You’re “Spellbound” but “Run” From It :Episode 4×08 and 4×09 Recap/Analysis

As my friend at True Blood Underground (TBU) pointed out, we open “Spellbound” to an audience fooled….though it seemed that Jessica had easily opened the doors to her destiny (the sun), we are shown an image of Jessica who must struggle towards/figure out her destiny.

Jessica 4x07 walk into the sun

Jessica 4x07 walk into the sun

Jessica 4x08 ATTEMPT to walk into the sun

Jessica 4x08 ATTEMPT to walk out into the sun

To TBU, this scene highlights her theory about out-of-whack narratives.

In my opinion, this was once again a clue that nothing is as straightforward as it seems on True Blood and if we struggle to see the truth then we will be saved as an audience member but if we go the straightforward route we will be burned as an audience member.

Jason ( a christ-like figure and source of truth and light and a conscience- despite his seemingly selfish maneuvers and weakness for the flesh) gives Jessica a dose of the medicine *silver* that Bill ( a source of lies and darkness and a shaky if existent conscience- despite some of his seemingly "good deeds) refused to give Jessica.

It might be easier to embrace the lies presented to us as audience members but if we take our “medicine” and accept the truth then it will be for the best in the end (as the metaphor above shows^). You are “Spellbound” by lies but you must “Run” from it.

The skulls/minds of the audience have been beaten in with the lies...

____________________________________________________________________________

“Spellbound” must assuredly also be a reference to Hitchcock’s 1945 film “Spellbound.”  We have seen many references to Hitchcock on True Blood. In the film, the heroine is trying to protect an amnesia patient until he recovers. Obviously, this is exactly what our heroine on True Blood is doing to for Eric. In the film, the amnesia patient has a guilt complex because of something he did that he cannot remember and obviously that is also what Amnesia Eric is experiencing on our show.  However, the truth will ultimately set both Amnesia characters free and that is exactly what the audience needs by getting the truth…

Traumatized by their experiences with the one they were supposed to grow to love or have grown the love (Bill) , the audience has succumbed to a type of Amnesia (and so has Sookie) by slowly forgiving Bill for a few “good deeds” and forgetting the truth that lies underneath even as it has been exposed gradually beforehand.

Afterall, Sookie and some or most of the Audience still crave the influence of Bill's blood on the screen as Andy craves Vampire Blood versus their sobering reality.

We must take our medicine as Sookie takes her's. Sometimes the medicine doesn't have to be bitter and it's still better for you in the end.

"All is possible" with the truth.

Alas, the influence of lies will always allow some to take a step back inside their comfort zones.

However, unlike Antonia, you cannot over-categorize to solve the problem. You must strive, once again, for the truth.

Many things are always present to cloud our vision/perception...

..and there are some things...

...that are only seen by some and not others.

…that are seen by some and not others. Yet, this presents us as audience members with a challenge to become one of those that see the truth in the narrative even though it’s sometimes unpleasant:

In the final scene of  4×08, we are thrust as an audience  into the epitome of a “Spellbound” state (my friend at TBU has many thoughts and good questions about this scene too):

                                           We are running through a dense fog/haze of perception...

A world in which Tara is suddenly disgusted by killing a vampire.

A world in which Bill is a hero selflessly saving Tara because he didn't before even though she is an enemy right here.

A world in which Eric is the inefficient and bloodthirsty killer

A world in which Bill is somehow silvered to death...

BUT somehow gets to Sookie before Alcide can even get her in the door going into Episode 4×09 (remember her home is very close to this graveyard)…

And Sookie is able to somehow be healed by Bill’s blood without even ingesting it and she looks quite high actually(like some kind of V addict) even though her last memory was certain death….

(if Sookie was healed simply be a drop somehow sliding down her throat after a mortal bullet wound we are now certain that Bill must have known feeding her gobs of blood was totally unnecessary and possible even dangerous as Eric stated in Episode 2×03 as some may remember…and Bill’s only purpose in doing that was to control her even more…using that ignorance against her. )

This is exactly what is happening with the audience…our ignorance of what is hidden/unknown is constantly being used against us as we view the show.

Yet, just as Sookie said to Eric, “There is no such thing as forever,” the truth must come out eventually…

We can even invite it in.

Even when lies/ haziness invites itself in.

Sometimes, you simply must “get out of here” and change of perception/ setting is often needed:

But on True Blood the blood often holds down those that challenge it (you constantly must work against it even when you invite the truth in)...

But again, even though Debbie found things out of course...she preferred to go back to the influence of blood (just as many audience members do)....

BECAUSE it’s never pretty:

Are you trapped by the magic?

Are you trapped by the blood?


Sometimes you’re just too far gone or it’s too late OR even the truth exposes consequences…

But especially when it’s ignored…

Nan ignores warnings to cancel the rally

When you’re/we’re “Spellbound” (4×08)…………..”Run/Let’s get out of here” (4×09)!

  1. #1 by TruFan on August 27, 2011 - 9:38 pm

    If this idea is true. When are they going to explain all this to the audience? Surely they understand that not everyone watching the show is looking for deep and symbolic meaning. Most people will be taking the show as it’s offered. We can theorize all we want, but if we never get any confirmation of it in the actual show, then it’s just us fans turning nothing into something. I personally hope this show does turn out deeper then it seems on the surface, but I’d really like the show to make a few things more clear and obvious. If Bill is really a nice guy, like the writers of this show like to pretend, then let’s see a REAL explanation for all the horrible things he’s done.

    I so wish that Anna and the guy who plays Bill hadn’t had a real relationship during this show. I feel like it’s interfered and tainted the story. It’s affected Anna’s acting, and not in a good way (especially in her love scenes with Eric), and I believe it’s the reason why Bill remains so prominent in the show, even though he should be either gone, or rarely mentioned at this point. King, seriously? It just makes no sense. Maybe I’m just not sophisticated enough to get it, but this show is losing me. I’ve read enough comments on other sites to realize I’m not the only one. Ok, rant over. 🙂

    • #2 by Kat on August 27, 2011 - 9:58 pm

      Im not really going so far as to say that Bill is actually changing the story as some people think even though I find the idea VERY intriguing and there is some interesting stuff backing it up….BUT I am of the idea that the only lie that keeps being presented to us constantly is that Bill is really a nice guy (just as you said). The lie comes from the fact that all of his supposedly good deeds are amplified and made more noble than they really are AND his bad deeds are watered down or made to seem not as bad as they really are or easily redeemed by any of these good deeds. Therefore, there is no clarity when it comes to Bill. I thought that the fog/haze in that scene was supposed to represent the way everything is muddled and hazy when it comes to BIll and not everything is 100% as it seems on the surface.
      HOWEVER, what really got me was the fact that Bill just happens to get away from being silvered to death somehow. It makes no sense unless he really does have some sort of super-resistance to silver or an in with the queen which is what that other blogger is theorizing.

      I don’t know if True Blood will ever make everything obvious…including the fact that Eric is honor-driven and noble.
      But they have made it obvious that Bill isn’t all good by now and that Eric isn’t all bad but know they haven’t made it as obvious as I would like because it frustrates me that all the other people I have shown this show too wont hold any validity to these claims unless its made obvious.

      I have theorized a lot on this show though knowing it could be false.

      I want to say that I wish they hadn’t had a real relationship too but if they are really the other’s soul mate then I wouldn’t want to wish them to never find that…I guess I just wish it had been somewhere else other than this show…BECAUSE I agree with you in some ways. However, I do try to remind myself that they are all professionals and all of them have a good relationship (there was even a in which Stephen and Alex pretended to kiss each other). If Alan Ball made it clear that it was a story about Eric and Sookie then I bet they would do just that to the best of their abilities no matter what. I don’t think Anna’s acting is off exactly…in fact I think they have wonderful chemistry onscreen (anna and alex). In fact, I don’t think her onscreen chemistry with Stephen is as good. Maybe she does hold back a little but it’s not that obvious to the average viewer. Well all of these main characters are always going to have a prominant place on the show and Stephen Moyer will always have a spot as a lead so it won’t be the same as in the book. The best we can hope for is that he’s not with her and/or he’s making himself look bad as a character and/or he becomes more tolerable somehow (though I am searching for how myself).
      As I said, I think this show is about Sookie’s personal development anyway…how Bill and Alcide negatively impact that and how Eric positively impacts that….etc.

  2. #3 by Gaby on August 28, 2011 - 10:26 pm

    I understand you Kat, True Blood is never goig to put things easy for us. I like that, I like to love the show and hate the characters sometimes, because the truth is that the show never let us indifferente.
    But I can´t forgive them the inconsistence, why construct something (or let it down) during 3 seasons to spoil it in the next? As you say they are proffesionals, I don´t think the relationship is ruining it, but the way BIll is portrayed is not fair, and the way Eric is threated is not fair!!
    This season should have been called “Upside down” Anyway, I like your analysis and I like my few moments of Eric on screem 😀

    • #4 by Kat on August 30, 2011 - 2:59 am

      First of all, I am so glad u stopped by again and Thank you so much!….well I know were supposed to figure things out for ourselves but I think they need to be a little more clear that Eric is actually noble in his actions and Bill isn’t noble in his so that the average viewer can at least kinda get it. Its disheartening because they built Bill up for 3 seasons and should have had more than two episodes (the kill the stripper episode 3×04 and season 3 finale) to tear him down in addition to some interpretive hints through all seasons. The fact they built him up for three seasons makes the average viewer attached no matter what bc he was the main guy for so long and they needed to drag his demise out in a drawn out fashion.

      • #5 by Gaby on August 30, 2011 - 9:24 am

        Well, I think different about Bill, he indeed was the main figure in the first season, but the two following seasons his character started to show his true nature, in his reactions with Sookie and the way he treated her. So by the end of season 3 I really despise him, it was gradual. And now they want to reverti it again!
        On th eother side what really “pays” for the show is the come and goes for Sookie and Eric, so they will keep us very attentive, this is the cleverness of the show 🙂

      • #6 by Kat on August 30, 2011 - 11:28 am

        Well of course even though I feel Bill was the main guy for 2 seasons but he was still built up in Season 3 as a desperate lover trying to save Sookie aside from a bump in the road in episode 3×04 and until the reveal at the end. Well, I began watching this show when Season One first aired myself. My loss of love for Bill got worse and worse too…it started with some stuff in Season One that made me uneasy and really got worse with the fight with Sookie at Jessica’s and then got worse after Lorena’s flashback. By the end of Season Two after the reveal that Bill knew Hadley and covered that up too, I was not thrilled with him and was definitely leaning Eric. Then I read the books and after the reveal in the books, I was firmly on Eric’s side. Still, I had sympathies for Bill ending up in a predicament until the Season 3 circus on True Blood. Now, he’s nothing but some sociopath feigning depression (though there is a little more to it)…….. We have to keep in mind AB is a Buddhist now so I think I need to do an article about how that relates to Buddhism

  3. #7 by Gaby on August 30, 2011 - 4:41 pm

    That would be awesome Kat!!! I´m waiting for it 🙂

    One thing I really hated about Bill was the fact the he didn´t need to pay the Rattrays to beat Sooki due to he actually never was working for the Queen, he could have managed differently so, you are right, he´s a sociopath and Sookie needs therapy right now, or I will think like Tara that she´s a hipocrite

    • #8 by Kat on August 30, 2011 - 10:06 pm

      haa I am glad for your encouragement. I am working on it now but idk when it will be out.

      Well he was working for the queen but only so that he could deceive her for the Authority. She does need therapy and fast!

  4. #9 by Sunny on August 31, 2011 - 10:22 am

    Hey Kat, great piece!

    Bill just happens to get away from being silvered to death somehow. It makes no sense unless he really does have some sort of super-resistance to silver or an in with the queen which is what that other blogger is theorizing.

    Bill is IMMUNE to silver and I think I proved this definitively in my piece ‘Smoking Mirrors’. I think this immunity is the result of regular diet of Fae hybrid blood. I mean, if their blood will let a vampire walk in the sun why not also immunity to silver?

    Bill is after the world. Daywalking, immunity to silver, and a spellbound telepathic slave with electric powers?–as Eric said to RE in season 3, he’s become invulnerable.

    • #10 by Kat on August 31, 2011 - 12:08 pm

      Why not immunity to silver? I believe Sookie’s blood is so magical it can do anything (RE thought he might even raise Talbot with it). However, when was the last time we were shown Bill feeding on Sookie? Or has he just done it so many times now that he’s completed a “cycle” or the “necessary steps” to make it permanent as you said in a way I think?…Wow that is a wonderful concluding sentence and quite scary might I add.

  5. #11 by Sunny on August 31, 2011 - 3:38 pm

    has he just done it so many times now that he’s completed a “cycle” or the “necessary steps” to make it permanent

    Yes, this is exactly what I mean and you can bet Bill knows the EXACT formula. Even after Eric had Sookie’s blood in season 3, Bill still believed the silver handcuffs would incapacitate him, and they did. Now Eric has had more of Sookie’s blood, plus a ‘whole fairy’, and is digging out and tossing aside silver bullets. Silver would be useless against vamps if it were really that simple, but we know it’s not.

    • #12 by Kat on September 1, 2011 - 2:16 am

      So the cycle was complete during their “make up sex” in Season 3 for B/S?….wow I didn’t realize that. It will be interesting to see what happens with Eric and silver further on as well. I find that fairy blood as magic against silver theory fascinating and one of your best yet!

      • #13 by sunny on September 1, 2011 - 4:28 pm

        Thanks! But really it’s no longer a theory. BellaKarma spotted a nice piece of dialogue in Run/Lets Get Out of Here that proves it: When the witches return to MGE from the cemetery showdown, Roy can be heard in the background saying: “I silvered the son-of-the-bitch and he ran away!”

        I’m pretty sure the cycle was completed well before the make-up sex. This is how Bill was able to overpower the silver chains and subdue Lorena so Sookie could stake her.

      • #14 by Kat on September 1, 2011 - 8:38 pm

        Wow I need to look for that dialogue! Amazing! It has to be. Its the only explanation for these silver resistant vamps…Do you think you know when it was completed?

  6. #15 by sunny on September 2, 2011 - 7:17 am

    Do you think you know when it was completed?

    I’ve suspected Bill’s immunity since the Lorena incident but I have no idea when it finally took hold. It definitely takes more than one ‘dose’ as both Eric AND RE were effectively restrained by the silver handcuffs after drinking from Sookie last season. Now Eric has had another ‘dose’ plus Claudine. If you think of the fact that Eric drank a ‘whole’ fairy in addition to the two doses of Sookie, we have to assume Bill knew ‘gobs’ of her blood are needed.

    • #16 by Kat on September 3, 2011 - 3:42 pm

      Yes I remember how hotly that scene was debated on your site and I remember your suggestion then.

      I wonder if he has known a case like this before and took their formula or the Queen did? I always wonder if the Queen knew the amount. I know she was conceited and had a shopping addiction, but she seemed rather smart and knowledgeable actually. How would she know so much about the Fae as to connect the dots when Hadley started talking but not know that she’d still burn with no hope of building a sun immunity?

  7. #17 by sunny on September 2, 2011 - 8:50 am

    Also, I don’t think Eric is fully immune. He WAS momentarily stopped by the silver bullet, so he’ll need more for total immunity.

    Now think of the implications of Bill’s immunity. If silver is no hindrance for Bill, why wasn’t he out meeting the sun during M/A’s spell? Looks to me like another conspiracy involving Bill.

  8. #18 by TruFan on September 2, 2011 - 9:52 am

    I don’t know about silver immunity, but it would certainly explain a lot! However, I still stand by the fact that we have NO PROOF, except for Bill’s word, that Sookie can not be glamoured. I’ve just finished a marathon viewing of all the episodes, looking for ANY vampire that ever tried to glamour Sookie, and none ever has, except Bill the first time, and as I’ve mentioned before, quickly afterwards gave her a direct order that she obeyed without question, which to me looked like a definite glamour. I know Kat disagrees with me, but if you think Bill is untrustworthy, then it makes no sense to believe that Sookie can’t be glamoured.

    There were a couple of times that showed the writers were implying that vampires were trying to glamour Sookie, but when you really watch, you see none actually have. At least not that we were shown. Instead what we got was either Bill or Sookie saying she couldn’t be glamoured, and the vampires believing it. I think that whole glamour thing turned into a big vampire meme.

    • #19 by sunny on September 2, 2011 - 10:18 am

      TruFan, I agree. Renee at TAP has suggested, and I agree, that as a skillful hypnotist Bill could have glamoured Sookie to BELIEVE she can’t be glamoured by other vampires so she can’t. I’m sure he left an ‘out’ for himself so that HE is the only one who can glamour her. OTOH, plain old fashioned hypnotism is not out of the question for someone like Bill, and Sookie is extremely suggestible in the first place. Glamour is just a supernatural shortcut to hypnotism after all.

      • #20 by Kat on September 3, 2011 - 3:46 pm

        Yes, Bill helped Sookie “imagine it in existence” yet he can still do it.

        Also, I am of the mind that Bill is using magic more than anything else.

    • #21 by Kat on September 3, 2011 - 3:45 pm

      Your so correct!

      Bill doesn’t n

      I don’t disagree that its very likely that Bill is skilled enough to glamour without anyone noticing he’s doing it.

      I also think he could be using magic if not “super-hypnosis.”

      Also, Sookie may have “imagined it into existence” later on as the Queen would have said.

  9. #22 by sunny on September 3, 2011 - 10:36 pm

    Also, I am of the mind that Bill is using magic more than anything else

    He is indeed. He’s a black/demonic sorcerer or I’ll eat my hat collection.

Leave a Reply

