Sookie and Eric Shower Scene / Snow Scene Body Analysis (including some body language)

Well I understand that some people were disappointed by this scene (partly because of the comparison to the books) but I felt it was very meaningful and meant a lot for this couple…

 ^^^Sookie does not need to wash away the blood now. Eric is the True Blood…

Sookie washes away the blood during the show scene with Bill.Their relationship, their blood exhange.... was going down the drain literally.Their relationship, their blood exhange.... was going down the drain literally.

____________________________________________________________________________________

 Eric and Sookie once again show that they trust eachother completely (looking into eachother’s eyes for a very long time and touching eachother’s head areas) and literally want to get lost in one another. Simply, they want to take care of each other (caressing eachother’s cheeks gently).  Such a show of affection shows that their love is real.

Rubbing backs/butts constantly indicates the sensual nature of their relationship, yet also equality in the relationship. How? It pleases your partner to rub their body but also indulges your sexual desires.

 

This also shows the sensual nature of their relationship as well as their mutual trust but we also see  that touching the neck in such a manner and indicating trust through touching the neck would be especially meaningful considering he is a vampire.

Obviously, Sookie is embracing everything about Eric during this scene…including his viking side (which is obviously representive of the setting they are in). In addition, we also hear her saying that she loves “everything.” This means she didn’t think it was possible to love this viking side but now she does. After their blood bond, they are connected in all ways and they are inside each other and Sookie is even inside his human side now.

Woods are representive of dreams as “natural change.” This change is natural between them and not actually forced, despite the spell.

Again Eric and Sookie are showing equality in the relationship by switching back and forth from Eric on top to Sookie on top. When a man likes a woman on top it means he makes pleasing the woman his priority during sex; her needs can come before his sometimes and he doesn’t mind being dominated at times. (Remember that Sookie tried to reclaim dominance with Bill by being on top during their last sex scene together but as we saw- it was a struggle from Sookie and here Eric is letting her doing it as they gently make love).

Clear skies on a snowy day obviously show how bright their future together would be. The sky is the limit although the trees may represent the obstacles in their way. Although there are obstacles, the snow reaches them (everything is possible and they will see it through).

If it was rain instead of snow it would symbolize a purficiation of their relationship. However, the snow suggests none is needed like there was no water in the shower needed. But snow that includes brilliant sunlight (apart from symbolizing Eric himself) indicates that they will both realize the full scope of their power as a couple and overcome all of their adversities.

Again, they are connecting and totally lost in one another by looking into each other’s eyes and caressing the other’s face with a type of  cupping and caressing motion. By being so close head-t0-head with the intertwined arms they are showing their trust and proving once again that their love is real.

________________________________________________________________________________

                                                                        It’s not possible!

                                                                   Everything is possible…

                                                                      (for Eric and Sookie)

  1. #1 by sunnynala on August 19, 2011 - 3:49 pm

    Thank you Kat! I love when you do your wonderful body language analysis!

    • #2 by Kat on August 19, 2011 - 4:02 pm

      Thank you for stopping by as always! I was so impressed with your latest article but I dont think my comment went through for some reason.

      Awwh I do this for ya’ll of course.

      • #3 by sunnynala on August 19, 2011 - 4:40 pm

        Oh, I never saw your comment! I just checked the spam queue but it isn’t there. Try it again!

  2. #4 by hiddeneloise on August 19, 2011 - 4:15 pm

    I love the breakdown you did. So many people missed the point, it seems. Some, because raw, non-cynical emotion makes them uncomfortable, and some because they wanted the book scene re-enacted. But I loved it, for all the reasons you specified. And I didn’t mind the over-the-top sweetness. Obviously it’s a dream of perfection, it’s a happy bubble they can’t sustain at the moment, because Eric won’t be this free of defenses forever, and Sookie knows she can’t keep him like that. But the important point is that the underlying emotion is real. The things they say to each other are the things they may not be able to vocalize when lucid, but feel nonetheless:

    “I trust you, Eric.”
    “You and I. Possible.”

    The spell will be broken, and I expect a lot of angst for them, but the connection they forged is real and meaningful. This situation has changed them and their relationship irrevocably. It’s clear that, however long it will take for them to cut through Eric’s freshly rediscovered 1,000-year-old shields and Sookie’s misgivings about those shields, they can find their way back to each other. Because the foundation is there and it’s solid.

    • #5 by Kat on August 19, 2011 - 4:28 pm

      Yes, unfortunately so.

      I agree. I suspect after this “special blood bond” was formed that eric will be struggling with how vulnerable this “SBB” makes him next season. I think that although Eric will be complete next season, this “SBB” will change his relationship with Sookie forever even when/if he doesnt remember….aside from Sookie knowing.

  3. #6 by Tabi Thompson on August 19, 2011 - 4:54 pm

    I really like these body language analysis posts of yours! It took me a few viewings to like this scene, but it really is a beautiful scene once you think of all the meaning behind it all!

    I was wondering though if we might see Eric have resentment to the “SBB” (as you called it) next season in a similar way Sookie resented it in the books. Eric (with his memories) might feel that he was “forced” into the bond even though as AE he was completely willing and initiated it. If it does play out that way, it will be interesting to see the differences in the reversal of the book bonding.

    • #7 by Kat on August 21, 2011 - 3:57 pm

      Well I can see Eric resenting it and Sookie regretting it at first. I think Eric will know how deep their bond was for him to go there no matter his state of mind and that will push him to get the truth from Sookie if he doesn’t remember his time under amnesia. I think, like in the books, Sookie might attribute her love for Real Eric to the “SBB” instead of knowing its true.

  4. #8 by Gaby on August 19, 2011 - 6:00 pm

    Hi Kat! you body language analysis…great as always! 😀
    I noted (and I suppose most of us) that the “V-trip” after Sookie drink Eric´s blood, was so significative, specially because she never experienced something like this with Bill (and had she taken a looooot of Bill´s blood)
    I like how relaxed she is with him, because she knows it´s not going to last. I´m sad about it, but, as much as I understand that this was the only way Sookie could “enter” Eric was like this.
    I like more the old Eric (Sookie doesn´t know yet but old Eric is what she really needs hehehe) :), but i donñt know what to expect (from Allan Ball I mean hahaha)
    And I like, really like ( I should say I was surprised) how aware she is of Eric´s actions for her sake and I hope she is now aware what BIll is and compare.
    Bye!!!!

  5. #9 by znb on August 19, 2011 - 7:32 pm

    i love when u do these posts,and u know i have to say,i was VERY glad when the water in that shower never turned on…..otherwise it would have been like that horrid B/S shower scene which was needed to wash away the shame,i love how u put it “Sookie washes away the blood during the show scene with Bill.Their relationship, their blood exhange…. was going down the drain literally.” i so agree! she did not need this with eric.

    • #10 by Kat on August 21, 2011 - 3:25 pm

      To me that was the most significant aspect of this scene. Its so awesome that many others like u saw that significance.

  6. #11 by TruFan on August 19, 2011 - 10:15 pm

    Your body language posts are always my favourite. I’m actually one of the (apparently) few who really liked this shower scene, because it felt like a spiritual journey for them. Bill and Sookie never shared anything like it, and they never could have because Bill is incapable of that sort of depth.

    I’m glad Sookie and Erik are together, but I find it so sad that Bill was her first. What a horrible way to be introduced to love. Still, she seems to be recovering just fine, lol. But seriously, from Sookie’s point of view, how much time has passed now? I really don’t understand how she went from hating everything about Bill to pledging to fight by his side. I just don’t find it believable. I feel like there are important scenes missing that should have shown us how this transition happened.

    Anyway, what is Marnie planning with Eric, that’s the big scary question this week!

    • #12 by Kat on August 21, 2011 - 3:24 pm

      Thank you. They were the reason I started this blog and are a favorite of many. I think it makes sense how’s she acting bc she hasn’t had any time to get over Bill but I can see her acting differently later on its just his blood keeps infecting her! That makes me angry more than anything…I don’t know and well find out tonight I guess. I bet she wants to use him to bring vampires to her or something…hmmm

  7. #13 by Claudia (@himeBRQ) on August 21, 2011 - 5:59 am

    Lovely analysis. I didn’t dislike the scene when I first watched it, I thought it was delicate and funny and certainly meaningful, though I was definitely expecting something less corny and deeper (like Sookie actually smelling Eric’s memories and having a vision of a snippet of his past). But again I didn’t dislike it. Too bad the majority of people found it cheesy in an almost unbearable way.
    I think the combination of Viking elements with “light” elements symbolizes the possible union of Eric’s and Sookie’s natures in a very visually powerful way. Unfortunately the dialogue was corny, after a lot of corny scenes. I get why people are tired to see this. I have to say, I’m full ready for the real deal, for the return of RealEric, I want to see how he behaves and what he will remember of his time with Sookie.

    • #14 by Kat on August 21, 2011 - 3:21 pm

      I understand that as well its just that I think bookies of all people should remember that Book 4 was lovely but it was also very corny at times. Amnesia Eric is very corny because he’s very childlike and Sookie is corny right along with him because she is in her 20’s and hasn’t had many relationships and has just found out her first love wasn’t totally real……..I expected this season with them to be total cheese but it will progress into something much deeper. As far as I recall, sookie and bills relationship took cheese to a whole other level especially with that theme song and I don’t expect them to ever progress.

  1. Talktrueblood’s Best of Season 4-With Poll Results « Talktrueblood's Blog

Leave a Reply

