“Family Feeling.” – Episode 4×04 “I’m Alive and On Fire” Recap (Bonus: “Eric’s love letter to Sookie)

There is no family feeling in your soul.” – Maxine Fortenberry to Sam

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Despite the sexual feelings between them, Sookie has developed a motherly feeling toward Eric as well during this crisis. Eric was also absent a “family” in his mind when Sookie finds him and gives him a home—- a “Family Feeling” has developed between them (and may possibly evolve into a husband/wife feeling in the future).

Pam would fight, lie, and die for her maker because of their “Family Feeling,” even in the face of a Ruthless Bill (who once hypocritically accused Eric of ruthlessness himself).

The desperate “Family Feeling” in Hotshot causes him to be set-up for a gang-rape by the clan. Despite the “Family Feeling” in one of the younger girls driving her to her own rape of Jason, she chooses to do the right thing and release Jason.

There is no “Family Feeling” in vampire politics/ the Authority—- only rules, responsibility and punishment.

Despite their own sexual attraction, Alcide and Sookie have developed their own “Family Feeling,” which drives Alcide to help Sookie.

There is no family feeling in your soul.” 

Maxine accuses Sam of lacking a “Family Feeling,” despite being hypocritical in saying this. Supposedly, her “Family Feeling” for Tommy drives her to utilize her ‘lioness instincts ‘ to help him despite disowning Hoyt.

The “Family Feeling” amongst the witches drives them to work together as a group to help each other. Tara and Lafayette’s literal “Family Feeling” drives Tara into helping him and the group, apart from the concern about herself.

Despite claiming a “Family Feeling,” and referring to the young girl as family, Felton seems to lack any of that feeling in reality by being sexual harassing to the girl.

Tommy still possesses a “Family Feeling” despite everything. He needs that “Family Feeling” so much that once rejected by Sam and feeling nothing real for Maxine, he goes back to the mother who allowed his abuse (literally embracing her).

Sam discovers a “Family Feeling” when he uncovers Luna’s daughter going to see her.

Sookie continues to show her “Family Feeling” for Eric by saving him and wrapping him in a blanket (in a motherly manner). Eric wants Sookie to stay with him and comfort him because of that “Family Feeling.”

Alcide and Sookie possess enough of a “Family Feeling” to tell the other ‘how-it-is’ in their eyes and still lovingly embrace each other/make-up in the end.

Crystal insists that Hotshot is the only place that will ‘accept’ Jason and give him that “Family Feeling.” She even lets him go, insisting that he will come back for that reason.

Portia brings Bill to meet her family. In this case, the “Family Feeling” Bill receives is rather unfortunate for him and Portia.

Luna explains the unwanted “Family Feelings” coming from her ex-boyfriend but Sam still embraces the “Family Feelings” that come with Luna’s daughter.

Debbie plays Alcide by seeming to be understanding of his “Family Feelings” toward Sookie, through this she makes Alcide trust her more by giving him “Family Feelings” about her.

Sookie and Eric get closer through the “Family Feelings” that coincide with the sexual attraction and almost kiss.

Sookie and Bill still possess the sexual attraction with one another but the “Family Feeling” between them is dissipating.  However, the “Family Feeling” with Eric is again clearly present as she tries to do everything in her power to protect him ( if it was just about saving herself then she would make a deal with Bill, including saying she was afraid of Pam, to save her own skin rather than go out of her way to continue to protect him – SOOKIE LOVES ERIC!

Sookie runs in front of the door to protect Eric

Hoyt’s “Family Feelings” for Jason lead him to go as far as allowing Jessica to give him her blood in order to save him.

Tommy’s “Family Feelings” led him into the trap we all expected it would.

 

Terry’s “Family Feelings” toward Arlene and her baby are once again tested.

 

Pam’s “Family Feelings” for Eric led her to being disfigured by the possessed Marnie while trying to save him.

_______________________________________________________________________

Bonus: “Eric’s love letter to Sookie” :

Dear Sookie,

I would never harm you if I had a choice.

You might have been worried about my involvement in politics but now Bill is the real political animal- a politician and a King who can never retire.

I know you love me now. You even came to look for me when I lost by dragging Alcide along  (in the same way you requested my help in saving Bill, even though I was also interested in you).

“Come play with me, it’s wonderful here (with me).”

You covered me with your love.

I don’t want you to ever leave me.

You protected me from the one you once loved, even when you could have sold me out to save yourself. You also look really worried about me Sookie!

Make me happy and you’ll be happy too. “It’s just a kiss.”

  1. #1 by Ethan Ralph on July 19, 2011 - 4:18 pm

    Heh, you finally figured out the theme! :)…I guess Bill and Portia take the term “family feelings” to a whole new level lol…I think you have also hit the nail on the head regarding Sookie’s motherly feelings towards Eric. She wants to protect him because she sees him as so vulnerable, exactly the opposite of the way he used to be. Also, we can see that Bill knows Sookie is lying, and that she is hiding Eric…the hurt in his face tells that I think…nice love letter at the end too, haha. Great article, I enjoyed it as is par for the course with your work.

    • #2 by Kat on July 19, 2011 - 4:24 pm

      Shut up! ha ha.

      Yeah unfortunately for them and us as viewers *gag*

      Yes, I guess I didn’t mention Bill obviously knowing and how he felt about it.
      Well I do think its because she does love him, not just her nurturing personality and the sharp contrast in his character.

      Thanks again.

  2. #3 by Ethan Ralph on July 19, 2011 - 4:20 pm

    BTW, the sooner Joe Lee dies, the better lol.

    • #4 by Kat on July 19, 2011 - 4:22 pm

      AMEN!!!

  3. #5 by Cindy on July 19, 2011 - 5:01 pm

    Great post, Kat, as always.

    I’ll just post on the two plot lines I’m interested in if that’s okay, because honestly I don’t care about anything else on this show anymore. :/

    Eric, Eric/Sookie: It’s very clear that Sookie is falling for this “new” Eric, and falling hard. From her deceiving Bill to protect Eric (and yeah, I’m sure he knew she was lying to him), to going into the water she’s supposedly afraid of to rescue him when he was burning, etc. I love the way she’s nurtering him; it’s Book!Sookie for sure! I have missed her and I hope she stays this way!

    In this week’s ep, I’m SO glad the little exchange in the cubby happened, when she said “the real Eric” and he came back with “I AM real” and she said “I know.” Shows us that she’s aware that the man she sees now is, in fact, the same Eric she’s always known, just not hidden behind centuries of defenses and political posturing and survival instinct. I just wonder if she realizes yet that the man she is falling in love with is the “real” Eric – or just this vulnerable version of himself. Sheriff Eric is already (at least I think so) in love with her, so Amnesia Eric falling for her shouldn’t be surprising. But the ball is definitely in Sookie’s court.

    Gonna be interesting to see what happens when Eric’s memories come back. I can’t wait to see how she reacts to him then. I’m also anxious to know how long it will be before Eric remembers their time togther. I’d have to think it would be sooner than in the books (which took what, FIVE books??). TB won’t be around that long, unfortunately. I like where this is going so far, but I’m still nervous that AB will mess it up somehow. Stay tunned…

    Bill: I can’t even about him and Portia. Knew it was coming, but just eww. 😦 His expression was priceless though. Lovely “family feeling” Kodak moment that was!! 😀 LOVED Nan and the way she basically told him to “fix it or I have a nice pointy stake with your name on it, and King be damned.” Very telling to Bill and the audience that the AVL/Authority is, in fact, running the show and Bill is just their puppet. Liked that scene a LOT!

    Thanks again for the great recap. Awesome work as always. 🙂

    • #6 by Kat on July 19, 2011 - 6:09 pm

      thanks again Cindy!

      that’s fine! always say what you want…even if it’s to tell me how much my article sucks lol

      Me too! I love this Sookie! It’s obvious she is IN LOVE. Her giddy smile before the almost kiss–beautiful.

      AWWH I did not think of the “I am real” line’s significance in that respect. She’s seen his side since the Godric rooftop incident. Yes, same Eric expect Sookie feels the power in this version of their relationship.

      Me either and no it wont **sad-face**. I think it would be the beginning of the following season or sometime in the next season (the end of the season after he gets his memories back at the earliest). I am always nervous about what AB is doing.

      Yeah, Family in True Blood is perfection=LMAO. Yes, Bill thinks he is “The Authority” as he said, but he is now property of The Authority just as every vampire is….no wonder Russell and others want to overturn them….I am sure Eric does too or has friends in The Authority himself- I believe it’s the first one. ME TOO!

      THanks again CIndy!

  4. #7 by Caroline on July 19, 2011 - 10:25 pm

    I am loving your analysis this season! I thought it was significant that Eric said “You want the Eric who doesn’t feel” and Sookie replied “Its not that.” I think she is hesitant to admit her feelings (for many reasons) but she is must protect Eric in this circumstance and is not used to it and I think questions whether she can feel secure. I also feel like this episode was such a treat because I felt like all of the things Eric said were things he has been thinking but would not allow himself to say so now he has the guise of the amnesia to hide behind. On a random note I want to know what books he has by his bed.

    • #8 by Cindy on July 20, 2011 - 10:48 am

      I am curious about the books myself, Caroline. Probably history books on Vikings and while he lays there reading them, he talks to himself about how inaccurate they are. But you never know! LOL

    • #9 by Kat on July 20, 2011 - 3:03 pm

      Thank you so much Caroline.

      I agree. I thought it was significant also because she didn’t admit any true disdain for the other Eric or perhaps she was denying he doesn’t feel too at the same time she was telling him her initial rejection isn’t all because of how he is now. Well yes, also she knows it might not mean anything if he gets his memories back and she has a slight fear of vampires that remains for good reason (her fairy blood thing too).

      Are you on board with the theory that maybe he doesn’t actually have amnesia???
      me too.

  5. #10 by TruFan on July 20, 2011 - 6:58 am

    I was happiest when Eric called Sookie out on her patronizing behaviour. “I am not a child!” Indeed, I believe it is at that point when she really starts looking at him like a man. A really hot, sexy man, lol.

    ps. For the record, the correct response to “I will never see the sun again” is NOT how great the night is. It is “You don’t know that” They’ve already synthesized the properties of human blood, how do we know in the future they couldn’t do the same with faerie blood? Or how do we know there isn’t a magical cure? Never give up hope, Eric!
    (fangtasia)

    • #11 by Cindy on July 20, 2011 - 10:49 am

      Excellent point. She has been really patronizing of him hasn’t she? :/

      • #12 by Kat on July 20, 2011 - 3:08 pm

        Well I think she’s enjoying the reversed roles/ turned tables…..the power she has over him because he once had all the power over her and made that clear (not that he was forcing himself or anything of course but he made it clear he had all the power especially after buying her house).

    • #13 by Kat on July 20, 2011 - 2:54 pm

      Yes, I think it was important that he point himself out as a real man even though she was mothering him.

      THat’s true. I didn’t think of it that way. Enlightening.

  6. #14 by anna on July 20, 2011 - 1:36 pm

    Not sure that Bill feels sad, everything he does is usually for effect and for his own benefit.

    • #15 by Kat on July 20, 2011 - 3:31 pm

      I agree…he has Sociopathic tendencies.

  7. #16 by Caroline on July 20, 2011 - 11:30 pm

    I am intrigued by the whole fake amnesia possibility BUT I am sort of choosing to accept it at face value and assume it is real (kind of assuming that it is Eric’s subconscious come to the surface) I have been spending a lot of time thinking about what exactly does Eric know. I find it hard to believe that he didn’t seem to sense it was another vampire at the door.

Leave a Reply

