Body Language of the **NEW True Blood Entertainment Weekly Covers**

Thank you new reader   @b_azinga   for the suggestion! This is dedicated to you!

Entertainment Weekly, as many of you may already know, released three different covers seemingly so that fans could pick up their favorite couple from the news stands (Sookie with Eric, Bill, or Alcide). BUT there seems to be a lot more to the covers than that and maybe Entertainment Weekly is subtly inserting their own insight into the love triangle  square!………………

First of all, American Gothic by Grant Wood is typically interpreted as a painting that is meant to be ‘a critical depiction of American Rural Life,’ which connects with part of the nature of the show “True Blood”:

NOW for the Body Language of the Covers:

Alright, Sookie looks pretty comfortable with Alcide and she trusts him even to look head and stand pretty close to him. She stands pretty even with him (almost considering him her equal) and Alcide’s slanted eyebrows indicate his seriousness about protecting her. Her jaw line is even and her head is slightly tilted to the side (pointing toward him) which indicates her conciously willingness to get closer to him.

But, Sookie STANDS EVEN CLOSER TO ERIC! Her breast is even touching his arm (ha ha). Therefore, Sookie is even more comfortable with Eric than Alcide and Eric shows his dominance and his protective nature by standing in front of her (of course, the exposed fangs indicates his domination as well as his seriousness about protecting her as we know about vampires on True Blood). Her jaw line is also even and her head is also slightly tilted to the side (pointing toward Eric as well), which indicates her conscious willingness to get closer to him as well.

 

Wow, Look at Sookie’s face (it’s completely different from the other two pictures of course). Her head is not slightly pointed toward him like it is in the other pictures and her jaw line is more raised and stiffer which indicates her conscious willingness to get away from Bill as well as her fear about him. She also indicates her lack of trust in Bill by giving him a hard stare in order to watch him closely, rather than looking ahead. This looks pretty bad for Bill to me. Bill stands slightly in front of Sookie to show his dominance and the vampire face show’s his seriousness about protecting her of course but Sookie is clearly not comfortable with Bill having this role in her life right now…….

……SOOOO….

I think Entertainment Weekly has already picked their list of Best to Worst Suitors for Sookie (even if it appears they are simply giving the readers options for their favorite couple (as Pro-Bill sites would have you believe):

1. Eric

2. Alcide

3. Bill

  1. #1 by NG on June 23, 2011 - 8:20 pm

    I wholeheartedly agree.

    • #2 by Kat on June 23, 2011 - 9:52 pm

      Thank you for reading! I mean cmon….it was so obvious. If I was a Bill fan, I would be pissed and not in denial by saying “oh they just wanted to give me a chance to get a Bill cover.”

  2. #3 by znb on June 23, 2011 - 8:44 pm

    can i get an amen!?! i so agree

    • #4 by Kat on June 23, 2011 - 9:57 pm

      HAHA AMEN!…………..Thank you for reading and agreeing 🙂

  3. #5 by Ethan Ralph on June 23, 2011 - 10:08 pm

    Ha, yes her face is totally different in the Bill pic…its striking because in the first two she gives off basically the same look, although her head is tilted more in the Alcide pic.

    • #6 by Kat on June 23, 2011 - 11:50 pm

      yes, it wouldnt have stood out as much if she had a different look in every pic (although the pic of Bill still would have stood out to me, just not as much).

  4. #7 by Felicia Abril on June 24, 2011 - 1:06 am

    It doesn’t take a genius to know why she’s featured differently with Bill…hello!!!! She’s angry at him because of what happened between them at the end of season 3. And of course her rebound guys are Eric and Alcide……but of course things can change hehehhe….

    • #8 by Kat on June 24, 2011 - 10:16 am

      Well yeah but I think it was definitely worth exploring if I am known for my body language analysis…although we all know she’s mad at Bill.

      Yeah I think they will be but they will evolve as well.

  5. #9 by b_azinga on June 24, 2011 - 3:51 am

    Oh wow, you even dedicated it to me. Awwww. Thank you!! 🙂 Any fellow TrueBlood crazies wanna add me on Twitter, go ahead. 😉

    Absolutely agree with your analysis! In the pic with Eric it looks like she’s really “standing by her man”, backing him up. They are a team. With Alcide i’d say she’s comfortable but also a little more distanced, with that raised brow giving her a slightly sceptical look. And that look she’s giving Bill… wow, she looks downright mistrustful to me. Very interesting.

    I really wonder who decided to put them in the pics like this. EW, the actors or maybe AB himself? Mmmmh.

    Only 2 more days til the premiere. Aaaah! #thewaitisalmostover 😉

    • #10 by Kat on June 24, 2011 - 10:20 am

      Oh your welcome…I thought it was a wonderful idea.

      I like your analysis of the eyebrow.

      I was definitely wondering that myself but it has a clear meaning any of those ways of course!

      YAY!

  6. #11 by Anonymous on June 24, 2011 - 9:51 am

    YOU guys are so full crap LOL Way too much time on you hands LOL

    • #12 by Kat on June 24, 2011 - 10:25 am

      Sounds like a Bill fan or someone that actually isn’t a fanatic of True Blood…so why would they be here anyway?
      I am known for my body language anaylsis (which is relevant because when I was doing theatre it was discussed with me so that I would convey certain messages) and obviously this means something or they wouldn’t have made it so obvious for everyone to see.

      I actually have a full life….I have a job, I date, and I go to college but I STILL make time for my blogging passion…
      you obviously have too much time on your hands to come to my blog and pass judgement on me when you don’t know me except for one article you read.
      Have a great day 🙂

  7. #13 by Anonymous on June 24, 2011 - 11:18 am

    Whoever wrote message #11 makes me laugh. I mean seriously, what’s a bigger waste of time, talking about something that interests you or taking the time to comment on something you “supposedly” have no interest in? I have no interest in sports, strangely I have never once gone into a sports forum. Want to guess why? 😛

    • #14 by Kat on June 24, 2011 - 5:52 pm

      I could have deleted that comment but I left it open for all to see so I could respond openly.

      Yes, I have a full life and I think I bring something to the table when talking about the show I love so I do it.
      Yes, being a troll is a lot more of a waste then making a blog about the show you love.

  8. #15 by Caroline on June 27, 2011 - 11:33 pm

    I received the Eric cover so yay on that. I noticed the differences in the bill cover immediately-she straight up doesn’t trust him.

  9. #16 by Chris Morris on July 7, 2011 - 1:43 am

    Heres my opinion… Since I feel this wont be the last season Sookie will end up with Alcide, (only because Its been two episodes Into the second season and he hasnt showed up and alan ball wouldnt just remove Alcide) but In the end Sookie will either be with Bill, or get turned into a vampire by Eric.. Take that how you will lol

    …….Chris…[8x

    • #17 by Kat on July 7, 2011 - 5:28 pm

      You really think so? I heard recently that Alan Ball said that fairies cannot be turned. If she is more fairy than human, it is quite possible that Sookie cannot be turned either. I dont think either one of them would turn Sookie against her will and I feel Sookie may become too entrenched in vampire politics to date someone that isn’t a vampire, shell need vampire protection. Shell end up with Eric because shell need to be with a vampire and she doesn’t trust Bill and will grow to love Eric more.

      • #18 by Lidia on July 8, 2011 - 7:43 am

        Kat, I am not sure she’ll end up with Eric. She always defends Bill and justify him even though he hurt her so much. It looks like she doesn’t believe that she deserves
        respect and love. But I’d prefer she ends up with Alcide then with Bill.

      • #19 by Kat on July 8, 2011 - 12:17 pm

        Eric is there to make sure that she feels she deserves that love and respect. That is what Eric wants to instill in her. He’s not saying “she’s better than that” just to say that she’s better than human, he’s also trying to implant in her mind that she’s better than what Bill was giving her and better than what Alcide can give her as well (saying she’s worthy of what he can give her- not just respect and TRUE love, but also he can treat her like a queen and upgrade her protection status).

        Unfortunately, Alcide cannot protect her.

      • #20 by TruFan on July 8, 2011 - 10:14 am

        Lidia, I’m not so sure she’s defending Bill as much as she is defending the fact she was in love with him. Haven’t you ever had a relationship that went sour and felt duped? Even when you KNOW your friends were right he was a douche the whole time, it does hurt to hear it. When you feel your judgement is being attacked, sometimes you become defensive so automatically you don’t even realize how silly you’re being.

        Well, that’s my take on it anyway.

      • #21 by Kat on July 8, 2011 - 12:23 pm

        Exactly. That’s how it goes. Nobody wants to believe they shouldn’t love someone that they loved or they were “totally fooled,” even though she knows that deep down I believe. If she didn’t know that deep down, she wouldn’t be as snide with Bill as she was in the last episode and I don’t think her attitude is all about being hurt, she’s coming to her senses about everything slowly. Obviously, she’s not truly defending Bill to herself.

Leave a Reply

