“Bill tries to Apologize to Sookie (Bill’s POV)”- Episode 4×05 “Me and the Devil” Recap

As some of you know, True Blood often contains different POVs (Points-of-View). I have noticed that Episode 5 has been an episode that contains Bill’s POV, even though this was our pivitol Eric and Sookie episode. It has been widely known  and was obvious that this episode contains a theme of guilt—this is something that BIll constantly tries to convince the audience that he feels so it makes sense.

Notice the Episode 5 patterns in regards to Bill:

Episode 1×05- Bill and Sookie are on the outs/ Sookie has claimed that she and Bill are no longer together and Sookie has even agreed to go on a date with Sam Merlotte, signaling some romantic interest in him. However, we are supposed to feel sorry for Bill because of his flashback with Lorena and the fact that he lives up to his promise to Gran to speak at the civil war group even though it’s probably painful to recount that as well.

Episode 2×05- Bill and Sookie are in a disagreement about her continuing to stay loyal to Eric in finding Godric but she insists upon it. It seems that Eric and Sookie’s feelings are deepening for each other as well. We are supposed to feel sorry for Bill because he was trying to protect Sookie (though we now know it was his orders too) and Sookie seems to forgive him by initiating sex at the end (though it’s often shown that’s how Bill and Sookie solve their problems).

Episode 3×05- Bill has just broken up with Sookie in an over-the-top and mean manner in the last episode and then killed an innocent stripper too. Sookie is developing feelings for Alcide as they search for Bill though. However, we’re supposed to feel sorry for Bill because he did it so Russell might forget her and he would keep up appearances in front of him… AND he is supposed to appear redeemed because he ended up escaping in order to warn Sookie.

Episode 4×05- Bill and Sookie are broken up and it seems things are continuing on the downturn and Sookie even lies to Bill to help Eric. Amnesia Eric and Sookie have fallen in love. However, were supposed to feel bad for Bill because he is over whelmed by his responsibilities and Sookie lied to him and Sookie is in love with somebody else.

 

This is the clear pattern in episodes under Bill’s POV: Bill and Sookie are in conflict. Sookie is developing romantic feelings for someone else.  There is something that is supposed to redeem Bill or make us feel sorry for him or both.

(if you are a Bill fan or neutral viewer, it is likely you would feel sorry for Bill after viewing one of these episodes because he is on the outs with Sookie and Sookie has feelings for someone else but Bill does something or we find something out about Bill that is supposed to make us sympathetic to him.)

_________________________________________________________________________

( REMEMBER, THIS EPISODE IS IN BILL’S POV AND IS NOT MY PERSONAL OPINION : /. However, we know much of this is very hypocritical and is no excuse.)

_________________________________________________________________________

Sookie, I lost my family trying to save myself (during my turning) and I often had to kill to live.

I apologize.

 

Sookie, I was often under the control of those such as Lorena, The Queen,  or The Authority when I killed and did bad things.

I apologize.

 

I would have embraced and faced anything to stay by your side.

I apologize.

 

 

Look at how scary Eric is!

Eric is just like all the other “EVIL” vampires! I am the one who showed you how different they can be!

I apologize.

 

This Eric isn’t real and I am the one that would never hurt you AGAIN…

I apologize.

 

I am sorry I lied to you but I was afraid of losing you and felt guilty.

I apologize.

 

 

I was afraid of being alone too after you showed me that I didn’t have to be scary to everyone.

I apologize.

 

 

I wanted to be peaceful as a human but I was destined to need to spill blood for power.

I apologize.

 


I am sorry I lied about myself but you made me too happy so I was afraid of losing you.

I apologize.

 

 

 

I felt like I shouldn’t burden you with all of my problems.

I apologize.

 

I tried to purge/ ignore my demons but it just burned me and us as a couple in the end.

I apologize.

 

Don’t fall for Eric because this is only temporary.

I apologize.

 

Remember all of the terrible things he did- YOU HATE ERIC NORTHMAN!

I apologize.

 

 

I wish I could have been independent and not been under the control of others but it was too late for that.

I apologize.

 

I will and would have done anything to protect you.

I apologize.

 

What I did to Uncle Barlett was necessary and people can live with their demons and move on.

I apologize.

 

 

 

Remember, that you really want me and your feelings for Eric grew with the blood. You had never wanted him that way before. I know you wanted me before even though I gave you that blood early on.
I apologize.

 

 

Remember when you forgave me and embraced me into your life again. You did that with Eric and you can’t do that with me?

I apologize. 

 

 

 

 

Sometimes, I just have to make the tough decisions and it might be hard for you or others to understand.
I apologize for all of that and what I will have to do now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. #1 by Ethan on July 28, 2011 - 7:31 pm

    Loved the article…some of your best work tying the pix in from the various stories. As I said to you, killing Uncle Bartlett is nothing to apologize for though lol….you almost make it seem as if Bill is a person who would say whatever is most expedient and is untrustworthy, although I know that couldn’t be what you mean *tonguefirmlyincheek* :).

    • #2 by Kat on July 28, 2011 - 8:56 pm

      Thank you so much 🙂

      Well it was still vigilante justice and I think Sookie was shocked by how easily he was able to do it without remorse!

      Well he would. I mean a lot of people do that….we see Tara doing that and I love her!

    • #3 by Kat on July 28, 2011 - 8:57 pm

      Well it still strikes the audience how Bill kills so easily.

      Well a lot of people do that at times but it’s the degree that Bill does it and seems to have no remorse for the scale of his lies until caught.

  2. #4 by osterby on July 28, 2011 - 9:14 pm

    OMG!!! Kat THIS! THIS! You have totally nailed it! Oh, yes, every hinky scene we see or don’t see is a Bill POV. Even from the very first episode of the series.

    In my research for my timeline posts over at TAP, I have come across clues that the True Blood events we have been shown are skewed by Bill’s POV. In my attempt to make sense of the events we have been shown I took to the internet and gathered as much information from as many True Blood timelines as I could find. I developed an excel file for each timeline; AVL, FotS, Bloodcopy.com, BonTempsGossip, BabyVampJessica, etc. and have copied them into a merged file to which I added a scene by scene transcript of each season. I am able to place the events that we have ‘seen’ on True Blood month by month, year by year, season, by season.

    The first event I can match between the True Blood timeline and Bloodcopy.com is the first scene of the series when we were shown the two college kids in the Grab-it-Kwik and the clerk was watching Nan Flanagan being interviewed by Bill Maher on the television. Bloodcopy reported this interview on July 10, 2008. ***The first episode we saw implied that this was the night Bill waltzed into Merlotte’s and met Sookie Stackhouse for the first time.***

    An article on Sookie Stackhouse, a Bon Temps resident, appeared on Bloodcopy.com on July 24, 2008, showing a picture of Sookie in the clothes she was wearing when Bill went calling on Sookie and he met Gran, Jason and Tara. ***night 3 that we were shown in the series***

    Bloodcopy.com posted interviews of Sam, Lafayette, Sookie, Tara, Maxine, Rene, Bud and Andy during the months of July and August where they all claim that there are no vampires living in their neighborhood and all of the interviewees claimed to have not met a vampire.

    Tara’s interview posted on September 5, 2008, was most interesting because she stated that vampires (plural) had come into Super-Save-A-Bunch the previous night. ***She still had jer job there and I’m thinkin’ it was Malcolm, Diane and Liam.***

    Then on September 7, 2008, Bloodcopy.com posted an interview from Merlotte’s with Bon Temps’ newest resident, a vampire, William T Compton. His interview put to rest the specualtion that a vampire was moving into the old Compton homestead. ***Couldn’t have been the first night we were shown because Bill was drained by the Rattrays that night. Sookie saved him, then went back to work.***

    On September 8, 2008, Jason Stackhouse was reported to have been arrested for the murder of Maudette Pickens. True Blood showed us Jason’s arrest in what we saw as the second night of the series. ***The night Bill saved Sookie from the Rattrays or night two.***

    Where did night one of the first episode take place? I am convinced that Bill has covered his ass in his own twisted POV. Night one and night two that we were shown in the first epidode took place before those two college kids wandered into the Grab-it-Kwik.

    I suspect that Bill lived in MaryAnn’s house prior to moving to the Compton homestead. ***Looks like Bill built a house that looked just like the Bellefleur’s house and MaryAnn was living there until he came back from Peru.*** The houses are identical except to the front entrance doors and surrounds.

    Bill’s POV is the only explaination for the lack of being able to place night one of the series.

    • #5 by Kat on July 29, 2011 - 12:31 pm

      It seems that everything is mirroring his opinion.
      I was thinking up the recap a couple of days ago and it hit me like a ton of bricks..and honestly I didn’t like that realization lol…no more than I liked Sunny enlightening me to the depths of BIll in the first place but I did like “knowing” as she often says ha.

      I think I read that timeline at the ancient pythoness. It’s amazing that there could be all those consistences. I could see some mistakes being made in that respect but not such a plethora of them.
      That is a huge time gap between the interview and the meeting…that is the most striking to me.

      He was trying to make the audience forget.

  3. #6 by osterby on July 28, 2011 - 9:19 pm

    Sorry, Tara’s interview was interesting because she said she was working at the SSAB and she was shown quiting her jog there on Night one of the first episode.

  4. #7 by osterby on July 28, 2011 - 9:30 pm

    Sorry again, Bill’s POV is the reason we are unable to place Bill’s draining and Bill saving Sookie to give her his blood. He dosn’t want us to know that he met Sookie and gave her his blood well before she waltzed into Merlotte’s. That is why Sookie felt him come into Merlotte’s the night Bill’s POV claimed they met.

    I’ll stop typing now….

  5. #8 by osterby on July 28, 2011 - 9:55 pm

    Kat, I just posted a like to this recap over at TAP!

    • #9 by Kat on July 29, 2011 - 12:20 pm

      Really???? THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  6. #10 by Caroline on July 28, 2011 - 10:00 pm

    This idea is another thing that got me way more obsessed with the show. Many people believe season 2×09 where Sookie sucks the bullets out is bill’s POV (that of an unreliable narrator) because of course Sookie would only do it if she was tricked and it is this awkward scenario. I think it was on TBU or TAP where they posited that this exchange in reality if it was Eric or Sookie’s POV would have been way more sexual. I think the POV changes when Bill Hits Eric and the whole “She’s part of me its done” exchange takes place. In other news Deadline reported Allen ball is about to sign for season 5 hooray!!!!!!!

  7. #11 by sunnynala on July 28, 2011 - 10:21 pm

    Kat, this is FANTASTIC! Thanks for bringing clarity to an issue I was having a lot of trouble with.

    You said: “wanted to be peaceful as a human but I was destined to need to spill blood for power.”

    As dragonlady76 pointed out at TAP, this is the theme of the entire season and it’s not even the subtext, it’s in the TEXT. It seems Bill just can’t hide his preoccupation with ritual sacrifice.

    • #12 by Kat on July 29, 2011 - 12:19 pm

      Thank you so much. I respect your opinion a lot.
      How so?

      I wonder if Jesus mirrors Bill in that respect.

      I have noticed that too and it really makes sense considering how the last season ended unfortunately.

  8. #13 by TruFan on July 29, 2011 - 6:08 am

    Has Eric ever tried to glamour Sookie? I can’t remember, but there may have been a time. I definitely remember Bill trying to glamour her, but I can’t remember what he was trying to glamour her to do. I need to go back and rewatch some episodes!

    I just had this thought, we’ve been taking it for granted that Sookie can never be glamoured. What if she CAN be glamoured, but only by the vampire she’s had the blood of? There have been many times when I could NOT figure out why Sookie went back to Bill. She so easily forgave him anything. I don’t care how great the sex is, her behaviour has not been normal with Bill. This theory completely falls apart if Eric has tried to glamour her though, I was thinking we could count on him not to glamour her because of his respect for her. We know she’s had Eric’s blood as well. It’s interesting that Amnesia Eric hasn’t even tried to glamour her, even though he really wants her.

    • #14 by Kat on July 29, 2011 - 2:25 pm

      Well maybe Eric found out she couldn’t be glamoured….idk but no I don’t think so.
      Well she asked Bill to try to first time for some reason…idk why.

      I was thinking they could use other magic to mess with her mind if not traditional glamouring. Well you can get addicted to someone and she was addicted to Bill and his blood, the chains of first love can be hard sometimes I think.

      Wow, I didn’t think of Amnesia Eric not trying to glamour her…very interesting.

  9. #15 by Anette on July 29, 2011 - 2:00 pm

    nice work, Kat!
    Bill’s attitiude in full bloom, I would call it comptonism: twist a reality to prove you’re not responsible for your own actions and there is always someone to blame for your own weakness and decisions,

    I’m teacher in college, sometimes when my students came to me and were giving me those typical excuses why they didn’t read something I order, or why they don’t bring they papers or homework I had to squise my mouth to not say to them: oh common, stop this compton’s attitude, I’m not buying that, I’m not Sookie to swallow that up!
    i
    n fact the trouble with Bill is that he actually never apologise as he should, never said: what I’ve done was a bad thing, I’m sorry, please forgive me if you can and I can promise I will try never do that again. No, he gave her tons of excuses, “Sookieh, I did it cause I love yeah” bullshits, and in fact – he was repeating his actions even if he knew she wouldn’t accept it. I think deep in heart he is convinced that trouble with Sookie and a reason why this relationship was not OK from the start is that she can’t be glamoured, his life would be so much easier if he just could glamoured her and control her reactions, but no, he has to deal with her unreasonable attitude and waste his time on explanations… damn it fate!

    • #16 by Kat on July 29, 2011 - 2:44 pm

      Thank you!
      Compton always wants the easy way out and putting blame on others is the way to do that….or comparing your actions to another like he tries to do with Eric. However, it’s clear his arguments are illogical and not valid.

      Oh really? You are a professor?
      Ha ha. That is funny.

      Bill never truly lays out his apologizes ever. He simply makes excuses as you say and considers that an apology. It’s part of his self-centered egomania—such a person can never truly love another person.
      I don’t know if glamouring would have worked ultimately….I think Hoyt and Jessica will be an example of the consequences of glamouring to avoid break ups and fights. However, Bill experiences no true guilt like Jessica does.

      • #17 by Anette on July 31, 2011 - 3:27 am

        Not professor but simple PhD, but not for long, I’m looking for a new job, without comptonism day by day 😉
        I’m feeling more as a writer than an academic, so maybe that’s way i’m not fit to structure
        And you have right, that’s funny 😉

    • #18 by osterby on July 29, 2011 - 7:47 pm

      I am not entirely convinced that Sookie can’t be glamoured. We were only shown Bill’s attempt to glamour her in the cemetary on the night Bill came to call.

      Take note of the music that plays when vampires glamour their victims. Re-watch the scene referenced above. No music.

      Is this a clue that……Bill lied to Sookie? And she only thinks that vampires can’t glamour her? Why haven’t any other vampires tried to glamour Sookie?

      • #19 by Kat on July 29, 2011 - 11:06 pm

        I have read a lot of evidence from those such as you and Sunny that suggest otherwise. If the audience can be “glamoured” then why not Sookie?

        Yeah I had never thought about that….why hasn’t any other vampire tried that? surely someone would have tried…

  10. #20 by sunnynala on July 30, 2011 - 2:21 pm

    Then too, there is plain old traditional hypnotism. No mind-control puppeteer would be without this essential tool in his box. There is no reason at all to think Sookie is immune from the art of Mesmer. Combined with the mind-altering drug Bill has fed her on a regular basis, hypnotizing her should be a snap.

    • #21 by Kat on July 31, 2011 - 12:45 pm

      Well maybe it is time to look at a more simple solution 🙂

      Being under the control of his blood should always be taken into account…youve told me that plenty times of course. Hypnotism and his blood–viola!

  11. #22 by TruFan on July 30, 2011 - 3:24 pm

    Maybe this sounds simplistic, but maybe other vampires haven’t tried to glamour sookie because she’s always telling them they can’t before they get the chance. If they hear it from other vampires as well, that would sort of confirm it. Like when Sookie is left with Edgington, Erik says (in front of him) you have to stay and watch him because you can’t be glamoured by him. And when those freaky vampires came to Bill’s house, she says “if you’re trying to glamour me, that doesn’t work on me” but there’s no reason to assume they were trying to glamour her, they were just looking at her.
    She’s so confident about it because she believes it, which makes her believable. I’m sure there’s some sort of psychological theory that would back that up…Kat? 🙂

    • #23 by Kat on July 31, 2011 - 12:48 pm

      Wow, all of you are rolling with the great ideas!
      Yeah they think they can’t glamour her so they never try…

      Well maybe they would have eventually.

      You know that as the Queen said “Everything that exists imagined itself into existence.” This could be the case with Sookie.

      There probably is. I should do more psychology for sure.

  12. #24 by Anette on July 31, 2011 - 3:37 am

    Actually, I think Bill is a vampire who use glamour often then others, don’t you think? It’s like his finger print, it makes his life easier and gives him lot of joy and power.
    It’s not a coinsidence, that person who tries to fix a personal troubles with glamour is Jessica, good doughter of her father… it is something she saw in his life.
    Why Eric or Pam didn’t use that so often? Bill use glamour to eat, to kill, to have screwed joy from violance (with Loreena,in 30.), to fix interpersonal relationships – like with his greatgreatgreatdoughter ;), to get money and clothes (after wolves kidnapeed him, really I was sure that old lady was willing to help him any way, without glamouring her), to get a stripper for a meal, even to buy his girlfriend a diamond rig for God sakes! he just love to use it. When you count you will see, no one use it so often in the show, it’s very compron’s thing…

    • #25 by Kat on July 31, 2011 - 12:50 pm

      Glamouring seems to be Bill’s main talent ha.
      He’s proud of it even as you describe.

      Like father, like daughter in that regard.

      IN MY opinion….He gets pleasure out of having his way with people and having total control…it goes along with his sociopathy that I did an article on. He has no conscience about manipulating people anyway he can when he needs it or wants it.

Leave a Reply

