to it with every episode of them together, see how it progresses.
        In season 1 they held good eyecontact, Sookie was strong, independant and not so naive like with Bill.
        In season 2 they kept good eyecontact even if she was furious with him, he always leaned in on her and she never backed away, but didn’t lean in to him because Bill was always around… until in FoTS church, there she actually touches him when they are trying to escape and they lean in on each other when talking.
        In season 3 it’s so clear how they sit beside or oppiside each other, they almost touch, they almost invade each others personal space and they seem comfortable with that. Eric keeps himself in her eye level, and of course they almost never brake eyecontact.

    • #4 by talktrueblood on July 16, 2010 - 5:17 pm

      Well I think it def reached a larger audience this time anyway and I was able to use photos for examples this time.
      This post has received my most ever one day hits for a single entry on this blog (more than even my BB theory) so I am very happy that you suggested this!

      Considering that Eric can be dangerous (though he isn’t like the sadists bill and lorena), it is very telling that Sookie never seems uncomfortable with his fangs coming up (even when they are in her face) or with him being close.

      • #5 by Freyja on July 16, 2010 - 5:39 pm

        Yes when you say that, no she isn’t afraid. It’s as if she trusts him not to hurt her. I like that he doesn’t hide who he is or what he does. Like killing the were in front of her, she wasn’t repulsed by it. I think maybe she would have been if it was Bill that had done the deed, but that’s because she puts him on a pedistall, he’s suppose to be a GOOD vampire. She’s more receptive to Erics good and bad nature now, she doesn’t put him on pedistall and that’s good!

    • #6 by talktrueblood on July 16, 2010 - 6:16 pm

      Not only did she seem perfectly comfortable with Eric killing the were in front of her, she seemed titillated by it.
      In a twisted way, she is imagining Eric biting her (of course without killing her) but she is still imaging Eric biting her and her enjoying it.

  2. #7 by Renée on July 16, 2010 - 1:14 pm

    I love this and hope you will update this post as the season progresses!

    • #8 by talktrueblood on July 16, 2010 - 4:19 pm

      Thank you so much Renee! I will do it for you and Freyja now.

      • #9 by Robin on July 17, 2010 - 7:43 pm

        Please continue to update this post! I think it will be fascinating to watch their body language as the season progresses! Love this post TTB!

      • #10 by talktrueblood on July 17, 2010 - 7:56 pm

        I will! trust me, it was too well liked not to.
        I will be keeping a very close eye on any future non-dream eric/sookie bodily interaction ; )

        Thank you for reading and commenting!

  3. #11 by Hime on July 16, 2010 - 2:50 pm

    Very well done TTB!
    The attraction between these two is undeniable. It’s stronger and deeper than the one between Sookie and Bill.
    These scenes in ep 3×02 are, indeed, the first long scenes with Sookie and Eric all alone. It’s shocking how different Sookie behaves with Eric when Bill’s not around. She is sweeter, funny and relaxed, she even smiles sometimes. Like she was NOT the person who called him “monster”. I can’t help but think that Bill influences her behavior and not in a good way. She unconsciously feels forced to put an act and be harsh with Eric, only to reinforce Bill’s ego and convinction she is HIS.
    But luckily Bill’s far away and we had the chance to see some true, not polluted by Bill’s ego interaction.
    Sookie often tiltes her head on one side, as her body was saying “I offer my neck to you, because I trust you”. It’s also a very feminine way of flirting and unconsciuosly showing up her tenderness and need to be protected, which is appealing to every male, let alone Eric.
    And Eric, he never breaks eye contact and he makes sure to put himself at eye level with Sookie.
    Also, when Eric says the primal sex line and Sookie replies “You’re not gonna distract me by talking nasty”, notice how uneven is her voice and how many times she bats her eyelids… She’s completely distracted by the mental image of herself making love with Eric! 😀

    • #12 by talktrueblood on July 16, 2010 - 4:42 pm

      THANK YOU Hime!

      Bill and Sookie’s body language is somewhat stunted by the fact that neither of them is totally natural with the other.

      Ironically, I think part of the reason Sookie feels she needs to reinforce Bill’s ego all the time is because she was is in fact attracted to him from the get go and felt like she needed to use every negative thing he did as “evidence” that she would never like him more than Bill.

      Batting eyelids is def another sign of flirting too.
      About that “your not going to distract me by talking nasty.”
      Eric was def not fooled. He replied “I already did.”
      Eric knows she is feeling the same way and is prevented by Bill and that makes him even crazier! haha.

      • #13 by Enjoying on July 18, 2010 - 6:11 am

        So do I

  4. #14 by Eric Northman on July 16, 2010 - 3:01 pm

    Very estute observations for a human – I’ll be watching you now

  5. #16 by Renée on July 16, 2010 - 3:14 pm

    It would be fascinating to compare this to Sookie and Bill’s body language. If the nature of their dreams are anything to go by, it should be very different.

    • #17 by talktrueblood on July 16, 2010 - 3:33 pm

      I could do just that for you Renee. I have studied body language. I actually did not look any of this up.

      • #18 by Renée on July 16, 2010 - 3:54 pm

        That would be super TTB!

  6. #19 by Christine on July 16, 2010 - 3:37 pm

    Wow, this is amazing and feeds the romantic in me. The subtlties you point out become blaring neon signs indicating, “They ARE interested in each other in every way!”. I love the way you point out the almost submissiveness to each other, the trust, body language, the casual way he sits at that business meeting with their legs almost touching. *sigh*

    • #20 by talktrueblood on July 16, 2010 - 4:25 pm

      Awwwh. I am so glad that you liked it so much.
      Thank Freyja for getting me to do this!

      This body language is quite obvious and does point to the developing romance between them a lot more than the dialogue does (although it does in some ways). Sometimes, people do get too wrapped up in the dialogue.
      Thanks so much for the love on here.
      Yes, I had to make the leg thing at the table slightly larger to highlight that was the most glaring sign to me.

      • #21 by Freyja on July 16, 2010 - 4:57 pm

        Your welcome again 😉 I love S/E dialogue, but I’m always fasinated by body language. I always notice that when I’m watching movies about romance, sometimes it’s not directed well but in TB it is very evident! Especially when I watch Eric scenes, he uses facial expressions and body language to express himself as much as what he says.

  7. #22 by jayetea on July 17, 2010 - 5:11 am

    Thank you, TTB. I really enjoyed reading this. Very perceptive!

    • #23 by talktrueblood on July 17, 2010 - 5:16 am

      No, thank you!
      First of all, Thank you for coming to my blog to read it.
      Second of all, Thank you for commenting.
      Hundreds and hundreds and thousands read but a comment is rare!

      I will always respond to questions and comments on here, every single one.
      Not one comment will ever be ignored by me. I truly appreciate anyone who comes here and epsecially those who take the time to leave a comment.

      I am so glad you enjoyed it and I hope you enjoy my future entries. I even will take a request on something to cover. My reader Renee requested an analysis of Bill and Sookie body language so I will deliver next week.

      • #24 by Bobsgran on July 17, 2010 - 10:28 am

        Have been reading your blog since you started and really enjoy your POV. The body language is very interesting. I look forward to your next post and the Bill/Sookie body language.

      • #25 by talktrueblood on July 17, 2010 - 2:27 pm

        Thank you so much for reading Bobsgram.
        I like your comments on the other blogs.

        Thank you so much. The plan is this:
        1. I will put out a recap on Monday.
        2. Put out the Bill/Sookie body language Tuesday or Wens.
        3. Put out an update on the Eric/Sookie body language on Thurs or Friday (if there is e/s interaction outside of a dream in episode 5, which I am thinking there might be and probably will be due to some spoilers)

  8. #26 by Melody on July 17, 2010 - 9:59 am

    Wonderful post!

    I loved the front porch scene.
    Eric: “[…] Or both.”
    Sookie: “I’m still Bill’s.”

    I’m still Bill’s? = If I wasn’t, then YES.

    • #27 by Melody on July 17, 2010 - 10:02 am

      Uhm 😄 What I was trying to say is it’s not only Sookie’s body language, but she also admits to the attraction verbally, even if it’s “hidden”. It’s kind of related to a Freudian slip. She could just as well have said: “I am happily taken and I am faithful.”

      But no… She is “STILL Bill’s”. For now. Mwahaha.

      • #28 by phoebi on July 17, 2010 - 2:22 pm

        I like the way you think! 😀

      • #29 by talktrueblood on July 17, 2010 - 2:37 pm

        Of course it isn’t only the body language (there are verbal hints). This post was the only help people to focus on an aspect often overlooked in favor of the dialogue.

        I totally agree with that interp. of the dialogue. Very nice point!

    • #30 by talktrueblood on July 17, 2010 - 2:39 pm

      I seriously LOL’d at that…

      “I’m still Bill’s? = If I wasn’t, then YES.”

      pure genius

      • #31 by Elalia on August 31, 2010 - 2:22 pm

        I totally agree with that !!! she totally meant that it would be green light if not for Bill, funnier even that he bangs Lorena right after that .. I wonder if it wasn`t ironical from AB…)

      • #32 by talktrueblood on August 31, 2010 - 9:40 pm

        hahha it was! i loved it

  9. #33 by phoebi on July 17, 2010 - 1:30 pm

    Just read through your post for the second time, saw your reply to jayetea, and was spurred into showing my appreciation by leaving a comment 😀

    And it’s really nice to see Eric and Sookie’s body language interpreted and put into words – I guess the mind (or at least my mind) only registers the nuances of body language subconsciously. Now I know why I feel so strongly about their relationship: their bodies are already screaming how much they’re meant for each other!

    • #34 by talktrueblood on July 17, 2010 - 2:24 pm

      Thank you Phoebi! hehehe : )

      Well I started my own research on body language due to my own confusion with how others felt about me (romantic and non-romantic) so I have become very mindful of body language (even more so over what others say to me). It was natural fit for me and I hope to update the Eric/Sookie body language and do an analysis of the Bill/Sookie body language Renee requested.

  10. #35 by sunnynala on July 17, 2010 - 2:22 pm

    *sigh* How absolutely lovely! The air of warm sensuality that envelopes them in every scene is entirely lacking in her scenes with Bill.

    • #36 by talktrueblood on July 17, 2010 - 2:30 pm

      **sighs with you** (then presses my hand to my heart)

      I know right, and thanks to Renee’s suggestion I will have my contrasting opinion on Bill/Sookie body language out on tues or wens after my recap of course.

      : )

  11. #37 by midnightblack07 on July 18, 2010 - 3:49 am

    Awesome post!!
    I read the Bill/Sookie body language analysis first and what a contrast it was with Eric/Sookie!! I also felt that the scene at Fangtasia where they were sitting so closely together (legs *almost* touching) was very blatant in its display of their comfot level around eachother 🙂 I can’t wait for more telling interactions between the two of them in the future!!

    • #38 by talktrueblood on July 18, 2010 - 3:56 am

      I am so glad you liked this analysis as well.

      The chemisty between E/S makes the interaction between B/S
      seem that much worse.
      It was more like they were sitting down to a nice, intimate talk…not making a “buisness” arrangement.
      I will update the body language on both sides as well go along in the season!

  12. #39 by Enjoying on July 18, 2010 - 5:40 am

    Love it was great .
    You guys make me think .
    Eric and Sookie has had this since the beening
    S1 They were cking each other out .

  13. #41 by Lena on July 23, 2010 - 8:06 am

    Thank you so much! Eric has been my dream the first time I have seen True Blood. I guess I can’t explain it in words like you can, but on some subconcious level I read the signs. I said to my husband that I liked Sookie to be with Eric at the end of seaon 2, but he said “Why? He is the bad guy.” And I thought that my husband was the person who analysed everything too deeply. But your analysis just makes me pee in my pants! It just gives me so much to expect! After reading this I had to rewatch all 3 seasons again! LOL Thank you for this! And, by the way I notice you a lot on Facebook!

  14. #42 by Enjoying on July 23, 2010 - 5:39 pm

    I love this blog of your and your POV
    Sookie needs to stard seeing what is right befor her
    Can”t waite to see the rest of the season body language of Sookie and Eric
    Got feeling we going see some body language of Alcide with her also
    Eric is going to love that LOL

    • #43 by talktrueblood on July 23, 2010 - 9:12 pm

      Thank you so much.
      Sookie is naive but I think she realizes an attraction there..
      But she questions his motives still and doesn’t question Bill’s…that is the ironic thing.
      I could do an Alcide body language post but he doesn’t interest me as much as the other characters,
      but I think that he will definitely be a factor.
      Oh yeah I can see an Alcide and Eric fight or showdown coming.

  15. #44 by Enjoying on July 23, 2010 - 9:26 pm

    Do know that one Eric is hot
    Alcide also is
    But like Eric the best
    Sunday night will get see him telling Sookie he does not care for her

    • #45 by talktrueblood on July 23, 2010 - 9:33 pm

      Im sure that will fly over like a lead balloon if she has any intelligence at all.

  16. #46 by Enjoying on July 23, 2010 - 9:46 pm

    LOL
    That is one of my saying
    Where are you from ?

  17. #48 by Enjoying on July 23, 2010 - 10:05 pm

    I from Tenn.
    Live in Murfreesboro Tn, 25 miles from Nashville
    right in the middle of the state .Know you had be from the South

    • #49 by talktrueblood on July 23, 2010 - 10:09 pm

      haha. I guess I knew it was that obvious. I have to keep myself from using southern euphemisms and saying ya’ll on the boards sometimes. : )

  18. #50 by Enjoying on July 23, 2010 - 10:36 pm

    Ya’ll is used all over now.
    I lived in the North and West for years so I have to watch not be You Guys

    • #51 by talktrueblood on July 24, 2010 - 12:15 am

      Interesting..
      Good. Now I wont feel so bad if I say it.

  19. #52 by Tori on August 4, 2010 - 4:16 pm

    Excellent!!! i bookmarked you for future reading!!!

    • #53 by talktrueblood on August 4, 2010 - 4:18 pm

      Welcome Tori! Thank you and I am so glad you came by!

  20. #54 by Blondebonded on August 29, 2010 - 1:50 am

    Epic blog! I’m such a ‘people watcher’ in that body lang fasinates me and says so much, so this was really really interesting! Would love your take on the kiss! xx

    • #55 by Blondebonded on August 29, 2010 - 1:53 am

      Oops just found it *Noob* lol/

      • #56 by talktrueblood on August 29, 2010 - 2:01 am

        Yeah! you found it! tell me what you think!

    • #57 by talktrueblood on August 29, 2010 - 2:03 am

      Thank you Blonde!

      I am a poet/writer…so I am always VERY observant when I watch people and things and so studying body language was a natural thing for me : )

  21. #58 by Caroline on September 11, 2010 - 3:38 am

    Just stumbled onto this page today and i am LOVING all of this analysis!!!! I love True Blood as a whole but I am out and out obsessed with the Eric Northman character and I think Alexander Skarsgard doesn’t get enough credit for the many layers to this performance (oh and he isn’t that bad looking either!)

    • #59 by talktrueblood on September 11, 2010 - 3:52 am

      WELCOME Caroline! I am glad you found me.
      There are so many cool sites out there that people will have to really look for : )

      Oh yes. I think the perfection of his body language shows what a wonderful actor he is.
      Denis O’Hare does it too…which is part of why he is so great!

  1. The Body Language of Eric Northman Season Three | Talktrueblood's Blog
  2. Eric/Sookie Body Language Flashback! Part Three! « Talktrueblood's Blog
  3. Eric/Sookie Body Language Flashback! Part Four! « Talktrueblood's Blog

Leave a Reply

