Why I Think Sookie Might End Up Single in the End (if not with Eric)

Recently, we were treated to images of Sookie entertaining thoughts of being a “modern” woman by having two suitors at once:

It seems to me that Alan Ball’s/ HBO’s story about Sookie has less to do with who she’s going to end up with (though they will play it like that for ratings and fans of Skarsgard, Moyer, and Manganiello or their respective book/show characters) and more to do with Sookie’s own personal growth.

Many bloggers, including my friends at True Blood Underground and the Ancient Pythoness, have emphasized the way that Bill has a negative impact on her personal development and Eric has a positive impact on her development. Consider that outside of who you think is best for Sookie; when you think of it outside of Eric versus Bill or possibly Alcide then it is clear that we are meant to see Sookie’s evolution as a woman through this story more than anything else.

As I mentioned before and you may already know, Alan Ball has stated that he’s “Team Sookie.”  This could not only refer to Sookie’s little fantasy/dream, it can also refer to the fact he’s more concerned with her development than the person (s) she decides to end up with.

Theoretically, “[Sookie] has to be somebody’s or [she] won’t be (as Pam said).”  However, how long do you think it is before someone more powerful than a sheriff or even a king of Bill’s stature comes up to scoop her up?  We all know that Bill already lied to the Authority about why QSA wanted her so they wouldn’t scoop her up…

…and Eric is keenly aware that he must claim her in order to protect her as well as be with her in the end (as a couple).

How long before the Authority claims Sookie for themselves and she is no longer about to enjoy her home and the simple need for love?

Let us get this out: Sookie can never settle down and have children. They may be Fae enough to be in danger of a similar fate as herself or she will be in too much danger herself to look out for another defenseless soul. Sookie will be in hot demand and coveted by various vampires and/or supes and/or  powerful groups such as the Authority and so a stable life of marriage will never really be in the cards . She will never have a stable “human-like” life. The best she can hope for in order to stay close to home is to be claimed by a vampire WHO SHE CAN TRUST (Bill proved himself untrustworthy at least in her eyes) who will safeguard her and her secret and then guide her through vampire politics; in order to navigate this world this she will have to toughen up and embrace life as a supe (something Eric encourages and Bill discourages). However, as I said, Eric versus Bill may only matter in terms of her development.

BUT toughing up and embracing her supe-hood means that she might have to give-up this idea of an idealistic life she grew up with as a human and embrace the fast paced life of a Supernatural in a vampire’s world (it’s already a reality). Eventually she may be claimed by a group such as the Authority and have no time for a typical committed relationship and may have to embrace life as a STRONG, INDEPENDENT SUPERNATURAL WOMAN and play on what she has to offer.  At this point, she may have time to enjoy the company of Eric, Alcide, or G0d-forbid Bill OR all three OR someone else but she’ll never be able to actually hold on to a commited relationship with any of them being in constant danger and having a tight “work-load.”

In this case, her story will have to be about her personal development into this strong, independent supernatural woman and forgetting the ties-that-bind like a committed relationship and a child ….A “modern” career woman.

  1. #1 by French K. on August 27, 2011 - 10:59 am

    Hello, I love your site and come often read your analysis always full of lessons about our

    favorite characters, even though I never commented. Well, until now. (I apologize in

    advance for my English very French).

    I have feeling that Sookie could have already chosen Eric, and “told” us that by her

    choice of clothing (for her and the two men) and by behavior of three of them.

    – Sookie was wearing stiletto heels. Sexy, yes, but I’m mainly noticing that she no longer

    has to be balance on tiptoe to kiss Eric (and the heels are not necessary to kiss Bill).

    The lingerie is sexy too, but red. In Dallas, she was wearing lingerie for Bill, but it

    was white.

    – She dressed Eric, not with the clothes he was wearing the last time she saw him, but

    with those he was wearing when she returned to FL. In the evening when he said to her that

    he was the only one to not have give up on her. He also has this ring around his neck

    (which for me, look like a ring for a woman). We saw this ring only at the beginning of

    season 3, after that Bill made his request to Sookie, and not at all in season 4. Eric has

    displayed both good-manners and respect by appearing at the door(the first), but also raw

    masculinity in the way to go to Sookie and kiss her.

    – She dressed Bill with the same shirt as AE and a jacket fabric (although of a different

    color). Again, nothing to do with what he was wearing the last time Sookie saw him. He

    insolently appeared without invitation and had a mischievous and arrogant behavior

    throughout.

    The mix of clothing and behavior between Eric and Bil in this dream suggests to me that

    all of this ( the styles and attitudes) is WHAT Sookie likes. Her problem is that each of

    the two men showed her only one side of their personality – Bill : “Gentleman of South”,

    Eric : “Alpha-rough”

    Sookie loves both, in effect, but the two styles, not necessarily the two men.

    I think that by choosing to dress and to behave in this way the two men, Sookie is saying

    she knows that Eric has all of this into him and she will choose him IF he lets his

    softer-and-polite side out (at least with her). In counterpart, SHE will let Sookie-Saucy

    out for him.

    What do you think of my “feeling”? Am I just being a romantic dreaming? (Sorry, to have

    written a novel 🙂 )

    • #2 by Kat on August 27, 2011 - 4:16 pm

      Thank you so much and WELCOME French K.

      I had not considered the choice of clothing but it seems much for tailored to Eric than Bill now that you mentioned it. I guess I should have analyzed that dream.

      Her lingerie was still more modest too of course and no heels needed for Bill lol
      Plus it seems the modest lingerie for Bill was to appeal to his need for dominance/southern gentlemen thing while the lingerie for Eric empowers her.

      I wondered about the ring myself…brilliant theory.

      I love how you describe that she likes that persona of Bill but really loves the whole Eric…it also clarifies the previous dream.
      That’s what he loves anyway.

      No I totally understand and it actually clarifies/improves upon my own thoughts.

      No I love long responses 🙂

  2. #3 by Ethan Ralph (@theralphmtown) on August 27, 2011 - 3:42 pm

    I think you may be on to something. You can see her evolution throughout the course of the series…less dependent on a man now than she was in the first two seasons. Ofc I think that’s more of an evolution of her character than a statement on who the man in question is. She was very inexperienced with relationships at the beginning (and still is really), but is now starting to acquire some wisdom and worldliness.

    • #4 by Kat on August 27, 2011 - 4:18 pm

      Yes, exactly. Well I do too as well but I think the men are in question mostly in terms of how they affect her character/development than who she needs to be with in the end or now.

      Yes, and that worldliness is necessary I think for where her character is heading as I said…into a world of necessary independence.

  3. #5 by osterby on August 27, 2011 - 3:52 pm

    I agree with you French K. It is becoming more apparent that the dream sequences are showing us (viewers/TB characters) what our (TB characters/viewers) dreams in real life are/do…they are a product of our subconscious.

    Thank you Kat, for this post. This confirms that AB and the writers are taking Sookie in the same direction as Charlaine has taken her. The stories are slightly different but the result is the same. Sookie is facing the same issues 11 books in.

    • #6 by Kat on August 27, 2011 - 4:12 pm

      I think it can be subconscious or is mostly the subconscious but can obviously be manipulated by the blood ( a form of magic) or magic itself as well.

      I think so too or that’s how I saw it and I am glad you did too. Some people were pointing out what happens with them in the books but since the book isn’t over, there are definitely no guarantees it will end up like that when its over……..yes, that’s how it looks in book 11 and any thoughts of settling down seem more and more unlikely as she confronts this life except its more extreme on True Blood because Sookie is way more Fae and there is the daywalking, etc.

  4. #7 by TruFan on August 27, 2011 - 9:30 pm

    If that had been a real dream (like in real life) we couldn’t be sure that Bill was even Bill. What I mean is in dreams people are often just symbols for traits or even other people. I think French K. was on the right track. I think Bill and Eric in the dream could really have been symbolizing the 2 Erics (amnesia Eric and the “real” Eric)

    But the sad truth is, I found that scene really boring. I mean, I didn’t even think it was possible to make a love scene with 3 people boring, lol. Of course it wasn’t really a love scene at all, was it? It was just a bunch of Sookie talk that didn’t really make a lot of sense to me, and wasn’t very interesting.

    The only thing I’ll add here, is that IF the dream was as discussed, symbolic of the 2 Erics, then Eric’s sad look when Sookie said she wanted both could have been her fear of how the real Eric would react after her relationship with amnesia Eric. If that makes any sense.

    • #8 by Kat on August 27, 2011 - 10:23 pm

      Of course.
      Wow, I like where you’re going with the idea that Bill is supposed to represent Amnesia Eric. I guess Sookie still doesn’t realize that isn’t the real Bill…lol…

      Anyway, I found the scene boring too or I would have done a separate analysis by now. ME either lol.
      Men don’t want to see two guys and women don’t want to see two guys if one is one that they loathe (im counting Eric and Bill fans) …it was a bad idea ha ha.

      Wow…that is brilliant…I think maybe the total eric would be hurt by her liking him with his memory stripped away but not the total vampire.

  5. #9 by TruFan on August 28, 2011 - 3:09 pm

    I wasn’t sure where I should put this comment, but I’ve been doing a re-watch of True Blood. I’ve only watched the first 3 episodes so far, but with what we know about Bill NOW, it makes for interesting viewing.

    I’m pretty sure that Sookie DID have Bill’s blood before she remembers having it, she has a sexy dream about him. That’s not proof but it is interesting. Especially since in later seasons Eric mentions that Bill gave Sookie his blood the first night they met. (Also, interesting note, Sookie at the start says things like, oh shoot, and by episode 3 is swearing like a sailor. interesting personality change isn’t it?)

    I am now 100% convinced that Sookie CAN be glamoured, and in fact is glamoured by Bill on fairly regular basis. During the scene in the first episode Sookie asks Bill to try glamouring her, he claims he can’t…yet soon afterwards he says “remove your scarf” and she does so immediately, just like the way people obey commands they get while glamoured. It’s like he was proving to himself he could actually do it…you know…just in case he couldn’t.
    The next time it “appears” that Sookie “can’t” be glamoured is when Bill’s 3 creepy friends answer the door, she asks if the one guy is trying to glamour her, and he insincerely says, yes. However, the woman doesn’t appear to buy that, and she’s just about to try glamouring Sookie when Bill interrupts her. I’m going to keep a very close eye to see if at any time any vampire actually attempts and fails at glamouring sookie, because I don’t believe she is immune to it AT ALL.

    Also, it seems like the reason she even goes to Bill’s house is because she sees something on the news about Steve Newlin’s father being murdered in a freak tornado. RIGHT AFTER she told Bill about how to fake a tornado. Then, she more or less seems to forget all about it. (I actually did too, when I saw that this time, I was just shocked.)

    I think Sookie’s grandma was glamoured before Sookie ever even met Bill. Grandma thinks Sookie got a date that night…Sookie seems completely surprised she would think this. Grandma is REALLY pro vampire, I mean ridiculously so, encouraging Sookie to go for it. Even Tara mentions to Sam (in episode 3) how really bizarre and out of character this seems. (Remember that Grandma is like a second mother to Tara…she would know if this was odd behaviour or not)

    That’s just a start…like I said, wasn’t sure where to put this, so sorry if it’s inappropriate Kat

    • #10 by Kat on August 28, 2011 - 5:41 pm

      You can comment anywhere you would like.

      Yes, as you mentioned, it’s also confusing that Eric claims Bill gave Sookie blood “The night you met.”….but if you look back it not only SEEMS to be after that dream but not the first night but a subsequent night/ second night.
      Bill’s blood definitely changed her personality for worse and Eric’s changes her for the better…well not so much as changes her but brings her best out.

      I don’t think Sookie can be glamoured in the traditional sense but magic can be used against her just like any other being and I think Bill is using magic (that will be another article). It’s not just the magic in general it’s the copious amounts of his blood working inside her so he can control her. I wonder if Eric or anyone else will ever try and find out.

      I think that not only was Bill glamouring her Gran before but also during their times together….he’s so proficient it can be done without much effort. I can’t believe a traditional and religious woman like Gran would send Sookie out with a vampire—no question—-even if his manners were on point.

      Well if you listen to TBU/ Sunny, she even believes he killed Gran and glamoured it into Renee that he did it instead of Bill but I don’t know why he would have done that except to make Sookie more vulnerable to him…so…..

  6. #11 by TruFan on August 28, 2011 - 6:41 pm

    Maybe he did it out of spite, that happens right after her date with Sam (to go hear Bill speak..ouch!). Bill seems to believe that Jason has done the other killing at this point, so maybe he thought with the 2 of them out of the way, he’d be the only person left to turn to. He probably figured he could easily deal with Sam by glamouring or killing him if he needed to.

    It’s funny, but rewatching these, I am realizing that Bill doesn’t even seem like he’s really even trying to get Sookie to like him, I think that was an unintended side effect. Also, he is really creepy the few times he actually smiles, lol. Even Sookie voices that she’s unsure and scared, but of course glamoured Grandma puts all those fears to rest.

    • #12 by Kat on August 30, 2011 - 3:10 am

      Oh yes Bills objective the entire time was to tie Sookie to him anyway he could. I wouldn’t put killing people she loves past him. (Remember I believe Bill has sociopathic tendencies). Nothing is above what Bill needs to do to get what he wants and Bill will be fake if need be to achieve his ends…Yes I have noticed that! Lol. Well I wouldn’t say that exactly its that Bill adjusts his approach…he goes in assuming she’s some uneducated, unrefined waitress that probably will be attracted to some dangerous vampire she can share her fangbanging fantasies with. When he discovers that that approach won’t work for her he suddenly adopts the southern gentlemen persona and probably begins glamouring and manipulating Grandmother into thinking the same thing about him/ perceiving him as that so shell give Sookie her blessing.

  7. #13 by Chris on August 29, 2011 - 10:20 pm

    @TruFan, you sound exactly like Sunny at http://www.sunnynala.wordpress.com and Renee at http://www.ancientpythoness.com. I think Kat provides the psychological aspect of TB because she is excellent with body language and reading the “hidden meaning.” The other two provide a different aspect which I think you will also enjoy.

    • #14 by Kat on August 30, 2011 - 3:02 am

      I have let her know before (I think) and anyone else who seems interested in that aspect of True Blood plus I referenced Sunny in this past article. I admire their gusto and see some amazing insights in their posts though I take a slightly different approach. Thank you for the compliments btw Chris!

  8. #15 by TruFan on August 30, 2011 - 4:57 am

    Chris and Kat, thank you both for pointing me to Sunny, you’re right, she does see true blood like I do, lol. Except perhaps she’s a bit more into the conspiratorial government stuff, which I’ve never been interested in. Nevertheless, I have been reading her website like crazy all night, lol. Now I’m afraid to check out ancient pythoness, because there are actually things I have to do in real life! 😀

    • #16 by Kat on August 30, 2011 - 11:07 am

      I’m not being on governmental conspiracies either but I see the AVL as a conspiracy to infiltrate the government and turn it into a conspiracy lol that probably makes no sense ha. I also see the influence of Bill on True Blood as a conspiracy. See I take a different approach bc I think its not exactly THAT complicated even though it surely is complicated (I think things are trying to speak to us more in terms of psychology and symbolism than conspiracies ( though I see the brillance in her ideas). However, she did predict that Bill setup the Rattrays thing a long time before that was revealed …**begins glamouring u like Bill** “You will never stop reading my site or Sunny’s”

Leave a Reply

