Bad Relationships 101: Episode 3×08 “Night on the Sun” Analysis/Recap

No matter what, you are going to have a hard time letting go.

It’s probably not a good sign if you are cheating or thinking of cheating.

 
 

"I haven't cheated, but I wanted to."

 
Maybe it’s not a good sign if everybody around you is trying to warn you.
 

Sometimes a great beginning doesn’t mean a great future if it means a future at all.

It goes without saying but you need to recognize abusiveness/ neglect when it happens.

There are always better options. There is always a way out.

Sex doesn’t solve your problems or make you forget them.

 

the abusiveness continues

WHAT is the difference between this:

and this?

absolutely NOTHING.

Because of the “Trouble (3×05),” people were “Singing the Blues (3×06) and everything was “hitting the ground (3×07).” The lows reached when things were “hitting the ground (3×07)” were obvious during the “Night on the Sun (3×08)” and because of this “Everything is Broken(3×09)” or it will be.

  1. #1 by Missy on August 9, 2010 - 7:53 pm

    You get right to the point on this TTB 🙂 This episode was whole lot of messy relationship f*ck ups!!
    Bill and his relationship with Jessica was sad 😦 He was ready to release a baby vamp, about a month old who can’t control her urges! Then Bill taught her how to fight werewolves but left her to defend herself against the were that fallowed her, when he went inside to Sookie (who was in no danger then) to have angry, choking, bloodlust sex! Sookie has become a shadow of who she was really, where is that spunky, funny, compassionate woman we met in the beginning of season 1? That is what disfunctional relationship can do to you, we all have experianced it at one point! Heres’s just hoping that she grows a braincell and listens to the people around her. Tara had the best lines in the episode and it explained every thing so well:

    You know what you sound like? One of those sad country songs about dumb bitches who let their men cheat and beat on them all for the sake of ‘true love’. Let me tell you something: At the end of those songs, the dumb bitches always end up dead.

    Tara always speaks the truth!

    Eric on his vengeance path is another way to distruction like Sookies! He is consumed with his revenge like Sookie is consumed with her disfunctional love.
    He risked everything to kill Talbot, which I don’t think was his intention yet, but a way to get Russell away from Sookie. He really behaved impulsively just then for the first time I believe. What will his next move be?

    • #2 by talktrueblood on August 9, 2010 - 8:31 pm

      F*ck ups is an understatement! haha

      Bill must be cold to choose sex over saving his child’s undead life. He taught Jessica to fight because he basically wanted to USE HER to fight the werewolves, not because he cared whether or not she came out in tact against them.

      Oh yes, I loved that comment by Tara and the comment about bill being a “mean rattlesnake!” Brilliant!
      Tara also had no qualms calling Sookie a “dumb bitch” if she goes back to Bill, which I loved.

      I loved your parallel between Eric’s vengeance and Sookie’s destructive relationship, so true! I certainly hope that those who think Eric did it partly to save Sookie are correct about that because it wouldn’t make sense any other way and Eric is a master “chess player” as evidenced by his defeat of Talbot in a game, which I think was rather symbolic foreshadowing. I wonder how he
      will handle that too since so obviously Eric usually has his moves planned out.

      • #3 by Christine A on August 10, 2010 - 12:42 am

        Brilliant….and of course I keyed in to the part about Eric and his chess moves – the look on his face, “Checkmate”. That spoke volumes without words.

        I’m so hoping Missy is right about Eric staking to save Sookie but Eric was going to kill Talbot in the first place to get back at RE so it doesn’t settle completely with me. There are SO many chess games being played right now its a bit unnerving but fun. 🙂

      • #4 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 1:00 am

        I loved the checkmate scene! It really stuck out to me as well. Maybe Eric makes multiple plays with one move.

    • #5 by Osterby on August 10, 2010 - 12:22 am

      Maybe you don’t know the real Bill…..Tara, love her!!

      • #6 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 12:39 am

        Oh yeah, no truer words said!

  2. #7 by YASHIRA on August 9, 2010 - 9:28 pm

    Well… I just finished watching the episode last night where I start, first, the Talbot and Eric scenes did not seem as disturbing as I thought it would, and I loved it when he was killed! second, it is amazing how Eric manages to try to protect Sookie from a distance (even though it means nothing to him, Eric you’re a liar! LOL), because Eric took a risk by relying on Hadley to give that message to Sookie, which said “you’re in danger, do not trust Bill,” of course as Sookie has a single neuron, did not believe anything he told Hadley and the first thing did was to reconcile with Bill and have a scene more than passionate sex, romance or true love what I got was disgusting! I want to know if the sex scenes of Sookie and Eric in season 4 (if any make it clear!) will be so intense, I do not think so … another thing I liked was that Tara has already been given account of the piece of shit that Bill is, and Sookie is still just as blind! and is amazing !! the people in several sites still believe that Eric was going to risk relying on Hadley thus only because of its covenient! please! Hadley opens his mouth, she tells to Russell that Eric warned Sookie about the attack and Russel kill Eric!

    • #8 by talktrueblood on August 9, 2010 - 10:05 pm

      I agree. the Eric and Talbot thing was a little over hyped.
      Eric is always the silent hero and rarely gets credit, unfortunately.
      I agree that Eric risked a lot getting Hadley to pass on that message for him!
      I don’t really understand what the point of that Bill and Sookie scene was other than ratings and to shock the audience. I think we will get some passionate scenes between Eric and Sookie eventually though. I don’t know if Bill and Sookie will be back together, together especially if Sookie talks to Hadley more in the next episode.
      I cannot wait till Tara can recover and give Sookie the whole truth.
      Eric probably would have told her himself if it was possible.

      • #9 by Christine A on August 10, 2010 - 12:47 am

        The disarray leading up to Bill and Sookies sex scene also spoke volumes. The camera followed a path of destruction and chaos. The writing is on the wall. Nothing romantic about it but at the same time in death situations that kind of sex occurs out of desperation. I wonder how we’d feel if it was Sookie and Eric. The problem with it being Sookie and Bill is that we know Bill is a lying, self centered deviant.

      • #10 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 12:55 am

        Oh yeah, the metaphorical destruction was also very telling.
        The choking was just about the worst part…the mutal choking.
        If it was Sookie and Eric, I think I would be mad.
        True true about Bill.

    • #11 by Osterby on August 10, 2010 - 1:09 am

      I know, I know….slightly off topic, but did you happen to notice AS’s body in that sex scene with Talbot???? A 6’4′ man has to work really hard in the gym to get that kind of definition in his body…My ex is 6’3″ and equally cut.

      • #12 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 1:15 am

        I bet AS and JM never leave the gym unless they are filming or drinking in AS’s case..LMAO

  3. #13 by Osterby on August 10, 2010 - 12:20 am

    I just keep reminding myself that in the first few books Sookie didn’t realize just how much Eric did for her. TB Sookie seems to be no diffferent.
    The Sex scene with Sookie and Bill reminds me of the book scene when Bill went to Sookie’s house and raped her in her livingroom…was it after they broke up after Club Dead.
    How sad was the ‘Relationship’ photo album??? She looked like she was expecting there to be pages of pictures….I think the blank pages speak volumes of her relationship with Bill. One big fat blank!!!

    • #14 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 12:36 am

      That is soooo true Osterby!
      That living room scene makes sense…they never had sex after Club Dead I don’t think…

      I thought that photo album was VERY SYMBOLIC! It was very cheesey and she got a huge one like she expected them to be together forever…
      And it’s all blank…no future sweetie

    • #15 by Missy on August 10, 2010 - 10:56 am

      I don’t remember that from the books when was this? Raped her in her livingroom?

      • #16 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 3:33 pm

        I dont think it was really rape but he kinda jumped her…I think…I would have to look back on that…didn’t read DUD or LDID much for obvious reason..hah

      • #17 by Osterby on August 11, 2010 - 12:35 am

        As I unlocked the front door, Bill came out of the darkness. Without a word, he grabbed my arm and turned me to him, and then he kissed me. In a minute we were pressed against the door with his body moving rhythmically against mine. I reached one hand behind myself to fumble with the lock, and the key finally turned. We stumbled into the house, and he turned me to face the couch. I gripped it with my hands and, just as I’d imagined, he pulled down my pants, and then he was in me.
        I made a hoarse noise I’d never heard come from my throat before. Bill was making noises equally as primitive. I didn’t think I could form a word. His hands were under my sweater, and my bra was in two pieces. He was relentless. I almost collapsed after the first time I came. “No,” he growled when I was flagging, and he kept pounding. Then he increased the pace until I was almost sobbing,
        and then my sweater tore, and his teeth found my shoulder. He made a deep, awful sound, and then, after long seconds, it was over.
        I was panting as if I’d run a mile, and he was shivering, too. Without bothering to refasten his clothing, he turned me around to face him, and he bent his head to my shoulder again to lick the little wound. When it had stopped bleeding and begun healing, he took off everything I had on, very slowly. He cleaned me below; he kissed me above.
        “You smell like him” was the only thing he said. He proceeded to erase that smell and replace it with his own.
        Then we were in the bedroom, and I had a moment to be glad I’d changed the sheets that morning before he bent his mouth to mine again.
        If I’d had doubts up until then, I had them no longer. He was not sleeping with Portia Bellefleur. I didn’t know what he was up to, but he did not have a true relationship with her. He slid his arms underneath me and held me to him as tightly as possible; he nuzzled my neck, kneaded my hips, ran his fingers down my thighs, and kissed the backs of my knees. He bathed in me. “Spread your legs for me, Sookie,” he whispered, in his cold dark voice, and I did. He was ready again, and he was rough with it, as if he were trying to prove something.
        “Be sweet,” I said, the first time I had spoken.
        “I can’t. It’s been too long, next time I’ll be sweet, I swear,” he said, running his tongue down the line of my jaw. His fangs grazed my neck. Fangs, tongue, mouth, fingers, manhood; it was like being made love to by the Tasmanian Devil. He was everywhere, and everywhere in a hurry.
        When he collapsed on top of me, I was exhausted. He shifted to lie by my side, one leg draped over mine, one arm across my chest. He might as well have gotten out a branding iron and had done with it, but it wouldn’t have been as much fun for me.
        “Are you okay?” he mumbled.
        “Except for having run into a brick wall a few times,” I said indistinctly.
        Living Dead in Dallas

      • #18 by talktrueblood on August 11, 2010 - 3:57 am

        Yeah, definitely disturbing. I remember them discussing this scene over on SVB and I definitely see how this contrasts with just about every scene where Eric made love to her. I could never picture Eric doing something like this. This seems like the same scene we just saw last week except it wasn’t one-sided.

        Thank you Osterby!

      • #19 by Missy on August 11, 2010 - 6:52 am

        Oh wow Osterby 😦 That was not pretty! This really was somekind of rape… it says nothing about her getting pleasure from this! It’s like being pounded by a rock, the way he was going at her!!
        And the scene in last episode was something like this, though she took control more, it was full of domination, possessiveness, rage, jealousy… but on both sides.

      • #20 by talktrueblood on August 11, 2010 - 7:34 am

        she was basically saying that she tolerated it because it was too difficult to fight and it was only slightly more pleasurable than being branded…hmmmm

      • #21 by Osterby on August 11, 2010 - 10:39 pm

        Right? When you are with your first lover…do you know any better? Poor book Sookie….she asked Bill to be sweet…I read he didn’t, wouldn’t, couldn’t. Contrast the book scene with the TB scene…with her level of sexual experience and the amount of Bill’s blood that she has had, what does she have to base a normal healthy sexual experience on??

  4. #22 by Osterby on August 10, 2010 - 12:42 am

    I also loved Eric playing literal chess….checkmate….how appropriate. There is no doubt in my mind that he will eventually be portrayed on TB as a master player of the game called vampire politics. AB would never pass that up. He always had a plan B or even plan C in the books. Only 4 eps left till next June:(

    • #23 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 12:46 am

      I am so sad about that but I guess we will spend the off time randomly theorizing about next season off and on haha

      • #24 by Osterby on August 10, 2010 - 12:56 am

        Have you read Death’s Excellent Vacation yet? There is also another book with a short story with HPP and Dead Letters….Oh, I think we will most certainly find a way to keep ourselves busy…lmao
        I wonder who much the Jason/Chystal story line will forshadow the AE/Sookie storyline next season…Jason/Sookie, Chrystal/EA??

      • #25 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 1:10 am

        No, actually I haven’t read that….ahhh. I haven’t read a lot of the short stories but I should.
        Oh yeah. I doubt the AP, Sunny, and I will stop theorizing over the summer haha

  5. #26 by Leah Broudy on August 10, 2010 - 1:13 am

    I love what you said about Eric having more than one move. I never thought of that! He is brilliant.

    • #27 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 2:10 am

      With chess you must think several steps ahead and that describes Eric perfectly.

      • #28 by Missy on August 10, 2010 - 10:59 am

        Yes he always has plan B or C or D… I’m wondering what he has in store now? After killing Talbot!

      • #29 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 3:35 pm

        I wonder if he truly had no plan there…and if he didn’t he is smart enough to come up with a temporaray one or atleast Pam will…haha : )

  6. #30 by Osterby on August 10, 2010 - 2:05 am

    I would say you could get by with only reading ‘One Word Answer’. http://www.4shared.com/document/66tUEOag/55_-_One_Word_Answer_Bite.htm
    Here’s a link….as Bobsgran would say…I’m going to ground….lmao

    • #31 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 2:08 am

      Goodnight! thank you!

      • #32 by Bobsgran on August 10, 2010 - 4:19 pm

        Love this TTB. Haven’t been too active lately. Been on gramma duty. Also I think I’m becoming slightly obsessed about who/what is Bill. But that’s another story. Even if I’m not participating, I am reading and loving all the opinions.

      • #33 by talktrueblood on August 10, 2010 - 4:23 pm

        Thank you for the kind words.
        I understand.
        I am also very confused as to who/what Bill is!

  7. #34 by Sarah on August 10, 2010 - 9:10 pm

    I find it rather disturbing that some people called the Bill/Sookie sex “rough sex”. I know friends who are into rough sex and/or BDSM but they all told me that it is a huge difference and I believe them: Rough sex does not have the aim to hurt a person it is more about fiction and fantasy than about reality. Bill and Sookie on the other hand have real issues. They feel real hate and anger and only transcended this into sex. Did anyone mention the path of destruction that was made in Sookie´s room? We saw elements of distruction (a knive, a scissor) and a broken doll house that in my opinion represented Sookie´s lost innocence. I believe that the following events will force Sookie to become an adult. The situation might be a catastrophe but the consequences can be good for her and force her to become a woman.

    • #35 by Missy on August 10, 2010 - 10:47 pm

      Yes I did notice the destruction leading to this angry, bitter, choking sex… The whole ‘crime scene’ was scattered with remenance of the dollhouse, a broken door, scissors, knife, shotgun… they were covered in blood! And the whole distruction events that lead to this scene; the brakeup at the hospital, the attacks from the weres and Russell, the draining, the Sookie file that she hasn’t yet questioned Bill about, the edict, the cheating with Lorena and the nasty brakeup call from Bill.
      I think that now is Sookies time to grow up!
      ‘The situation might be a catastrophe but the consequences can be good for her and force her to become a woman.’ This I think is absoloutly right Sarah! She has hit her lowest point in her life… now is her time to become an adult and take responsibility for her actions.

      • #36 by talktrueblood on August 11, 2010 - 3:24 am

        Maybe Sookie really is “blood thirsty” as Eric said in the dream.
        Hopefully when Sookie is shocked by her behavior during that sex and that “love at first sight” doesn’t necessarily mean a stable, lifelong relationship,
        she will come to realize now is the time to grow up!

    • #37 by talktrueblood on August 11, 2010 - 3:20 am

      I totally agree with you Sarah.
      Bill and Sookie’s real emotions and hate definitely came through and Sookie was showing him her disdain for what happened by choking him.
      The path of destruction was very symbolic of not only their relationship but Sookie’s transformation.
      Very nice analysis.

Leave a Reply

