“See Another Side” – Episode 3×09 “Everything is Broken” Analysis/Recap

Come see Eric Northman’s guilty/scared side:

Come see Nan Flanagan’s badass, powerful, s.w.a.t team, authority ridden side:

Come see Russell Edgington as the emotional/grieving nut job:

Come see the Bill/Sookie relationship going down the drain:

Come see a Sookie Stackhouse  actually suspicious of Bill Compton:

Come see Eric Northman as a stand-up/brave/honest hero:

Come see a Tara Thornton willing to reach out to others for support/help:

Come see a Lafayette happy and in love:

Come see Hadley as the desperate mother:

Come see Sookie Stackhouse’s motherly side:

Come see Arlene willing to open up and be totally honest with someone:

Come see a Ruby Jean with a new viewpoint/ not as crazy sounding:

''I'll be damned, maybe God loves fags'' (loves anyone who is happy/true to themselves)

Come see a Bill Compton who is suddenly able to access fairyland or Sookie’s word/mind and attacks Claudine (probably because of her Fairy Blood and/or because he doesn’t need to hide his mask for Sookie. Claudine even initially assumes that Bill Compton killed Sookie if he was able to drink enough of her blood to access it (in a way he did):

Come see the Eric Northman that is prepared to die/meet his final death/give up:

Come see a Pam who is emotional/desperate (in the same position Eric was in with Godric):

Come see a Jason suddenly smart enough to scheme/strategize:

Come see ruthless Sam, the street fighter/violent man-shifter:

Come meet a Hoyt that is willing to use a girl in order to make Jessica jealous and to flirt with Jessica while he has another date in the other room (gaining confidence/ a dark side):

Come meet Nan Flanagan, the ultimate hypocrite:

Come meet the true pychopathic, sadistic face of Russell Edgington,  ready to start war (which he himself claimed was barbaric and he was above):

Ok, Eric REALLY NEEDS TO stop this guy! Because “Everything is Broken (3×09)”..especially now!

Next Week, the audience and possibly the characters will be thinking “I Smell a Rat (3×10).”
Could that be Bill, Yvetta, or both, or someone else or multiple people/supes?

 

,

  1. #1 by Christine A on August 17, 2010 - 10:43 pm

    This was really good. I was hyperventilating while reading and shed a tiny tear over Pam/Eric and his thought that “it’s over now”.

    Funny how the only RAT who really is a rat is still in hiding and not actually coming forward with his dastardly deeds. Nan is shown as a hypocrite, Russell was so blatant that what can you say? Hoyt is honest. Jason finally uses his balls for something else and it actually turns out good. Tara stands firm. Sam has HAD IT! Sookie still seems blind and;

    Bill does his usual sidestepping of Sookie’s very direct questions while having a holier than though look on his face AND body language and then blames Eric! Yea, I smell a rat too.

    • #2 by talktrueblood on August 17, 2010 - 11:01 pm

      I noticed the similarities between the Godric scene and the Pam scene almost right away! I am sure Eric is more understanding than ever.

      That is what makes him such a rat, even Arlene is coming forward later it seems. Atleast these people are being honest (well, except Nan).
      All wonderful observations. It will be entertaining to see Sam’s dark side too. It was great to see Tara opening herself up. Jason and Sookie both need to use their “balls” for something good. haha
      Hoyt needs to get honest with Summer asap and should have been from the get-go but he too nice to confront I guess.

      • #3 by shecantbehave on August 24, 2010 - 6:09 pm

        HOLD ON THERE! did you just call Eric a rat?!

  2. #4 by Missy on August 17, 2010 - 11:09 pm

    Oh me likie!
    Eric was def scared and guilty! He knew he had done something irrational, which is not his way at all. I’m almost sure after seeing this episode that Eric killed Talbot that night to save Sookie… of course he would have killed him anyway later, but with more thought behind it. He knows he has now risked his life and Pam. He’s feeling guilty for that.
    I loved Eric at the Authority meeting. He was truthful, told no lies, upfront with every detail!
    Eric is really being put through the wringer… this was his 3 day awake in a row 😦 All for his child and Sookie… When will he crack? He almost did in ‘Everything is Broken’. I really love Eric and Pams relationship, it’s as close as Godrics and Erics relationship. It was heartbreaking to watch Pam brake down.

    Russell totally lost it now and we can expect big war between the humans and vampires. I don’t know how Eric will stop him, but he needs to undo what he started, although I’m sure this would have happened eventually, Russell is just that power crazy.

    Sookie for the first time didn’t seem to believe Bill totally when he talked about the file being bc of Eric. There were so many lying and embarrassed facial expressions on Bills face. Sookie didn’t put up an outrageous look and said ‘I’ll kill Eric’!
    The shower scene was nausiating! I felt robbed 😦 I wasn’t surprised at the sex, but the shower is for S/E!! I know AB is big on showers and baths for his characters on TB, so if there will be a shower scene between E/S it better be hotter! Who am I kidding, any shower scene would be hotter than that scene *shudder* 😉
    Bill Compton in fairyland! Now we probably know what the ultimate vampire dream is! All you can eat buffet in Fairyland. I don’t believe that Claudine told Bill about who Sookie is… I think he knew himself or figured out! Why would she trust Bill for that info? She doesn’t trust him, she thought he had killed Sookie, she knows he drank enough (a lot) of her blood/light to be able to cross into the fairyworld, she knows that it’s the blood he loves not Sookie.

    Finally Tara got herself some help, about time, after all she’s been through her entire life! I was not sad to see Franklin go. I liked him, but he had to die, so Tara could go on.

    It was so good to see Laffy happy 🙂 I really hope that Jesus is not bad news! Laffys mother is coming around too, very good for him. I hope he will have better relationship with her.
    I’m wondering though. Now Eric is out of the V business, when/how will Laffy get that news?

    I hope we’ll see more of Hadley and Hunter. I liked how Sookie handled that situation, she was actually likable there 🙂

    Arlene is getting herself in trouble with that new waitress!

    Jason showed that he can think rationally in this episode. The relationship with Christal mirrored that of Eric and Sookie. Jason warned Chrystal to not go back with her father and to her family, who had used and terrorised her in the past.

    Def loved Jessica 🙂 She tried to do the right thing, and she did good! No glamour, she was polite and didn’t retaliate.

    The best beginning and the best ending of an episode of TB 😀

    • #5 by talktrueblood on August 18, 2010 - 12:24 am

      hhh thank you!
      he is dealing with the conscience that Bill is clearly lacking. ugh.
      Anyway, Eric is very scared but he would never let that show with anyone but Pam and maybe Sookie.

      I enjoyed Franklin’s character but I love Tara enough to know he definately needed to go.
      Much like I enjoy Russell’s character but I want to see Eric do him in.

      Maybe Eric gets burned up even more due to his lack of sleep later on. 😦
      I think he is a little delirious and of couse he might not hesitate to spill his guts in
      such a weakened state. I was so sad to see him like that but I know the memories of that plus knowing that Sookie will help him after he gets the amnesia, will make him a stronger individual/vampire.

      I agree this would have happened eventually but Eric will not only right his wrong by taking him out, he will be a hero too by taking Russell out.

      Sookie actually didn’t believe that Eric was responsible…and she knows that is very bad regardless. Glad to see she didn’t forget about the file. I have to update the Bill body language and Bill/Sookie body language. But I want to do an Eric body language too!
      I close my eyes too! I did!

      I wonder why Claudine even stopped to listen to him. She is probably desperate for Sookie.

      I think Jesus may not be up to good even though he definitely seems that way.
      Maybe Jesus will fight the evil around him instead of being it or indirectly involved with the evil, whether he wants it or not.

      I liked Sookie in the Hunter situation too. Arlene is definitely getting herself into trouble. The Jason/Eric doppelganger is a real thing. Plus Eric will be in love with Sookie next season and rational/brave…trying
      to protect her from Bill and not understanding why she has sympathy for him.

      I was proud of Jessica too.

      I think this is the best episode so far, but I am attached the Godric episode ending in 2×09 but I think that the next episode might be my favorite if we get any romantic e/s.

  3. #6 by Sarah on August 17, 2010 - 11:12 pm

    I have to admit that I checked during the day in all of my breaks your site to see if you already posted your review 🙂
    To me all people developed/changed in this ep., something you showed in an intriguing way in your post. For some it was a good thing (Tara able to open herself, Arlene admitting her feelings, Sookie using her brain, Eric geting new allies/strengthening his bond with Pam) for some it was bad (Sam losing control, Crystal not able to entirely leave her abusive family, RE losing his mind and so on).
    Over at Vikins Vixen blog I wrote my impression of the episode and I will simply copy it:

    I loved the Eric-Pam scenes. Their relationship is so deep and strong. only compare it with the one of Jessica/Bill. I am intrigued by the suggestion in the preview that Pam will recommend to use Sookie as pawn in the war with RE. What do you think about this?
    The shower scene was not as disturbing as I thought. To me it was not about love or lust but dealed with the suppression of guilt. I assumed the symbolic of washing the guilt away with water (Pontius Pilatus, Macbeth, anyone?) was made rather clear.
    Sookie finally starts questioning things unfortunately she is still very dumb. Honestly, if Bill only wanted information to protect her from Eric why a) did he not ask her because she has more information than every newspaper could provide about her family b) did we see the original edition of the newspapers and not printed copies from a morgue?
    Concerning Crystal/ Jason: I never understood the hate this storyline receives. Yes, Jason is dumb but I love Crystal. Her shy and bewildered smile when Jason hold her in his arms was sweet and also heart breaking. Obviously, her fiancé never showed her any love or respect. She is the classical abused victim but she still has hope and can embrace life to a certain extent. I really hope that she can leave the vicious circle of violence and dependance her family created.
    At the moment I really love Tara. In the last eps she was like I always wanted Sookie to be. Even when Franklin attempted to kill her she was not a victim but a strong woman who did not allow him to victimize her.Visiting a self help group is also a very good idea. I wonder about the nature of Holly. Sure, she is a witch but what can we make of her words to Arlene that there are “other possibilities” then an abortion? By the way, do you also think that Arlene is a rather weak character? I guess that she wants to lose the baby in order to kill the last connection to René. Because her “genetic-determination-to-become-a-serial-killer” argument is very weak and to me only a subconscious way of declining the baby.

    • #7 by talktrueblood on August 18, 2010 - 12:41 am

      Im flattered Sarah 🙂
      and thank you

      The Pam/Eric scene was my favorite but that is to be expected. haha.
      I think it shows that she is willing to do anything save Eric, much
      in the same way that Eric was willing to do anything to save Godric.
      Eric of course will let his emotions get the better of him in regards to
      Sookie (good for the e/s story, bad for him and pam) which has been a theme
      for him this season.

      That was dumb not to think about the age of the documents but when Bill finally
      spills, Eric will have the upper hand unless he can redeem himself in some way
      and his fall is harder than in the books. By the time he can redeem himself,
      she will already be in love with Eric, which is Bill’s real tragedy for this show I think.ugh. I couldn’t care less by that is the drama AB is going for. The Eric fans will be happy and the Bill fans will have their love story tragedy…so that is my thought.

      I just think Arlene is feeling hopeless and overwhelmed..easy opening for a new cult member.

  4. #8 by Osterby on August 18, 2010 - 12:18 am

    Oh Sarah….if only Sookie would ask herself your questions…yes, I too noticed the ‘origional’ paper quality of the file and the scrap book. Bill’s been hanging around Bon Temps researching Sookie’s family for a long time…that’s my theory and I’m sticking to it!!!

  5. #9 by Ella on August 18, 2010 - 1:31 am

    Great post TTB. I love how TB is exploring the Maker/Child relationships in addition to the regular love story. We really get to see all the sides of the great Viking, last season as a “Child”, and this season as a “Maker”. The depth of his character is amazing to me, and Alexander Skarsgard is excellent at playing him. I love it.
    I’m hoping the blood going down the drain is symbolic of the B/S relationship going down the drain.

    • #10 by talktrueblood on August 18, 2010 - 4:21 pm

      Speaking of maker/child relationships, I am working on a post on that now…as requested

  6. #11 by Chris on August 19, 2010 - 4:59 pm

    Thank you for writing this blog. I’ve been playing catchup over the last month watching the entire series and reading the books. Finding your blog and a couple others has enhanced my viewing experience tenfold. Thank you.

    In the picture of Hadley getting Hunter to introduce him to Sookie, it was mentioned elsewhere that initially the blurred figure is thought to be Sookie – do you think it was Eric? Maybe this whole scenario was passed onto Sookie through Eric’s mind? The blurred figure appears to have a black “tank” top and brownish hair – the same attire Eric is wearing in Fangtasia. Also the caption above one fish tank says, “Color change” and the other “Camouflage.” Sookie is wearing a white cami so it absolutely isn’t her. I don’t remember what Bill was wearing when he showed up at Jason’s house but I don’t remember it being a black tank. I would love to hear your thoughts.

    • #12 by talktrueblood on August 20, 2010 - 2:28 am

      Thank you for the compliment.

      are you talking about the photo Sunnynala posted? I don’t know if I know what you are talking about exactly but i would be happy to give you my opinion once I am sure what photo u are referring to

      • #13 by Chris on August 20, 2010 - 8:26 pm

        My bad – it’s Sookie – not any mystery person. I just realized she is carrying a black purse on her left shoulder. I will go back to just reading the blogs and leave the clue finding to the experts! 🙂

  7. #14 by Chris on August 19, 2010 - 5:30 pm

    I forgot to add one more part of that same snapshot. The sign that is titled, “Sea Anemone.” Here’s a link to a description that I googled: http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/invertebrates/seaanemone/Seaanemoneprintout.shtml
    I don’t know how to attach links so I don’t know if it will show or not. If not, you can find (if you think it is beneficial) at EnchantedLearning dot com.

    Also I’m reminded that Sookie could “smell the ocean” in Eric’s daydream and “knew he played by the North Sea as a child.” Do you think this is a clue as to what she is and maybe Eric is trying to tell her? (Water Fae?)

    I’m not any good at understanding the clues but I really enjoy reading everyone else’s brilliant ideas.

    • #15 by talktrueblood on August 20, 2010 - 2:44 am

      That could have also been suggested by the aquariam that they went to itself, especially because the scene involved Hunter and a discussion of why they want Sookie.
      Oh yes, I think the north sea comment might have meant something more in relation to Sookie being a water fairy…maybe I could try to put together all the evidence Sookie might be a water fairy into one blog…assuming they don’t reveal that in the next episode…
      unless this is all connected to the evil water fairies…but why say that the water didn’t kill her parents in that case?

  8. #16 by Chris on August 19, 2010 - 6:36 pm

    Promise – last one for now…

    Could the Sea Anemone be a description of QSA (water fae) since it is described as predatory? (QSA’s day room also had a pool in it.) Maybe Eric was warning Sookie that QSA already knows (“she knows, she knows”) about Hunter and is looking for him.

Leave a Reply

