Being “Normal”- Episode 3×05 “Trouble” Analysis

“I am not worried. I have never been so not worried. It’s what normal people do Sam. They fall in love. They make eachother laugh. They move in together. They raise kids. They fight over money. They get old and fat together and it’s normal…”- Terry B

Normal People Fall In Love

They Make Eachother Laugh

They Move In Together

They raise kids

They Fight Over Money and They get old and fat together.

Obviously, you do not have to be NORMAL at all to fall in love, laugh with someone, move in together, raise kids, fight over money, and/or get old and fat with someone. Acheiving those things does not make you normal, neither does getting a “real” job:

No matter how you try to be normal , distract yourself or  run away from your problems

They just keep coming back and they bring the inevitable “Trouble” along with them…

Next Week, Who will “sing the blues?(3×06)”

  1. #1 by Freyja on July 19, 2010 - 7:14 pm

    Like that you emphasize love from this episode 🙂 It’s obvious that everybody can fall in love and love and relationship is different for everyone. There is no dream love, like Sookie so tries to hold on to! It’s dilusional for both Sookie and Bill! There was a lot of trouble, a lot of love gone wrong or a dilusional love going on in this episode. The Mickens (can we get rid of them?), Terry and Arlene (can we get rid of her?), Jessica and Hoyt, Sookie and Bill (can we just finish this off please?), Eric and his family, Bill and Lorena (she really needs to move on from this deadbeat!) and Franklin and Tara (dilusional love for sure from Franklin).
    What I liked about this episode: Eric and all his scenes, the Viking flashback was brilliant and I so felt for him when he found the crown and when his family was killed 😦 I liked how we saw a young man grow from being petulant into a king in just few minutes! The flirting was great with Talbot and the businessman statue he showed Russell, Eric always has a plan and in his right mind, he’s shrewd an cunning. If anyone is going to get them (E/S/B/T) out of this shit it’s him. He’s the only level headed one in there.
    Franklin was amazing with his dilusional crazy insane love for Tara. I liked how Tara played along, she’s being levelheaded and does good when she’s in trouble.
    What I disliked about the episode: The Mickens! Although I’m starting to like Tommy, but this story is not pivotal. Jason! Waste of time when we could be watching something that really matters!!! Sookie! 😦 She is being incredibly selfcentered right now, using people and acting like Bill really. She’s acting like many girls do when they are in a relationship with the wrong partner and they mold their personality after their partner. Stupid Bill being set up and runs to Sookie and exposes her! How stupid can you get??? Call her on the phone!
    I did not like that Eric didn’t go first to check up on Sookie before going to the mansion, I would have liked that they’d stick to that part of the story. There wasn’t any interaction between them and I sure hope that the writers know what they are doing!!!!

    • #2 by talktrueblood on July 19, 2010 - 8:02 pm

      Thank you much Freyja. I always love comments from you. I try to get to the heart of the episode and the theme. To me, a recap shouldn’t really be about rehashing all the events from the episode. Anybody that has seen it can do that. It is about getting to the “heart” of the matter.

      Delusional love/ how emotions destroy… is the overall theme this season I think…and it ties right back into Sookie’s delusional love for Bill.

      I agree with Bill being set up. Coot was obviously baiting him.
      I am sure Eric’s number one priority would be to help Pam but he really should have atleast called her to give her a heads up for crying out loud.

      I like Tommy now and I feel sorry for him having to live with the Mickens…I hope he can find some real love with Sam and maybe atleast have some good fun with Jessica.

      I THINK ERIC WILL BE THE HERO THIS SEASON!
      He will be redeemed, it is just frustrating in the mean time…
      but one thing the writers don’t do is force feed us…
      which also feeds into our frustration about Bill.

      • #3 by Freyja on July 19, 2010 - 9:47 pm

        I’m so hoping for Eric to be the hero of the season !!! He deserves it 😉 I’m just a little afraid of the vengeance theme, if that is going to shadow the hero act.

    • #4 by talktrueblood on July 19, 2010 - 9:58 pm

      Me too!
      But I also feel it will be like what I said in my speculation:
      Yes, he might take Russell out and/or ruffle that good connection
      for his vengence when it comes down to the end. I hope not.

    • #5 by Christine on July 19, 2010 - 10:55 pm

      I loved reading this. Yes, I agree wholeheartedly, the fate of all of this crap lies in Eric’s hands and he IS the only one with a brain and the capability to turn this right side up. ❤ to you and ❤ to Eric. 😉

      • #6 by talktrueblood on July 19, 2010 - 11:01 pm

        Eric “knows what to do.”

        Bill isn’t smart enough or cunning enough to do it.
        Sookie is too naive and vulnerable to Bill to do it.

        It has to be Eric.

  2. #7 by Enjoying on July 19, 2010 - 7:27 pm

    I love it .Franklin is the best could watch him all day or night .
    LOL ever time with him .
    Eric went to Russell like they do in the books you go to the queen or king in that area .
    Eric could feel that Sookie was ok .
    I love that he’s worry about his child ,right now she what most imprtant to him
    Eric now knows who kill his family .Feel so sorry for him right now .
    Sookie in love with Bill and she has yet to learn that he is not what she thinks
    Love when Coot-er came in and told Bill that Sookie was with Alcide a were and to Suck that D**k LOL .
    Next week is going be so good

    • #8 by talktrueblood on July 19, 2010 - 8:52 pm

      Franklin was the thing that saved the time inbetween Eric to me.
      I was a huge James Frain fan before and now him being on this show has just exploded my love for that man..haha

      Anyway, I think once things get settled with Pam, there might be a tender moment between them and Pam might tell him to “go get the girl!”

      Yesss, Coot is a hoot!..
      LMAO

      I wondered if anyone else liked that little moment between Tommy and Jessica?

  3. #9 by sunnynala on July 19, 2010 - 8:51 pm

    Truly excellent Katya.

    I love Terry. Every single time he gets emotional, I cry. I can’t seem to help myself, I just feel for him so much.

    • #10 by talktrueblood on July 19, 2010 - 9:11 pm

      thank you, I always love your positive comments.

      The stripper captured me last time…
      this time it was Terry…
      He can make an audience feel.

  4. #11 by Enjoying on July 19, 2010 - 9:09 pm

    Terry is the nice and bless his heart ,I want him to have a HEA .
    But I have all ways wonder about him in the books and show .
    When the were was watching Sookie and Terry was there he knew of what was in the area .Some thing is going on with him .Do you think that Terry has some thing going on ?

    • #12 by talktrueblood on July 19, 2010 - 9:12 pm

      Yes, I do. Of course part of it is his war trauma but I do suspect that Terry has some secrets of his own!

  5. #13 by iram on July 19, 2010 - 9:47 pm

    Im not worry or hurt that Eric don´t went to check how Sookie was first.
    Eric has very powerfull father figures in his life( his human father and Goodric) , so, imo, is natural that he right now act more like a father than like a “prince charming”. He is trying to save his child (Pam) and make a detour to check a person for he has undefined feelings , right now, and that he knows that is fine(thanks to the bond) would be weird.

    • #14 by talktrueblood on July 19, 2010 - 9:55 pm

      He is being like a king now…making the tough decisions and making the difficult but strategic moves (even if they cause tension or hurt feelings).

      I just thought a quick phone call would do the trick but I like the idea that he knew she was ok.

  6. #15 by pbartteacher on July 20, 2010 - 5:14 am

    After watching Alan Ball and Scott Winant’s interview about Inside Episode 29: Trouble, I have much less faith in where Alan Ball is taking this story. If I were Charlaine Harris I would be extremely disappointed with the mediocre results that Mr. Ball has produced.

    Eric, I fear will never be portrayed as the hero or antihero. Alan Ball is this interview proclaims Eric as the brat prince. Well Alan, Eric is many thing. Self-centered, egotistical, dangerous but he is also extremely loyal. BRAT is not an adjective I would use to describe the Viking.

    The flashback moment in 900ad Sweden was excellent insight into the motivations and history of Eric. Unfortunately, I don’t believe for one second that the creator and writers of this show will write Bill Compton as anything but a hero. The writers have continued to gloss over anything and everything this vampire does in terms of “humanity”. Horse hockey and a few other choice words. Insert your own here.

    Alan Ball has no intention what so ever of making the Viking the hero. Sookie will never truly leave Bill Compton for any length of time. She will continually run back to her first love for protection and sex. Barf. If I see these two together, my retinas will burn even worse than watching Joe Lee’s underwear. Dare I say that Alan Ball is catering to two actors on this show, who want this to be their love story. He has admitted from the start that this is a love story about Sookie and Bill. Sorry Mr. Ball but what books did you read? These books are not about Bill and Sookie.

    Enough with the ranting, thank you for listening. I guess it is time to cancel premium channels and just watch on the internet. Alan Ball doesn’t need my subscription and from recent news he doesn’t need True Blood after Season 4. He will be moving on and finding greener pastures on other HBO projects.

    Good bye, Mr. Ball. Don’t let the door smack you on the rear on your way out.

    • #16 by talktrueblood on July 20, 2010 - 6:17 am

      Please continue to come by and comment but…
      Wow, I am really depressed after reading your comment
      only because I have had a really depressing day
      (my cat died and my best friend has been crying on
      my shoulder all day about her cheating boyfriend).

      Well I am just going to leave you with what I posted
      on Sunnynala’s blog..who was doing a similar rant.

      I will not ever say that I will stop watching in
      definite terms but I will start re-thinking things if
      one or more of these things happen:

      1. Bill’s secret is not revealed to Sookie and/or obviously made known to be the truth to the audience by the end of this season
      (especially after all the clues). To the average viewer, Bill could just be telling the truth about the evidence being planted.

      2.Bill and Sookie get back together AT ALL (but especially after his secret is revealed-if at all of course OR he attacks her or something).

      3.Sookie does not kiss Eric this season outside of a dream (but especially if she kisses Alcide but not Eric).

      4.Bill is made to be a big hero again (but especially if he is made to be a big hero and his behavior at Russell’s goes unacknowledged).

      5.If Sookie and Eric do kiss…she only kisses him to get back at Bill.

      6. Eric starts acting like Bill.

      I myself have been disgusted with the “inside the episode”
      crap.
      As for AB, I am sure one of his writers/producers that
      have worked with him forever could safely take over
      the show. I doubt AB will have as much success with
      anything ever but he can be my guest and move on,
      especially if I have to carry out some vengeance of my
      own because he royally screwed CH’s novels to a bloody pulp.

      I really hope this show isn’t just some wackey fan
      fiction for Bill fans who were not satisfied with the
      direction of the novels.

      I just hope that the optimism will prevail and we might be vindicated one day.

      • #17 by pbt on July 21, 2010 - 10:05 pm

        Well talktrueblood. Synopsis for an upcoming episode has Bill and Sookie getting back together after she has reassessed the situation. Haven’t seen anything about Bill attacking Sookie but we have seen official pics of Sookie in a hospital gown and bandages on both sides of her neck. These were paparazzi pics and not official HBO pics. Saw those way back in February. So someone does some attacking. AB will probably have Eric do the attacking. Geesh Louise.

        I think this is a fan fiction for Bill fans. AB has made it quite clear that he is a big fan of the “southern gentleman” of this series. I will tell you why I suspect this. After watching Sunday’s episode and I saw two scenes that were from the books and were orginally scenes with the Viking.

        1. Franklin and Tara talking on top of the bed and Franklin says the infamous words “my lover”. Sorry there is only one character that should be uttering those words in my opinion.

        2. Sookie running into the arms of Bill at the end. That is from book 10. “Jump monkey girl” Sorry Sookie should not be running into the arms of a man who told her I was f*cking Lorena like only two vampires could. Did her brains completely leave her at that moment?? I mean really Sookie. Grow a brain cell or two. Please.

        OK now it sounds like I am ranting again. And I guess I am. Sorry. I am looking forward to Sunday really. If AB turns this around and makes the Viking the hero that he is then I will most graciously admit that I am wrong.

    • #18 by anna on July 20, 2010 - 6:13 pm

      Just watched the video and I agree with you.
      In Alan Ball’s world he can do no wrong.
      It’s the old adage about power tending to corrupt, and absolute power corrupting absolutely.

      • #19 by talktrueblood on July 20, 2010 - 10:43 pm

        As a student of political science, I couldn’t agree more.

    • #20 by talktrueblood on July 21, 2010 - 10:18 pm

      Well I figured they would get back together after the rescue but that something would happen later on that would make her question their relationship for a good while and causes a possible break up.

  7. #21 by Renée on July 20, 2010 - 1:41 pm

    I like your focus on normality. It fits with Janice’s words to Sookie last week about feeling alive isn’t enough to base a relationship on. You have to be smart about it, too.

    Speaking of Prince Eric, I was really struck by how Terry and Jason were also turned into beautiful golden boys in this episode. Enjoyed that. The lighting on Terry was just beautiful. Jason became a sheriff and the Sheriff of Area 5 became Jason, the himbo who can’t be trusted with a waitress.

    • #22 by talktrueblood on July 20, 2010 - 3:23 pm

      I think the camera always focuses in like that and so does the lighting when something important is being said or you are trying to highlight certain characters for some reason.
      LMAO.
      If the Jason-Eric parallels had been any more obvious last week, they would have had to tell us that was the case and their doing it on purpose.

      • #23 by Renée on July 20, 2010 - 5:43 pm

        Yes, last season everyone thought I was crazy for seeing these patterns everywhere. Now they are hitting us over the head with them.

  8. #24 by just an opinionated hack on July 20, 2010 - 4:45 pm

    I think this was the best episode of the season so far. I think it gave illumination on the Eric/Bill/Sookie/Russell angle and really advanced it. I think that Eric and Bill are both screwed, however Bill is going to get it far worse. I think Sam and Tommy are really connecting, and the situation about his sleazeball father is becoming more apparent. However, the Jason angle is starting to get muddled up and I do not really see how it is progressing the overall theme of the show. This is disappointing to me because he is one of my favorite characters on the show. Great post, keep it up!

    • #25 by Renée on July 20, 2010 - 5:48 pm

      That’s funny because Jason’s storyline is the exact opposite for me. I’m finally interested in the himbo and seeing him transform from a the washed up hs jock into a real hero and a police officer. Bud is Jason in 20 years, Eric is Jason in 1000.

      • #26 by talktrueblood on July 20, 2010 - 9:33 pm

        I am worried about Jason’s obsession with his past as a jock though and how that is going to come into play.

    • #27 by talktrueblood on July 20, 2010 - 9:28 pm

      Sam and Tommy are great together but I am concerned about Jessica in relation to Merlotte’s.

      I totally agree with the fact that Jason’s story is a little slow now and I am mad bc I liked Jason the last two seasons.

      The plot was defintely advanced but maybe not in the way I might have wanted.

      • #28 by pbt on July 21, 2010 - 9:54 pm

        I agree with your concern over Jessica. Remember who’s idea it was for Sam to hire Jessica. Sookie. And let’s face it folks, anything Sookie does is not playing out well right now.

        Jessica is going to get caught were her teeth in a Merlotte’s customer. That won’t settle well with the clientele or with the boss/Sam.

        Its great that Sam willing to help Sookie out but geesh Sam you are already trying to help Tommy and your new parents. Bit off more than you can chew there?

        BTW, thank you for letting me rant the other day. LOL. I am still not feeling great about where this is all heading. The more and more I read spoilers and see the promo pics, the Viking is in for a heap of trouble. And Bill is gonna be a savior again?

  9. #29 by Bobsgran on July 20, 2010 - 8:30 pm

    Oh pbartteacher, I so agree with you. I was on a real rant yesterday at Sunny’s about many of the same things. You have put it beautifully. I’m afraid many of us are feeling the same. At this point I’d rather watch Joe Lee’s gotchies than hear Alan Ball and his writers spew their nonsense……..I will not rant..I will not rant.

    TTB thank you for pointing out the lighting on Terry, he looked almost angelic. I also love all your reasons for re-thinking . Maybe there was unusual sun-spot activity for so many of us to be less than adoring to Alan Ball and co. Sorry about you cat.

    • #30 by talktrueblood on July 20, 2010 - 9:58 pm

      Bobsgram, but this is the place for ranting! LMAO. I went on a few rants myself too like how stupid Bill is acting yet still seemingly getting so much credit for being a “hero” or something…despite the fact that Sam has been the actual hero both times during those “attempts” by Bill. Sam is a true hero and hopefully Eric will be too. I love Sam and I really think he needs to have some peace in his life and I hope he really helps Tommy too.

      I think these feelings from everyone have a lot to do with all the “i love bill” comments coming from AB and the writers on these “inside the episode” things. I agree with PTB in that respect. I never watched one again after the episode 3×03 people kept talking about Bill’s supposed “humanity.” Even as they write Bill saying that he has lost his humanity. WTF?!

      It wouldn’t piss me off so much if Bill Lovers weren’t using these interviews to back up their love for Bill…
      It is getting ridiculous because I try to tell my mom, a Bill fan who hasn’t read the books, that Bill is evil and why. HOWEVER, she keeps saying “well they didn’t have anything negative to say about him in the interviews.”
      You see what I am saying?
      That is why these interviews are making me and so many others so mad…not just the comments themselves. It justifies Bill love for some people.

  10. #31 by anna on July 20, 2010 - 9:23 pm

    I’m really sorry to hear about your cat, they become part of the family & it takes a long time to get used to them not being there. Ours was 19 when she died and we still miss her.
    Loved your analysis and the body language post too.
    Pbartteacher, I watched the interview earlier and tend to agree with you unfortunately. It’s a real shame as it could have been such a great show.

    • #32 by talktrueblood on July 20, 2010 - 10:48 pm

      thank you for the sympathy. my cat was also 19.

      I have a little faith that they are still messing with our heads as always but
      there is a time when we might be grieving for what could have been.
      I sure hope we’re all wrong and their just trying to throw us off : (

  11. #33 by anna on July 21, 2010 - 1:23 pm

    I thought American Beauty was great and Six Feet Under intelligent and well written and neither of them needed any kind of hype or shock value to draw or keep my attention. If I didn’t know that Alan Ball was involved in TB I would have stopped watching at some point during S1. Maybe they needed the publicity at the start of this season as a lot of the critics and some of the audience weren’t too impressed by S2’s last 3 episodes but the whole machine seems to have gone in to overdrive. Perhaps I should imagine the writers as hamsters stuck in a wheel of their own making, forced to go round faster and faster trying to find stuff that’s more and more shocking and twisted, constantly searching for things so that they can mess with people’s minds. I can then sit here totally chilled, watching as they become more and more frantic as they try to find a means of escape…
    Time for the eye candy!

    • #34 by Bobsgran on July 21, 2010 - 2:15 pm

      I’m taking your mantra….brain off, viking on….to heart anna. Blood pressure can’t take it anymore.

      • #35 by anna on July 21, 2010 - 2:42 pm

        Not my mantra unfortunately, someone over on SVB deserves the credit for it (and my heartfelt thanks)

    • #36 by talktrueblood on July 21, 2010 - 4:59 pm

      I like some of the shock value. It got me into it at first until I saw that it had somethiing else more to it and then I appreciated it for that.
      Unfortunately, probably a lot of their audience comes from people either interested in just in the violence and/or sex instead of appreciating the story and then finding the violence and/or sex a side benefit.
      However, the story itself has sometimes become its own mantra for shock value and that is the annoying thing sometimes.
      CH herself didn’t have a full on sex scene in every book so obviously that wasn’t one of her main ways of trying to build the story, that is why people find the shock value for its own sake disappointing sometimes.
      I still have hope and I think it is true that we can just enjoy the eye candy and the ride sometimes and try to forget the reasoning behind it all although that might be hard for people like us : ))

      • #37 by anna on July 21, 2010 - 6:14 pm

        The mantra seems to be having some strange side effects as the hamster wheel analogy is really paying dividends for me right now.
        It’s a variation on the amazing analyses you all do about each of the episodes.
        All I have to do is imagine AB and each of the writers & directors as a particular kind of hamster running round their own little agenda wheeel. This way if I’m tempted to watch any of the interviews or spoilers, or even the show itself, I have a whole new perspective on it all.
        For example I could see AB as a Shakespearian hamster, with his current references to Hamlet & revenge, running round his “hype up those who can spot the literary references” agenda wheel. If I was really tempted I could even decide which character he most reminded me of.
        The people who splice together the preview videos are running round the “press the audience’s buttons” wheel. Probably easier to deconstruct than a whole episode as their primary aim is to keep people watching.
        I think this would also work with the behind the scenes interviews too. The two writers in the behind the scenes for episode 29 were firmly stuck in the “we are so bad we are awesome” wheel with a side run to the “Bill is wonderful” one.
        Luckily I have a lot of other things I need to be spending time thinking about as this way lies madness! Or maybe this makes no sense at all and the show has already driven me crazy…

      • #38 by talktrueblood on July 21, 2010 - 6:36 pm

        I love the hamster analogy to describe the motivations of the writers and producers.
        That is the point of all the previews as well (like the cliff hangers, they more often excite than provide any meaningful push toward the plot, THOUGH they certainly sometimes can).
        There are literaray references in culture everywhere these days (in fact this whole show is based on literature, so it makes sense he would do that.) Hardly anything is purely original these days. Why not make literary references if your making references to everything else pertaining to culture and/or social and/or human issues.

        These “inside the episode” vids serve a purpose that is not any higher than the purpose of a misleading promo or cliffhanger. They play to a certain audience and push the buttons of the other.

  12. #39 by anna on July 21, 2010 - 3:00 pm

    Just went and found out who it was so I could thank them for helping to keep me sane.
    It’s dsm who came up with the mantra over on “True Blood Mythology – or, How to Redeem a Vampire”, she hums it with her eyes closed.

    • #40 by Bobsgran on July 21, 2010 - 3:31 pm

      Whoever I have to thank… THANK YOU….am humming and repeating as required. Maybe someone should make a list of coping techniques. LOL

      BTW TTB am very sorry your puss passed away. Had to put down one of mine last Thanksgiving and I still miss her.

      • #41 by talktrueblood on July 21, 2010 - 4:54 pm

        Thank you for the sympathy. I need to learn that mantra too!

  13. #42 by anna on July 21, 2010 - 7:29 pm

    Thank you for the vote of confidence. Since AB seems to hinting that he is basing Eric ‘s story on Hamlet I think I ‘m going to cast him as Claudius.

  14. #44 by anna on July 21, 2010 - 10:34 pm

    Let’s hope in the end “he is justly served”.

  15. #45 by sunnynala on July 23, 2010 - 6:19 pm

    Katya, I love how you always lay out the issues in an ep so clearly and in such an easy to understand format.

    Hopefully, BILL will be singing the blues in next weeks’ ep! lol

    • #46 by talktrueblood on July 23, 2010 - 8:06 pm

      Thank you Sunny. Rather than lay out the actions of the week, I thought it would be interesting to think of the theme around a single statement made that stuck out in my mind.

      Yeah, I really hope so too : )

  16. #47 by alfstoria on July 24, 2010 - 2:50 pm

    Oops, I think I am in the wrong blog, sorry. Is like you talking about a complete different, show! AB always has made it clear: that nobody is absolute, no at hero not a villain, and I think thanks to Allan Ball we have True Blood, I love the books, I even have them in Audio, but things are not Black and White or just Hero vs Villain how childish, don’t worry, I wont even will get back to check in replies* running out* logging out, Bye bye, keep dreaming is healthy… erasing the cookie 🙂 I am team Sookie, I know, who cares!

Leave a Reply

