Eric/Sookie Body Language Flashback! Part Four!

As requested by my reader poll on my Facebook page and once again in honor of my most popular series to date! It’s long but enjoy! šŸ™‚

Previous Articles: Part One; Part Two; Part Three

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Episode 4×01:

Sookie, though engaged in a conversation with Bill after what feels like they just broke-up, keeps her eyes locked on Eric as soon as he shows up, signaling Eric as her main interest.

Sookie keeps her body language open to both of them by keeping her arms uncrossed but her focus on Eric isĀ particularlyĀ revealing considering the situation she is in with Bill, a guy who seems like a recent ex-boyfriend to her. However, we also notice that Sookie’s body is pointed toward Eric as soon as he shows up!

In addition, Sookie jolts away when Bill attempts to get close before the conversation between the three of them, signaling that she does not want to get close to Bill right now in any real way.

^^More evidence of the constant starting and attraction between them.Ā Can’t you feel the intensity in that? Sookie is also hurt by Bill as well as everyone else and yet is surprised that Eric was the only one that never gave up on her (wide eyes, parted lips, stiff facial muscles).

Eric fiddles with Sookie's robe (showing the intensity of his sexual arousal).

Of course, Sookie is closed off (crossed arms) to Eric's aggressive sexual advances at this point.

^^ However, when Eric approaches her an aggressive manner to claim ownership and continue his sexual advances, she only seems mildly scared to me (wide eyes and tight facial muscles). She gulps too and this could be considered anotherĀ indicationĀ of being scared BUT her face here with the gulp isĀ reminiscent of this face and gulp from episode 3×03 when she had no reason to be scared, he had just saved her life:

I think that although Sookie was closed off because of Eric getting a little too aggressive with his sexual advances, she also was aroused ( she doesn’t back away like she does when Bill gets closer earlier in the episode and she stares into his eyes and gulps when he exposes his fangs like she does in the 3×03 scene in which I am also convinced she was aroused!

________________________________________________________________________________

Episode 4×02:

To many, the opening scene with them in this episode seems aggressive and resentful/hateful on Sookie’s part but I have a very different opinion based on the body language!

THEY ARE FLIRTING HARDCORE PEOPLE!

Eric and Sookie play a flirtacious game of chase but maintain eye-contact, indicating their continued trust and attraction through it.

^^ WoooowZA! Ā Sookie arches her back and thrusts her hips forward,Ā Ā indicating seduction and arousal before she listens to Eric again after walking away!

Sookie blinks her eyes repeatedly, indicating actual seductiveness and attraction/ flirtation during the comment Eric calls "saucy." This shows it wasn't pure sarcasm.

IT IS CLEAR THAT THEIR CONNECTION IS “STILL THERE AND DEFINITELY THERE” BEFORE THE AMNESIA!

_____________________________________________________________________________

Episode 4×03:

The slight wrinkle in herĀ forehead, the parted lips and staring eyes indicate her genuine concern and sympathy for his situation before she offers to help him.

Sookie washes Eric's feet.

Touching feet is considered erotic and can be suggestive of both parties,Ā particularlyĀ the oneĀ touchingĀ them (btw, we all know Eric could have washed his own feet). We can see the erotic attraction for Sookie clearly here and Eric of course even without his memory or any knowledge of who she is.

Symbolically, Sookie washing Eric’s feet is symbolic of his new clean path/ clean slate of his amnesia coming up as she “washes the dirt off.” It also connects to the biblical scene of Jesus washing his diciple’s feet – Eric is following a new spiritual path with Sookie/ his amnesia. Afterall, it has been shown that Eric is ironically aĀ sacrificialĀ Christ-figure.

Eric's half-smile after his laugh is obviously a flirtatious move but also indicates his nervousness/uncertainty in dealing with her.

Sookie's crossed arms indicate she is still closed off to the idea of "being Eric's," but the cracking in her voice when she says NO indicates she is somewhat considering it deep-down or is uncertain in reality.

___________________________________________________________________________

Episode 4×04:

^^ Obviously Eric is being sexual andĀ flirtatiousĀ with Sookie when he pinches/slaps her bottom BUT what else can this mean? Eric knows how to get Sookie’s attention and is already thinking of them as forming a couple. ERIC IS ALSO POSITIVE THAT HIS FULL SEXUAL DESIRES (in every way) FOR HER WILL ONE DAY BE FULFILLED! How? He senses Sookie’s mutual attraction when it comes to SEX and it’s doubtful he’d beĀ flirtatiousĀ in this manner/ in this special way if he really thought otherwise at all, no matter how drunk he is.

Obviously this is a motherly gesture by Sookie (SHE WANTS TO TAKE CARE OF HIM) and getting close indicates her trust and comfort in him.)

AWWWWWW! Two people that gaze atĀ each otherĀ as one or both walk away indicates that these two people are HEAD-OVER-HEELS IN LOVE Ā and that they do not take each other for granted at all! They want the connection to last as long as possible and the memory to stay as fresh in the mind as possible; no matter how long you’ll be apart, it’s too long for both of you.

Sookie staring at Eric's lips means she was ready to dive in right then and there.

________________________________________________________________________________

Episode 4×05:

Eric puts his head in Sookie lap

Of course this position appeals to Sookie’s need to take care of others. This indicates Eric’s neediness at this point and the fact that he feels that only Sookie can make him happy now. However, it also shows that he is sensitive to Sookie and her emotions, is aware of his own emotions, and that he’ll do anything to make her happy- sexually or otherwise!

Eric gets Sookie to spoon him during a bedtime cuddle.

^^ This is the ultimate in sleeping intimacy and indicates the depth of their growing love. Sookie behind Eric indicates her protective and dominant position in the relationship at this point and shows that Eric (OF COURSE) is the less secure one….

…BUT…as we see below, Eric is also willing to be protective and do his share.

^^Hugging before a kiss is not only romantic, it indicates Variety and romance…that’s what Eric will bring. By rubbing her neck, he is awakening her libido and it gives the signal for a kiss. It also indicates his protectiveness.

^^ AWW! Stroking/ cupping his face and looking into his eyes before the kiss indicates that she wants nothing more than to tune out the world and “get-lost” in Eric and indicates her pure romantic feelings for him.

^^ Hugging and kissing at the same time indicates the excitement that Sookie feels in being with Eric and the excitement that she will bring to his un-dead life in return! This also indicates that Sookie has surprises of her own to bring to Eric and senses that he can keep up with her!….

….It’s going to be a very passionate ride ladies-and-gentlemen!Ā 

  1. #1 by znb on July 26, 2011 - 5:28 pm

    *siiiiigh*
    i just lived through all the great eric/sookie moments again šŸ™‚
    love love loved this post kat! i SO missed ur body language posts!

    • #2 by Kat on July 26, 2011 - 5:39 pm

      Awwh. glad I could help šŸ˜‰

      I really think the last parts about what their romantic body language means was awesome.

  2. #3 by Ethan Ralph on July 26, 2011 - 5:39 pm

    Interesting post…Love all the pics ofc…Even had me, a Bill apologist, going for their romance lol. You are great with body language analysis, a fact which I know very well :).

    • #4 by Kat on July 26, 2011 - 5:53 pm

      thank you. I obviously think pics help an article ten-fold and you agree too, obviously as well.

      Well that’s saying something for sure! well i try to appeal to the gut.

      yes probably so ha

  3. #5 by Cindy on July 26, 2011 - 6:02 pm

    OMGOMGOM *loves this post on a rediculous level!* WOW Kat. You completely delivered the goods with this one – such a wonderful walk through their developing romance. And we haven’t even gotten to the good part yet! Although, having said that, IMO the scene on the porch was one of the most amazingly beautiful moments this show has ever prodcued, and they’re going to have to do a LOT to top it – and that includes their first time together. The porch scene was just SO perfect; I can’t stop watching it! Thank you SO MUCH for doing this post!! Indeed your most popular and your BEST!! *loves*

    • #6 by Kat on July 26, 2011 - 10:48 pm

      THANK YOU CINDY!
      You are are a great reader, honestly.

      awwwh thanks. I hope I could capture one iota of it.

      I was taken away by what happened between them before the porch scene and during it.

      awh thanks!!!!!!!!!!! I never knew it would be such a popular topic but it is why I started the blog.

  4. #7 by Anette on July 26, 2011 - 6:35 pm

    great job, love it!
    Few of my fav moments… Porch, bad dream, If you kiss me I promise to be happy šŸ˜‰
    One I would add is a lake scene, all that joy of Eric’s to Sookie, his widely open arms and walking to her with that smile, gush, my heart just melt down šŸ˜‰ And maybe Sookie during last conversation with Bill, when she was so protective, standing between Bill and the doors, and we know, that it was her standing between Bill and Eric, she cover him by her own chest. Same protectivness I noticed when she was trying to explain Tara things about Eric.
    And the scene before he leaves her home, his cuddling himself, he felt broken and unhappy cause he could sniff off a light in her and was reason why she suffer, gush, and her, opening her arms for him, eye contact and bowing slightly her chest to him during axplaining him, she belive he has something more inside…
    She is open to him on such a deep level, the porch scene, when she wait for him with wide open arms… just like he in the lake…
    Hope Bill will not apear until she’ll give Eric some love and he will reverse it for her ;D
    Bill is such a twat, there is a witch war comming, but he still spend time on watching Sookie’s pants. Gardener dog, deffinetly.
    Hope that Sookie after all now knows, that Eric is a man who deserves to fight for him, even with an AVL and Oueen Bill. Her body knows that, but what with her mind and heart?

    • #8 by Kat on July 26, 2011 - 10:51 pm

      Thanks!
      this entire episode makes my heart a puddle of goo.
      WOW I forgot to mention Sookie’s wide open arms before the kiss!
      aaaaaaaaaaaaah ha ha.

      Maybe I should have included that but I guess I was thinking in terms of Bill and Sookie.
      She admitted that he did before the porch scene, it was amazing.

      Oh I think they will make love/ have sex when she helps Eric escape Bill’s clutches.

      Ugh, don’t make me go there! lol

      I think both know that now because she see her stand up to Bill in the promo and say, “If you ever loved me, you won’t hurt him” and of course she’s talking about Eric,

  5. #9 by Caroline on July 26, 2011 - 8:25 pm

    Kat-I would be super interested to know your insight into something I have noticed if you ever have a sec to give it a look. Over the last 3 seasons I have noticed that Alexander Skarsgard has this thing he does with his hand(s) you can see it if you look to his right hand as he turns around and returns to Sookie after she asks him not to go-his hand (in this case the right but I have also seen this with his left) is kind of curled in with his thumb and forefinger almost touching.

    I feel like Alexander has like gigantic hands (;)) so maybe they just kind of slope into that shape or as an actor he has kind of trained himself (or been trained) to send any physical tension or extraneous movement to that area since it is often off camera; and his characterization of Eric (espcially pre-Amnesia Eric) is so fluid, controlled and still (to my observation) In this instance before the kiss they look relaxed but at other times it looks more tense and purposeful like he is almost touching his thumb and forefinger together (which in yoga philosophy is VERY significant-I was going to write something (and still might) for Renee over on TAP)

    would love any thoughts on this.

    I feel like all of the Sookie Eric kisses both reality and dream have been pretty delicious for viewers but this one especially so. I am seriously DREADING when Eric gets his memory back (because he will right?) that is going to suck and I can’t speak for Sookie but I may actually cry.

    I love how in this week’s episode Bill has the gaul to call Eric a liar and master manipulator I mean Geez dude are you sure you aren’t talking about yourself?!

    • #10 by Kat on July 26, 2011 - 10:54 pm

      I will definitely give it a look if you want and respond on here but you could be right about his gigantic hands. I should probably pay more attention to his hands in my analysis. It’s a wonder I have noticed his hands at some times and not others.

      You were planning on writing something about that on TAP? VERY INTERESTING, please let me know if you do!

      I WAS THINKING THE SAME THING OF COURSE!
      he’s the ultimate hypocrite.

  6. #11 by Caroline on July 26, 2011 - 11:20 pm

    I do think it may be some sort of nervous/unconscious habit on Alexander’s part. I definitely started looking more at things after first coming across your body language analysis last year!

    • #12 by Kat on July 27, 2011 - 10:54 am

      It could be something that happens when he is truly nervous or uneasy deep down. Amnesia Eric is quite an insecure being of course.

  7. #13 by TruFan on July 27, 2011 - 3:05 am

    I usually find Eric and Sookie’s interactions very flirty and believable. (The two actors have great chemistry) Am I the only one who felt the kiss was a little unnatural? This isn’t what I expected to feel when this moment came, and I put the blame squarely on Anna. I felt like she was uncomfortable, maybe because of her new real-life husband. I’m no expert on body language, but that was the surprising message I felt from hers. The hug was good, the transition to kiss…awkward.

    • #14 by Kat on July 27, 2011 - 11:00 am

      Well what I found most striking, in a positive way, about the kiss was that she slowly initiated it. I think it was supposed to come across as nervous for both of them as characters too because he’s still Eric and she still has feelings for Bill and she was unsure even as she knows she loves him too/ wants him to stay.

      Also,she cupped his head before the kiss which I found to be a very moving gesture (the significance of which I explained above) and not awkward at all. They expressed too nervous characters who were deeply in love and wanting to express it…..she’s also a mother figure at the same time for him too which makes her exceedingly gentle and his child-like nature right now makes it that way for him as well. I though it was well expressed….romance at the same time both of them have taken those roles.

      • #15 by TruFan on July 27, 2011 - 10:53 pm

        I wasn’t really referring to the scripted parts of the kiss, I just sensed that Anna, the actress, was holding back.

      • #16 by Kat on July 28, 2011 - 2:06 pm

        Yes, I get what you mean….I guess it could have been a little more passionate on her part…

  8. #17 by Gaby on July 27, 2011 - 9:54 am

    HI Kat! your posts are great as always! I was also waiting for the “Body Language section” hehehe.
    I love, love how is Sookie behaving with Eric, and I like that she really (but really) understand the true nature of him. ThatĀ“s why I hated TaraĀ“s one vision, sheĀ“s so unfair! she measures everything with her own stick.
    But I was thinking…Sookie is falling in love with this Eric and she knows his condition wonĀ“t last. If she likes someone who needs to be taken care of and who needs her, then what is going to happen when Eric came back to his adamant state, will he be the same? will he change a little? because as much as Sookie knows the true nature of Eric, he wonƱt be anymore in such need of protection… I think IĀ“m actually afraid of Mr Ball… hahaha
    Well, what I mean is, if Sookie likes someone like Amnesia Eric, how would she want to come back with Bill? who has demostrated her how lier and vile someone could be?
    IĀ“m talking because when Bill went to SookieĀ“s house to “register” it, she smiles when she saw him (or maybe the smiles slept from Anna when she saw her husband hahahah) was she faking?
    i donĀ“t want Bill out of the show, i love to hate him and vile Bill is really interesting, but if heĀ“s keeping interrupting them, I will ask for the true death!
    By the way, did you notice that there were only 8 minutes of S/E in the screen? to few! The kiss was melting my heart and then it was so suddenly interrupted! GRRRR
    Kisses!!!

    • #18 by Kat on July 27, 2011 - 11:30 am

      Thank you!….I bet so loool. I guess I should probably update it more.

      I understand her trauma at the hands of Franklin but still. I guess it’s suppose to parallel Antonia’s one-vision against vamps after her torture and death by them.

      Im sure he’ll be back to his old self but now that Sookie knows he is capable of this side deep down, she’ll still love him but won’t want to admit it to him. As for the smile, it seemed like some fakery, at least to me…especially since her demeanor changed rapidly.

      Yeah they better make love this season for sure…especially since we know Bill is interrupting this time. Yes I did….but they were so packed that I am slightly forgiving. It was just a great episode overall to me.

  9. #19 by Caroline on July 28, 2011 - 9:45 pm

    Kat-this is a pic of a what I was talking about with the hands. since I first posted I have decided it is some sort of habit/nervous thing Alexander does (which is telling in and of itself-I have also heard he is a major fingernail IRL) like many things now that I have noticed it I can’t unsee it.

    http://tinyurl.com/3mwwjru

  10. #20 by sam on August 1, 2011 - 2:11 am

    What I picked up on at the end of episode 3/begining of ep 4 was:

    I think what Sookie is starting to realize with this new Eric is even though he is “childlike in a way, he is also very dangerous in a sense and uncontrollable when it comes to fairy blood. I think shes a tad on the worried side that if he drank her blood. He would drain her dry and I think she is kind of preferring 100 year old in control viking badass eric in that sense.

    But this new side of Eric that they are showing us is more about Sookie seeing a different side to Eric. The one that he has been desoerate for her to see from the begining. When all this amnesiac stuff is finished and Eric regains his memories thats when we are going to get to see Eric and Sookie at their best! no holes barred, completely stipped, both meeting eachother as equals way.

    I really don’t like reading (on OTHER sites not yours!) on all this negativity about how Eric is hateful and did horrible things to Sookie? uh…. he saved her life a lot of times. Sometimes, he unintentionally put her in danger, yes but only because of uncontrollable circumstances.

    I prefer the badass viking sheriff myself personally but we need to remeber that this is not a “new” Eric just another side of him. I think Alan Ball is trying to put more development in to the Eric/Sookie relationship by providing slow-burn and shade development to it. so that like the books there is a richer texture and background to their actual coming together. ( Sookie is currently dating Eric in the books, yes?)

    That is why this season is simply a benchwarmer. So its season 5 that I am personally rooting for.

    What I do not like in this season is how there are far too many story lines and too much time spent in the wrong places with the wrong couples. There should be more time spent with Eric/Sookie/Bill in order to properly develop them even more so.

    I am rooting for Eric/Sookie but for Sookie to accept Eric as he naturally is, in all his arrogant/humble sex-god viking glory. All of him.

    • #21 by Kat on August 1, 2011 - 7:09 pm

      Me too. I have often wondered why she wasn’t a little more apprehensive though I didn’t want her to be of course. I wonder if she misses that Eric at all.

      Yes, that’s a beautiful way of putting it even though I always think she’s known that side exists since the scene with Godric.

      What about the horrible things that Bill did to Sookie? people that say that always leave that out and I think Bill did a lot more horrible things than Eric and his intentions were in the wrong places initially unlike Eric.
      Well he put her at risk to save her as crazy as that sounds to some people…
      Everything else he did was out of duty…
      except the bullet scene but he had just saved her life and had known her a while..>UNLIKE BILL WHO GAVE HER HIS BLOOD THROUGH A SET-UP BEATING.

      I prefer that one too of course. I think that’s clear too lol
      Yes but of course unless you are an eric fan its hard to see its him…NOT A NEW ERIC.
      Yes, I often try to see it that way myself when I get frustrated!

      ANYWAY thanks for the post…wonderful read! come back more often!

  11. #22 by sam on August 1, 2011 - 2:17 am

    I meant 1000 years old and desperate in the 2nd paragraph there. I also just wanted to say thanks so much or posting these ep recaps and Body language part 4! it was a treat to read!

    Thanks!

    • #23 by Kat on August 1, 2011 - 7:10 pm

      NO thank you for reading and commenting!
      please come back
      šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

