The Importance of Rituals: Explaining True Blood’s Blood

A lot of people have been wanting a discussion about the effects of V and Sookie’s blood (fairy blood), besides the obvious.

First of all, here is my old theory on the way blood bonds work on the show. 

In my blood bond theory, I explain the difference between V use and blood bonds. Please read that article if you haven’t already. But in my opinion, a vampire must share his or her “essence” with the subject in order for a blood bond to form and that “a BB DOES NOT CREATE a relationship (a way of interacting) where none previously existed (except an underlying sexual undertone in dreams). A BB merely intensifies the relationship that is developing or already existed.”

____________________________________________________________________________

Blood Bonds aside, we have noticed that the effects of V use vary and the amount seems to have no correlation to the intensity of the effects:

In Season One, Sookie has gallons of Bill's Blood following the Rattray's set up and is simply healed in additon to having all the enhanced physical abilities (such as better taste and smell in her and strength, etc in others) that vampire blood gives. The blood has served more in a capacity to form the blood bond that Bill wanted and Sookie is not being contemplative about it (though she should have).

While Jason did take the blood irresponsibly (although it wasn't gallons, just a vial's worth), Jason was so focused on the sexual effects of the V that it manifested itself in that way and this hilarious Jason scene occurred. Jason mistakenly forced this because his ritual was irresponsible and his ritual had created an entirely sexual energy with the blood.

Once Jason had taken the blood with the suggestion Lafayette gave him about it's deeper effects, he went on an enlightening trip.

Jason combined his knowledge about the sexual aspects of V as well as the "trippy aspects" of V in order to create this ritual with Amy. The relaxed and private setting of Jason's home also contributed to it. I am also of the opinion that Jason's fairy heritage contributed to the ritual but that will be discussed later on.

From what we can see, addicted V users such as Debbie that drink vampire blood in profuse amounts don't seem to get more than the general high and the enhanced physical aspects.

Jessica saves Hoyt's life and presumably they form a blood bond. Once again, like the other blood bonds we have seen formed, Hoyt does not seem to "trip out" and only enjoys the general high later on.


However, vampire blood is not the only blood creating magic on the show….Fairy Blood clearly creates magic and even human blood does as well:

Sookie's blood allows vampires to day walk temporarily.

Holly demands a blood sacrifice in her Wiccan ritual with Arlene

In my opinion, blood in general is known to be magical on the show but it should be considered a singular ingredient  in an overall “ritual.”  

True Blood's mutually magical couple (Lafayette and Jesus) created a ritual of their own during their V use

What does this mean?

As Tara’s fake exorcism and Arlene’s Wiccan ritual reminded us, rituals alone can have a profound effect even if they are not even “real.”  It is clear from the examples above that the key to the varying effects of vampire blood and other types of blood have to do with the ritual surrounding it’s usage; the already magical properties of blood “adapt” to the ritual.

All we have seen about Sookie’s blood is it helps vampires temporarily day-walk, right? Do this same rules about rituals apply to Sookie’s blood (fairy blood) as well?

ABSOLUTELY!

How do I know?

Do you remember that Russell somehow had it in his head that a ritual with Sookie's blood and Talbot's blood might bring him back?

Why would the writer’s include this unless there was supposed to be a possibility that we would think about the power that Sookie’s blood could contribute to beyond non-ritualistic temporary day-walking? I don’t think it was simply there to point out the depth of Russell’s insanity.

In addition, I would also like to suggest that Jason’s fairy heritage contributed to the depth of his “v-trips” with Amy and the things he saw in those dreams with her and alone. Although it’s small it makes a lot of sense in regards to what we see in his “v-trips.”

There is a lot of emphasis on nature and water and seeing it in an enhanced way during Jason’s V trips and I think that’s part of what attracted the hippie Amy in addition to the enhanced V trips themselves. That would make sense that it has to do with his likely fairy heritage from what we’ve seen in Sookie’s fairyland trips:

Tara in Jason's V-Trip

Sookie hasn’t tripped out yet because that hasn’t been her goal and there hasn’t really been a ritual involved apart from the blood bonds she’s formed but that doesn’t mean that Sookie’s blood might not be causing her to have special effects when it comes to the vampire blood.

What do I mean?

It seems that because her natural connection with Eric makes her stronger as a person , it seems the ritual in their connection/relationship alongside their magical bloods combined has brought out Sookie’s powers more strongly. Although in Season One we saw Sookie use her fairy powers to help save Bill, it is presumed that Claudine aided her in that (as was seen in the original pilot). We don’t see her powers with Bill because their connection makes her weaker as a person overall, not stronger.

Sookie's glow hands emerged after she took Eric's blood.

I think we will see the witches in this new Season Four coven utilizing vampire blood and maybe their own blood too or the blood of the dead in general (they are necromancers) in their rituals.

As I stated earlier,  blood in general is known to be magical on the show but it should be considered a singular ingredient  in an overall “ritual.”  If we see magic happen through blood, we should consider the ritual when explaining the magical effects of blood rather than looking into just the blood itself.

  1. #1 by Anonymous on July 4, 2011 - 4:14 am

    Great post Kat! I love the way you’re looking at things as it adds a whole other dimension to the way blood blonds work.

    • #2 by Kat on July 4, 2011 - 12:20 pm

      Thank you so much!………..I am glad you took the time to read and comment. I hope my theory will be more widely considered.

  2. #3 by anna on July 4, 2011 - 5:05 am

    Great post Kat! I love your perspective on the Blood Bonds, it adds a whole new dimension to things.

    • #4 by Kat on July 4, 2011 - 12:19 pm

      thank you so much Anna! I appreciate your compliments…..I hope I opened some minds to this theory.

  3. #5 by TruFan on July 4, 2011 - 5:26 am

    Well this and your other article do explain a lot of the questions I had about blood. Of course it’s easy to forget that there is actual magic involved, even though they said as much on the show.

    I wonder though, is the intent of the blood giver or the blood receiver that matters most? Or is it a combination of wills? Is it like a drug, where the expectations help to shape the results, or is it more like magic where certain rituals accomplish certain results. It’s a very interesting topic that you’ve opened up here, Kat. I look forward to reading the comments to see what people think.

    (fangtasia)
    ^ are we still doing that? 😉

    • #6 by Kat on July 4, 2011 - 12:37 pm

      Thank you so much. Things get so complicated I forget a lot or don’t notice it myself. lol.

      I think it’s the blood giver (especially in the case of vampires) but a combination of wills could occur. I think expectations clearly shape V but I think it’s more to do with the attitude and the setting as well (your expectations and the setting help create the ritual).

      Yes, we are. I will announce the first winner later this week in a new tab as well as email that person since I leave for vacation next week (don’t worry, the blog will stay up and be active but I am not waiting the whole 2 weeks because it will be far more difficult to take care of the shipping away from home). Apparently there are people that do not know or are not participating or are not eligible. People like you will get priority in this drawing and future drawings before I decide to actively remind some people about whether or not they would like to participate since I have done my best to inform people about the contest. Of course, there are no guarantees when or if you will win (although you currently have the most entries) but the contest will run and a winner will be announced roughly every 2 weeks until about mid October. People can win more than once.

  4. #7 by Patrick on July 4, 2011 - 9:28 am

    “We don’t see her powers with Bill because their connection makes her weaker as a person overall, not stronger.”

    This is an opinion, of course, but even as a Bill fan I can see it’s validity. One question — why did Sookie get the hand-glow only after having Eric’s blood?

    • #8 by Kat on July 4, 2011 - 12:23 pm

      Thanks.

      Because her connection with Eric makes her stronger….therefore, the magic combined with the ritual of their connection to make her potential powers emerge more strongly.

  5. #9 by Accol on July 4, 2011 - 11:10 am

    Effects appear to differ when the drinker takes blood from a vial/shotglass/whatever vs. directly from the Vampire. The trips have all come from people who take V from a vessel, not from the host.

    • #10 by Kat on July 4, 2011 - 12:27 pm

      Well sure Amy and Jason put it in a small cap before their second trip but they essentially took it right from the source (they even had a relationship with him but a blood bond did not form with Amy, the V effects were solely present)…..Eddie was present and it was fresh…they did everything but suck it right from his arm. I see your point but I am not of the opinion that it must come from a vessel rather than right from the host though I DEFINITELY COULD BE WRONG and you could definitely be correct in mentioning that.

      • #11 by b_azinga on July 6, 2011 - 11:30 am

        The weres drank directly from Bill, didn’t they? But they were junkies already, so maybe that’s what makes the difference?

  6. #12 by TruFan on July 4, 2011 - 1:33 pm

    Just a question, are we all convinced that the first time Eric heard of or knew about Sookie is the day Bill brought her into the bar? I mean he and Bill have the same Queen, and she obviously trusted him enough to sell V, which seemed like a pretty big deal.

    • #13 by Kat on July 4, 2011 - 1:39 pm

      I don’t know…that’s unclear but it was clear that Eric knew the Queen well and had received enough information to figure out what Bill was doing with Sookie later on.

      He at least did not know what she was or what the Queen wanted from from her.

      However, I think he didn’t know of her before because he questioned Bill about a need to protect her following the Longshadow thing and did seem shocked that she knew about the upcoming raid when they first met.

    • #14 by Cindy on July 4, 2011 - 10:46 pm

      I don’t think Eric was selling V for the Queen (at least not known to us) until Season 2. So I don’t think Eric knew about Sookie the first time they met. *shrugs*

  7. #15 by Cindy on July 4, 2011 - 10:46 pm

    Awesome article, Kat. Although I’m even more confused now. LOL I have never really understood the whole BB process; even in the books its continuity is flawed. But on the show…who the hell knows anymore! But it was definitely an interesting read in any case. Awesome as usual. 🙂

    • #16 by Kat on July 4, 2011 - 10:53 pm

      True Blood is nothing if not confusing!
      Well I think if there is any explanation it could be mine LOL

      People had some of these questions and I take requests!

      • #17 by TruFan on July 4, 2011 - 11:14 pm

        and we appreciate it Kat, I love how much you answer questions in the comments too. So many places you feel like they don’t even read them!

      • #18 by Kat on July 4, 2011 - 11:40 pm

        Well that’s one of the reasons I started a blog actually. I would take the time to write a thorough response and it seemed that sometimes nobody would read them or care to respond. I don’t care if I have 200 comments, they will all get a response. I don’t care if it’s a simple compliment, they get a thank you! If you have a question, I will give my opinion the best I can. If you want a question answered, you may get your own article dedicated to you. I have much love for all of my readers.

  8. #19 by Lidia on July 5, 2011 - 12:36 am

    Thanks, Kat.

    I’ve always wonder why few drops of Eric’s blood had such effect on Sookie and liters of Bill’s no. Now after your theory it seems to me that you’re right. BB appears only when there is already a connection between two people.

    • #20 by Kat on July 5, 2011 - 5:20 pm

      Thank you for reading.

      Magic and ritual (which can include a relationship) can be the only reason if there is an explanation.

      • #21 by Lidia on July 5, 2011 - 10:22 pm

        Now I think that Eric, unlike Bill, wanted to become her part. Mayby his itentions and blood magic made it. Bill just wanted to seduce her, nothing more.

      • #22 by Kat on July 6, 2011 - 2:34 am

        Well yes that’s Eric’s ritual…
        Bill’s ritual was the sexual connection (of course, sexual connections work in a BB)
        Well I think Sookie became addicted to what Bill offered when she ran to him and they had sex, Bill bonded to her then with the blood they already shared. In my opinion, Bill only began to love her bc of the BB and having tasted her (which is what QSA was also concerned about).

  9. #23 by Anette on July 5, 2011 - 1:05 am

    well, in most books BB is happend only after giving anf reciving blood, so V is not that situation at all, BB is something very personal and treating blood as drug is opposite to personal. I think to create BB there is some kind of magic involved, magic, strong connection on psychic level, trust and not only taking vampire blood, but giving him your own. Only if all that will be on time there is a chance to create BB. So, Bill haven’t create bond with Sookie, cause they didn’t know each other after he save her (let’s say – he save her from trouble he made her) they didn’t trust each other, didn’t actually care (if I was a vicious person I would say it means that there will be never BB between them possible, cause he didn’t care enough and he is untrustworthy, but I am nice girl, so I just don’s say a word 😉 ) Later they exchange blood but usually as a sexual part, not a ritual. Actually it makes me wonder about dreams Sookie has after Godric true death, what if that was magic enough? She did it because she deeply want to stand by him as he mury, she shows she care about him, and the way she did that shows she was trusting him to the endand it was obviously that he care and trust her, he was weak and broken and took her offer to take care of him… Those tears, blood, love, sadness, care all together made a strong ritual and magic moment in my opinion…
    There is some part of our soul in our blood, I think, but I think it’s not enough if there is no intentions (both givers and recivers, oh gash it is like in marriage vau, giving and reciving a ring 😉 : I could buy my self a diamond ring, but it doesn’t mean I’m now married woman, I could give a ring as a birthday present and it doesn’t make me a married girl either, it’s not a matter of ring as an object, but intention I put in a little piece of gold (or not, my first engage ring was hand made from sailor knot 😉 ) so it’s not a blood made a BB but intention or ritual as you said (enchange rings is a ritual as well as exchange blood).

    • #24 by Kat on July 5, 2011 - 5:28 pm

      Yes, I remember that…that’s why there has been so much confusion of course.

      It’s all about the magic on True Blood in my opinion with less of the mechanics in the books. Wel I think the intentions of the vampire is what comes into play the most in a Blood Bond….like he or she shares their “essence” in the same way they do in the books. Yes, that was the first time I knew Sookie really and truly cared about Eric with all of her heart—the Godric dream.

      I love your ring metaphor!

  10. #25 by Anette on July 5, 2011 - 1:11 am

    Kat, in Poland of course HBO didn’t shows episodes of 4 season, I;m depending on torrents, so I wonder – after 1 ep. there was 2 for a reqest or something like that… but it was normal or excepton? I mean in sunday they shows 2 ep in tv, so on request you could see also 3 or t was only one time situation? I hate to wait on 3 ep. one week more, but I haven’t seen on torrents any copy of 3 ep.

    • #26 by Lidia on July 5, 2011 - 5:21 am

      Anette, as far as I understood it was an exception. I live in Russia. So I depend on torrents too. Maybe 4 season will be shown in Russia in autumn or winter. But I can’t wait so much.

      • #27 by Anette on July 5, 2011 - 7:22 am

        I understand you perfectly, life is to short to wait so long for good things 😉 Thank you Lidia, our part of the world is screwed as usually, but we also have a torrents 😉

      • #28 by Kat on July 5, 2011 - 5:31 pm

        Well you answered that question before I did ha ha.

        You two should not have to wait! 🙂

    • #29 by Kat on July 5, 2011 - 5:30 pm

      Yes, I do not like that people in foreign countries must look it up on the internet or wait in order to see the show at a reasonable time.
      It was normal.

      I think it was a one time situation.

      • #30 by TruFan on July 5, 2011 - 8:50 pm

        What’s really annoying is how long we have to wait for the DVD’s. Usually we only get them a month ahead of the new season, and it would be nice to have those to help pass the time in between seasons.

      • #31 by Kat on July 6, 2011 - 2:32 am

        I agree. They are trying to save HBO subscriptions by doing that but they don’t realize that really their only encouraging illegal downloads and pirating more.

  11. #32 by pbt on July 6, 2011 - 10:49 am

    As always, love reading your posts about True Blood. Well done. Yes, the blood is magic and as Bill explained in Season One. Vampire magic is just a bit different than human. Well in the case of Sookie, her blood/magic is even more different. I like the ritual/magic aspect of your post and especially in the case of Jason/Amy.

    I suspect when Eric and Sookie finally get together on the show. Yeah. That we might see some of this magic/ritual play out on the screen. I have suspected for some time that Eric’s blood brought Sookie’s powers to the forefront. She always had them but they lay dormant. I also think Eric’s blood brought Lala’s powers to the surface. Must be some strong blood. heheh.

    It should be interesting to see how this play out in Season Four.

    • #33 by Kat on July 6, 2011 - 6:38 pm

      thank you.
      That season one statement was very important I think.

      I think we could see some trips for Sookie sometime or at least a ritual there with Eric as you mentioned. Yes, I wonder what is especially magical about Eric’s blood lol

      Oh yeah.

  12. #34 by b_azinga on July 6, 2011 - 11:33 am

    Absolutely love your theory, makes total sense to me. The bonds formed are definitely very different, depending on the relationships that existed beforehand. Some details might not fit in, like the weres drinking from Bill directly, but maybe those things are just honest mistakes on the writers’ part. I’m not sure if they themselves think things through as thoroughly as you do. 😉

    • #35 by Kat on July 6, 2011 - 6:39 pm

      Thank you!

      Well I mean Bill had no relationship with those weres and since I think the BB is magical and the intent of the vampire has to be there including sharing his “essense,” it makes sense to me

Leave a Reply

