Take Another Look at These Bill Scenes (4×06-4×07)

I’m not saying that these ideas are true or not but it’s another perspective worth considering before we give Bill ( a hypocritical character proven to be dark at his core when you look at the evidence) any credit:

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

1. 4×06- Bill lets Eric go as he is about to execute him.

In this scene we are supposed to believe that Bill was being merciful when he let Eric go. He realized he went too far with in his jealousy and he just wants Sookie to be happy so he’s not a bad guy after all. Because Eric thinks that they should get back together one day, we should too.

BUT CONSIDER THIS…

Bill wants Sookie and he knows that Sookie still cares about him. IF he kills Eric, he’ll never get a chance with her again. I don’t believe for a second he would take mercy on him because he’s weak. We did see him still going for the stake until he was reminded about Sookie.

In addition, it seems Bill is getting a lot of pleasure out of finally enjoying dominance over Eric.

Best believe that Bill will still try to get rid of Eric (we clearly wants this badly and I don’t think a sappy speech by Eric gave him a real change of heart ). However, he now realizes that he can’t seem to be directly responsible for it.

I also think that Bill considered Eric a professional enemy before and now that he is submissive as Amnesia-Eric, Bill no longer needs to worry about Eric as a professional rival.

2. 4×07- Bill chains Jessica and them himself before the Resurrection:

Bill is supposed to appear the dutiful and loving maker AFTER-ALL he did warn Jessica and is giving her extra protection in his amazing palace. In this scene we are also supposed to believe that Bill was being sympathetic to Jessica and gentle with her  by not giving her too many chains because he has such a big heart.

BUT CONSIDER THIS…

I am not saying Bill has no feelings for Jessica but if Bill REALLY loved Jessica like his own daughter THEN don’t you think that he would have done what was best for her and given her double the amount of chains no matter her whining or her pain? Consider this, woman or men that really love their children would and often make them do things they wouldn’t like (such as put on a helmet) BECAUSE THEY CARE ABOUT THEM AND DON’T WANT THEM TO DIE OR GET HURT.

AND…

This perspective is confirmed when we see a contrasting scene beside it: a genuinely loved Eric is protected by Sookie to the fullest despite his discomfort BECAUSE SOOKIE CAN’T LOSE HIM!

ALSO CONSIDER THIS…

Bill then puts double the amount of chains on himself.

If he thought that would protect Jessica sufficiently…then why does he need double? I don’t think it’s just because he was an older vampire and as we saw later: he clearly did not put enough chains on her.

3. 4×07- Bill expresses remorse for the murderous impulses of  vampires

 

We are once again supposed to believe that Bill is a tortured vampire full of guilt about his past (never mind his recent shortcomings to put it mildly). He hates his own kind and they deserve their comeuppance from Marnie because their so murderous.

BUT CONSIDER THIS…

Bill has always enjoyed his crimes. So much so he didn’t use glamouring while committing them…only using it to cover it up afterward IF he didn’t the victim. Even when he left Lorena, he went to Liam, Diane and Malcolm for more fun and games (i.e- killing unwilling victims in a gory spectacle). I don’t think ALL vampires were or are the way Bill is; we have seen no evidence Eric kills or killed for fun unless attacked or in a war/revenge situation (no random victims) and even Jessica killed accidently. He also slipped into his “procurer” role with Russell quite easily. If he really feels like he deserves it, why did he go so far as to “double-up” on the chains in order to save himself?  Why get so ambitious within the vampiric world?

ALSO CONSIDER THIS…

As Jessica talks about eating Marnie/ Antonia, we see Bill’s face light up with perverse pleasure (not just in the humorous manner most audiences are supposed to see it as) in this truly brilliant shot by the director (also a truly brilliant acting move by Stephen Moyer):

His mouth even twitches like he is aroused. Here we see the true face of Bill Compton again.

  1. #1 by anna on August 11, 2011 - 5:48 am

    Great post Kat!

    • #2 by Kat on August 11, 2011 - 5:31 pm

      thank you so much Anna!

  2. #3 by Tabi Thompson on August 11, 2011 - 5:58 am

    Thank you!!!!! I was totally thinking that about the chains on Jessica! He tells Sookie that if she truly cares about Eric, she’ll chain him with silver, but then in practically the next scene, we see him not putting enough silver on Jessica. I don’t think he is intentionally malicious in this, but he is a freakin’ idiot if he thought that that would be enough silver for her! Sometimes being a parent means making difficult decisions, and time and time again we see Bill making bad decisions where Jessica is concerned because he’s so caught up in his own pity parties and such. I feel truly sorry for Jessica that in her human life she had crappy parents and now in her vampire life, she has a crappy maker. And I didn’t catch the facial expression on Moyer during that whole speech between him and Jessica, but then again, by that point I was only kind of listening to them because their relationship makes me sick, just because it is so fake and forced on Bill’s side. This is the same vampire that “released” her when things went shitty between him and Sookie. He seriously released a newborn vampire that could only be what a month of 2 old by that point? Pam had to teach her how to feed without killing and then what to do if she did kill. His attempts at being a good maker now just come off as him manipulating yet another person…kind of his non-romantic Sookie replacement. Either that, or he wants to show the AVL that he can be a good maker, but it doesn’t feel like his heart is really in it.

    I have an unrelated side note too: He never even told Jessica the truth about why Sookie left! If he was truly repentant about his dishonesty with Sookie, he’d have said something to someone like Jessica. Instead, he lets Jessica believe that Sookie would have no reason to want to be gone for a length of time. And seriously, he thought she was dead. Maybe he didn’t realize that he wouldn’t be able to feel her while in fairy, but he should of thought after a few months that she might be there. And if Claudine really did tell him what Sookie is, then he’d have no reason to believe that harm would come to Sookie. We got no indication that Eric (or Russel) went to fairy like Bill did, so Eric would have no way of knowing about a place like that, and yet, Eric is the one that has complete and total faith that she would come back and that she wasn’t dead. So stupid!

    • #4 by Kat on August 11, 2011 - 6:13 pm

      Well yeah I mean she may not require what Eric would be I don’t think one chain around her stomach was going to cut it.
      I don’t think he was really trying to kill Jessica either but I do think he was being idiotic and not showing the concern that a loving parent would.
      At least Bill is making some decisions now…he didn’t even bother for a long time.

      I think that Bill has some care for Jessica now even though HE CLEARLY DID NO BEFORE. However, I think it’s because he’s now lonely and Jessica is frankly the only one that gives a crap about him at all and is around him….Sookie cares but she’s not around anymore and is in fact dating someone else and everyone else that pays any attention to him does it in a buisness capacity not because they care.

      Yes, I can’t believe he lectures Jessica about being honest with Hoyt when he never came clean to her about how his own dishonesty destroyed his relationship with Sookie.

      He is POMPOUS…which probably means he over-estimates himself…

  3. #5 by Serenity on August 11, 2011 - 8:58 am

    I think you are being too hard on Bill. I don’t think he intended to not restrain Jessica. She is a newborn. Only 3 years tops of a vampire. She is not nearly as strong as the older vamp. You would restrain a 3 year old as tightly as you would an adult.

    • #6 by Kat on August 11, 2011 - 6:15 pm

      Im not sure he intentially wanted Jessica to walk out into the sun but he wasn’t being a good parent by indulging her and not restraing her as much as he should have. I am not sure that amount of silver correlates with age just at how much a human needs to restrain them when their determined. I don’t think that a totally determined vampire of an age would be held down by that litte and that’s exactly what he saw. SURELY Bill could have guessed that might have been the case after being around so long.

      • #7 by osterby on August 13, 2011 - 4:41 pm

        Great post Kat. I was struck by the contrast of these chaining scenes to the first time we were shown a vampire being chained.
        Remember when Sookie saved Bill from the Rattrays? Do you remember the thin silver lariat that held Bill down while he was being drained? He appeared quite incapacitated.

  4. #8 by pbt on August 11, 2011 - 10:34 am

    Thanks, Kat. I have read so much within the past weeks about how awesome Biel is as King William Compton that I am considering calling the Vatican. I want to make an appointment with the Pope to start the canonization process for Saint Biel Compton.

    Really there are folks, who seriously think that this character is up for King Vampire of the Millennium. The last shot with Biel smiling was the clincher for me. Jessica is describing how she is going to eat the face of the witch and Biel is smiling.*rolls eyes*

    I want to know why Bill didn’t just send Jessica to New Orleans or some other location that is far from danger of the spell. I mean they are vampires and she could be in NO in a matter of moments. I think I think too much about this show. Was Biel hoping that Jessica would meet the sun and he wouldn’t be responsible any more?

    • #9 by Kat on August 11, 2011 - 6:20 pm

      Thank you PBT! I always love it when you stop by.

      It’s like he moans on for a little while as usual and suddenly everyone forgets how horrible he was and has been….and everyone forgets that he went to Liam, Diane, and Malcolm after leaving Lorena because he was supposedly feeling all murderous. They also seem to not realize that he could just glamour his victims throughout a feeding but any does it afterward to cover it up. There is no reason he would do this unless he enjoyed the way the fear makes the blood taste and they’re struggle.

      GREAT POINT and as I said to the person above:
      I am not sure that amount of silver correlates with age just at how much a human needs to restrain them when they are determined. I don’t think that a totally determined vampire of an age would be held down by that litte and that’s exactly what he saw. SURELY Bill could have guessed that might have been the case after being around so long.

  5. #10 by TruFan on August 11, 2011 - 1:13 pm

    I did notice the smile Bill got when Jessica talked about eating Marnie, and it did not even occur to me this was meant to be humorous. It didn’t look like an indulgent smile you might give a child, it looked like, YES, that WOULD be good. Bill creeps me out on so many levels. I really don’t get how anyone thinks he’s romantic in any way. I used to hate it when he would bite Sookie during sex. It wasn’t the biting either, I’ve seen other vampire movies where biting HAS seemed sexy, but it never has with Bill. It’s always seemed nasty and gross. I was always thinking, why are you interrupting this hot sex to do something so nasty, Bill? Of course I have my own opinions about why, now. lol.

    • #11 by Kat on August 13, 2011 - 4:19 pm

      Remember, I was attempting to speak from the perspective of a Bill lover ha ha. I think maybe it was supposed to come off like that to Bill lovers but everyone else was supposed to see it exactly how I did.
      And it was exactly how you described it.

      Yes it just seems like that his sole reason for having sex: blood. You never seem him ever have sex without blood, unlike Eric. Remember when he had just drained her and almost killed her and she only lived because he put an iv of his blood into her..AND THEN he still insists on taking her blood during sex even though we see Sookie clearly pushing Bill always from biting her during the sex at first? That’s what convinced me its all about the blood for him. SO INCONSIDERATE

  6. #12 by Anonymous on August 12, 2011 - 8:25 am

    Great observations Kat.
    Tabi Thompson made a terrific point saying Jessica had to go to Pam to learn how to feed without killing. Bill in S2 gave Sookie a lecture in bed about new vampires and their inability to control urges. I give no pass to Bill and his evil no matter how much he pretends. Because that’s what it is to me, pretence.

    • #13 by Kat on August 13, 2011 - 4:22 pm

      thank you!

      I just can’t believe all some people need is some whiny speech about his humanity and everything he does is forgiven but nothing Eric did is forgiven even considering what he’s done for her and the context in which he is done it. I cant believe after the reveal next season that anyone takes him that seriously and doesn’t see him for what he is or thinks a whiny speech fixes all of that.

      I think it’s because they see Eric’s warrior ways as “evil” when its just the circumstances of battle.

      I liked a point I read about him not even telling Jessica that whole truth about Sookie even though he supposedly cares about her now and told her to be honest with Hoyt if she really loves him….why don’t you VAMP UP Bill?

  7. #14 by pbt on August 13, 2011 - 4:54 pm

    Points to Osterby:

    I think the silver that was used on Bill in E1S1 was purposely small. Bill had glamoured the Ratts. We know the silver wouldn’t have really held Bill down but Sookie didn’t know. Another level of the Ratts beating that has not been disclosed yet. Speculations of course.

    • #15 by TruFan on August 13, 2011 - 6:58 pm

      That’s a really excellent point pbt. That makes sense to me, but I also agree that the witches could have made the pull so strong that a vampire could get through silver they wouldn’t usually be able to. It could be a combination of both things. What makes me lean towards the latter though, is that the silver they used to hold the King (can’t think of his name suddenly, lol) down in cement wasn’t very much, was it? I’ll have to go back and rewatch that.

    • #16 by Kat on August 18, 2011 - 4:04 pm

      I agree about the silver…it pointed to an inside job even more then!

  8. #17 by osterby on August 13, 2011 - 6:05 pm

    I am seeing a theme to this season. We are being shown contrasts through parallels that clues to Bill deceptions: The Rattray’s, Bill on ladies who live with their Gran’s, A-Eric selfless acts vs. Bill’s self serving acts, Eric’s truths vs. Bill lies…In my eyes the evidence is mounting.

    AB will never hit us over the head with disclosures. He is too cleaver for that. The truth is being revealed in very subtle ways.

    • #18 by Kat on August 18, 2011 - 4:05 pm

      He only hits people over the head with what he wants them to believe/ be decieved with…he never hands the audience the truth until he’s convinced some of them were deceived or continue to be deceived.

  9. #19 by pbt on August 13, 2011 - 7:58 pm

    I agree Osterby. AB is much too clever that’s why I found it interesting that AB had Eric outright tell about Bill’s beating of Sookie. I am interested to see what’s the next revelation that AB is going to beat us over the head with. Perhaps Bill tattling on Eric bringing Lorena to Dallas to kidnap Bill. I guess that would be almost equal.

    • #20 by Kat on August 18, 2011 - 4:07 pm

      Maybe so although I dont see what’s so equal about that. Plus Eric already explained to Sookie why he didn’t bring Bill.

  10. #21 by pbt on August 13, 2011 - 8:01 pm

    TruFan, I think that the Antonia spell is going to make Russell “awake” for lack of a better word and have him escape from his cement tomb. Not sure if it will be revealed this season. But I wouldn’t be surprised if Russell gets some help from Debbie or perhaps Debbie and Alcide. I suspect that they are living in the house on top of Russell’s tomb.

    • #22 by TruFan on August 14, 2011 - 5:35 am

      Pbt, that would be the PERFECT way to bring Russell back. I’m surprised I didn’t even think of that, but it makes good sense. It’s a pity we can’t figure out a logical way to bring back Russell’s lover, because he was fantastic. (My favourite non-main character!)

    • #23 by Kat on August 18, 2011 - 4:08 pm

      I think maybe Debbie is going to get involved with Antonia (the witch war)…although I am not sure why though.
      I thought it was because they’d bring V into play like in the books but I haven’t seen that yet and I doubt it since she hates them so much.

  11. #24 by pbt on August 14, 2011 - 6:21 pm

    Well now that you mention, TruFan, I have thought of a way to bring back Talbot. We all know that Russell had Talbot’s remains in a jar. Or at least some of his remains. I conjecture that they could have Russell performing some magic or perhaps a witch that he works with to resurrect Talbot with the help of Sookie’s blood. Alan Ball sort of hinted at that last season.

    I thought that Russell has more jars of Talbot’s remains other than the jar that Sookie flushed down Fangtasia’s drain.

    I would also love to see them bring back Franklin too. I remember Tara spitting on his remains. I always saw that as perhaps a sign of some magic too. I mean really Alan Ball can do what ever he wants with the characters.

    This week we have the witch and vampire show down in the cemetery. Really what was Bill thinking. The witches are necromancers. They raise the dead. We could end up seeing Gran, perhaps even Rene being brought back from the dead. OMG. That would be so cool. Oh and don’t forget MA’s remains were buried nearby too. There are so many possibilities. There has been a lot of talk this season about the human spirit never dies.

    • #25 by Kat on August 18, 2011 - 4:10 pm

      Yes I think we were shown that vampires are screwing with magic as well and I have no doubt that it’s Bill as well for some reason as Sunny has suggested in the past.

      I wondered why they mentioned something about MA or her statue in spoilers.

  12. #26 by TruFan on August 14, 2011 - 6:48 pm

    I wouldn’t like to see Franklin come back, he was even creepier and less sexy than Bill! lol!

  13. #27 by pbt on August 14, 2011 - 6:52 pm

    I know what you are saying but I always have a soft spot for those True Blood baddies:

    Malcolm, Diane and Liam

    Franklin

    Lorena

    Russell

    But there are several I would prefer never to see again:

    MaryAnne

    Bill Compton

  14. #28 by anna on August 15, 2011 - 5:31 pm

    I don’t think that Bill really cares about Jessica that much. When Jason kills the guard, in what looks like self-defense, and saves her it looks as if Bill might have killed Buckie to make Jessica feel guilty. He also got a chance to shake hands on a deal with Jason which gives him a hold over him as well.

    • #29 by Kat on August 18, 2011 - 4:12 pm

      I agree. I just wonder why he feels he has to fake it now although i assumed he acts like he cares about her because he can use her when need be but why let her walk out in the sun like that???

      I wondered why he just looked knocked out and then was bleeding when they returned as Sunny pointed out..
      Disturbing.

Leave a Reply

